We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, 9 out of 10”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overall, 9 out of 10”
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Spent two nights over a recent weekend. The staff throughout the stay were unusually friendly and helpful, which is obviously the result of some great training. The location of the hotel, right on the edge of the Gaslamp District, is superb with many great restaurants and shopping choices within steps (including Horton Plaza mall which is directly across the street).

We stayed in a “Landmark Suite” (which is one of their mid-sized suites). The suite was pretty impressive with modern and comfortable furnishings and amenities including a Bose stereo, separate living room, modern marble bathroom, etc. I would estimate it to be around 500 sq. ft. The room decor was fresh and done in an "old meets new" motif with traditional style moldings and carpets juxtaposed against modern halogen lighting and flat panel TVs, etc. Due to the location of the hotel, the view from the room was non-existent (not surprising). Strangely, despite the recent $50 million plus renovation, the room windows are of the old single-pane variety whereas modern double glazing would be helpful in cutting out street noise.

The lobby is beautiful but didn't knock our socks off. I think they could have made it truly spectacular by restoring the old wooden surfaces and Corinthian columns to their original 1910 glory rather than cladding the columns in beige marble and painting the carved tops in a blue distressed looking metallic finish of questionable taste, as they have done. As a result, the lobby, with its huge glittering crystal chandeliers, has an almost Vegas-like grandeur without the historical authenticity that it rightly deserves. Overall though, they have created a modern and comfortable hotel while retaining some of the historical charm of the building. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    634
    220
    73
    62
See reviews for
412
963
144
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I got this hotel on a deal on Sky Auction.com. My husband and I spent 4 days there and enjoyed every minute of it. The service of this hotel is wonderful. All the staff is very friendly and helpful, some of the best service I have ever had in a hotel and I have stayed some nice places. The Grant Grill is pricey but it was the best food I had all my vacation, the chicken hash is not to be missed. If you like beer, the yard house is right next store and it has the largest draft beer selection in the world. Overall this hotel met all expectations. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank todarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Design-wise, the hotel lobby and restaurant/lounge are nice and decent, but not breathtaking or cutting edge. That's why it's surprising when you walk into your hotel room. It's quite gorgeous, as well as the bathroom. Very nicely decorated, the painted headboard is a nice touch. Some might find the room size a tad bit small, but we had no complaints.

The location is perfectly situated in downtown San Diego. Pretty much everything (Gaslamp, Petco Park, Convention Center, etc) is within walking distance. However this becomes a problem in the morning when the downtown rush hour traffic wakes you up. The hotel's not very high, so it's very difficult to escape the noise.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The street noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights last weekend. I initially chose it for it's history and recent remodel. The hotel is smack dab in middle of gaslamp district with plenty of shops, restaurants, clubs within walking distance. Trolley and bus stops are steps away from hotel doors. Hotel itself is gorgeous! **Ask concierge to view the hotel's archive photgraph book.**
I booked the romatic getaway package for about $300 per night. This was supposed to include king bed room with view, floral arrangement, champagne, and breakfast up to $50. The room itself was fabulous and I was pleasantly surprised as it looked much like the pictures from hotel website. It was also clean and well decorated. It was extremely quiet and I never once heard anyone next door - as is usually the case in hotel rooms.
Now here were my issues: The room had a view of parking structure and a condemned graffitied building behind that. Shortly after we arrived to our room, a maid entered without knocking to ask about turn down service (which I thought odd). The bottle of champagne was probably one of the worst tasting champagnes I've ever had. I certaintly wasn't expecting Dom but I did expect a nice Verve or Piper. The flowers didn't arrive until the second day - halfway through our trip. The breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend their version of hash browns - it's flavored with shitake and the subtle flavor of mushroom infused into the potatoes is very tasty.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would most likely return to visit this landmark hotel.

  • Liked — Room was large, clean and nicely decorated.
  • Disliked — No bathtub and no view.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asiangirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2007

After reviewing prior guest’s experiences, I was mixed. However, after my girlfriend and I (in our young 30’s) stayed there, the U.S. Grant was excellent – and I’m very discriminating. The location was close to a variety of restaurants and several clubs. Restaurants were within a couple blocks along with several great bars (busy at the time due to the Red Sox in town). Parking was easy and everyone was very helpful and attentive. We asked the hotel where to go for dinner and several employees were more than helpful, giving us location, directions and advice (we ended up eating at the Yard House across the street – great burger and fries & gin and tonics). The hotel rooms were well decorated and clean; room service was prompt and nice. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants, nor visit the pool or workout room – no opinions there, but will definitely return.

  • Liked — Nice and elegant; great location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

What a great experience! We stayed at the U.S. Grant for six nights 7/26-8/1. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service is top-notch. I highly recommend it. I can't say enough about how nice every hotel employee is. The location is great, very close to some wonderful restaurants in the Gaslamp District and right across the street from Horton Plaza.

I stayed with my husband and two children, 8 and 10 years old, in a room with double beds. Our room was a nice size and well appointed. Keep in mind that there are only showers in all but a few rooms - this was not a problem for us. There are two robes in the closet for your use. I needed more hangers which were brought up within a few minutes after I requested them.

If you are easily bothered by noise, then definitely request an inside room as suggested by another reviewer. Our room was right next to the elevator so we could hear it through the night as well as the people in the hallway. I did not want to pack up and move to a different room, so we found a simple solution to cover up the noise by turning the A/C fan on to low or medium - perfect white noise. Our friends has an outside suite and heard noise until late in the night from the bar across the street. I told them about my fan trick and it worked for them.

This hotel does an excellent job at making their guests feel welcome. We found the staff to be most friendly and accomodating - it is obvious they are out to please. We were greeted with a hello and a smile by every employee that we passed. The doormen and valets even remembered our names. They also make great recommendations for restaurants and give very helpful driving directions.

The only slightly negative experience was with the housekeeping. They often took our four wet towels to replace them with two or three new towels. I had to call Guest Services daily to have them send up more towels - which they did quickly and with a smile. In the sceme of things, this wasn't really a serious issue, especially with the way they took care of it! Also, they let us have extra towels to take to the local beaches!!!

The Grant Grill is quite expensive, about $80.00 for a breakfast for four, and not the best choice for kids (items were too 'gourmet' for my kids!). We found a great local diner - The Cheese Shop - that served the best, huge breakfast. We also had great meals at Hard Rock, Sammy's Pizza, and Croce's.
'
Again, stay at this hotel if you get the chance. You won't regret it! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leeala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The U.S. Grant is a beatiful hotel in a somewhat run down part of downtown San Diego. Our room was nicely decorated, but smelled musty..The halls smelled even worse. The housekeeping was very "sub-par", as one past reviewer noted. They left dirty glasses, didn't dust or wipe down surfaces, and didn't refill toiletries or coffee. The staff was friendly, especially the doormen..and we always got a greeting and smiles upon arrivals.

  • Liked — Great decor!
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to daily room cleaning.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing