We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Hotel!!”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2010

So glad we chose to stay at the US Grant.
After our flight home to Australia being delayed at Los Angeles for another 3 nights, we decided to leave the madness of LA and see what San Diego had to offer.
We drove past the front door of the US Grant at night and had to stop. The lobby itself is AMAZING! The staff were all so friendly, especially the woman that served me. She even suggested a BEAUTIFUL restaurant in little Italy. (Called Bon Appetito! If in town I highly recommend!)
Our room was outstanding for the price, we even decided to stay an extra day than planned.
All in all a wonderful experience, I would recommend to everyone and I hope to get back there one day!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,467)
There are newer reviews for The US Grant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

We LOVE the US Grant and feel that this hotel is a truly wonderful place to stay and dine while in San Diego. Expect to pay a bit to stay at this hotel but it's so worth it.
The food is wonderful but again very expensive!! They do have happy hour so take advantage!! The dinner I had was the Halibut which was the size of two ice cubes very small portion even for me!!I eat very little and I left HUNGRY the cost of this meal was $30.00 so do take this into consideration. The Kobe beef burgers are awesome so are the sliders!!
My key did not work at this visit making my visit a bit frustrating but the staff at this hotel is so accomodating they are attentive and very kind!! I LOVE this hotel and hope that you will too

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Wonderful staff! Got upgraded to a suite. Didn't get a chance to experience the Grant Grill but will do so next time. Beds are very comfy! The only tell tale sign that this is an 100 year old hotel were the small elevators. Otherwise, I would have guessed 30 or 40 because everything is so up to date.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Worth every penny. I knew when we arrived and the Valet escorted us to the front desk we were in for a wonderful stay. The staff was professional, polite and attentive. This was our 20th Anniversary weekend. The Hotel and staff took what I had hoped would be a good weekend and made it great. The only negative comment I could make is to the traffic noise at night. But with the awesome downtown location I don't know how you could resolve that problem. I very much look forward to the next opportunity we would have to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32zebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

While I was only at your hotel for one evening, the experience was truly extraordinary. The lobby was spectacular and the employees were quite proud of their hotel as they explained the history of The Grant to me.

The Grant Grill was a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bspong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel is beautiful. The staff are fantastic. The property is located right next to the trolley system and the Gaslamp District. We would recommend the US Grant to all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Top! friendly people - superb bar - concierge very helpful - great rooms - Breakfast staff sometimes not fast - convenient location walkng distance from Convention Center

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dohan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,406 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $174 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing