We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets all your expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Meets all your expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed 4 nights in the US Grant and have nothing but praise. Great location, very handy for all the attractions and the great bars and dining in the Gaslamp area. We had a lovely room and found the staff very helpful. Hope to return one day soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Love the review and thank you for staying with us for so long! I am sure in 4 nights you got to get a good feel for San Diego and what our hotel has to offer. Thank you for sharing your experience with our online community. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    624
    218
    73
    61
See reviews for
404
946
144
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A 100 year old hotel whi9ch has been refurbished several times in recent years. Architecturally quite wonderful. Vast open areas within the lobby areas. Checkerboard granite tiles shrouded with a huge chandelier. Quite possibly the biggest rug I have ever seen. Service at valet, check in and concierge was knowledgeable and. prompt. However the night service facility was poor. Bar closes very early at 11.00.

Night service to room after that took in excess of an hour and the order was incorrect on two occasions. Hard to believe that 4 beers and a wine could be so difficult. It also has to be said that $97 for this is quite extreme no matter where one stays.

Overall good, but room service and costs needs to be vastly imroved

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Sorry about the inconsistency of the room service; definitely not to our standard! Thank you for the balanced review also highlighting our beautiful facility. Now that you mention it... it is a really big rug! Amazing that it is all one piece even with the pillars. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at the US Grant and found the hotel and staff to be quite good. Excellent, in fact. The housekeepers were congenial and competent; it's nice to see staff smiling rather than scowling. The desk staff and valets were similarly competent and friendly. Maybe it's the San Diego weather...whatever the reason, the US Grant maintains a welcoming atmosphere and a convenient location.

The hotel itself was nice and well appointed. The rooms weren't palatial, but they weren't tiny either I particularly liked the fast and always available elevators. Seems a small thing to even mention, but they were so fast and available that I marveled at it a bit.

My only issues, and they were small: The AC wasn't exactly a world beater and it took some time to cool the room. Granted it was a hotter than usual August weekend, but it was an issue a couple times, particularly in the evening after being out during the day. Free WiFi would be nice as well: it really annoys me when nice hotels nickel and dime their customers...while I don't think the US Grant did that overall, the WiFi thing comes off as cheap to me. Last thing: no coffee maker. These things were inconsequential overall, but enough to move my rating from excellent to very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
A very kind review and I love that you focus first on service and staff and then on amenity. This is also how I rate hotels. Thank you for sharing my sentiment and highlighting the efforts our staff makes top make people happy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back! (Also, free coffee in the grant grill every morning for our guests until 9am, stop on by!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. The rooms were really nice, we got drinks on arrival and the service you recieved while having food was absolutely amazing. The location is great and lots of restaurants near by. If i was to give them feedback i would suggest they give free wifi and not charge you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShaneO358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review! I am proud that our restaurant service and food exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Spent two nights in this hotel. Easy access to the airport, and downtown San Diego. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Corner room had nice natural light. Bathroom was clean, and modern. Some street noise from level 7, but not to bad. We had a corner room facing the Horton Plaza. Staff very friendly, and helpful. Fitness room was adequate. Restaurant was excellent for breakfast. Definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation CaliDasiy and we look forward to welcoming you back! A nice well rounded review of our highlights. See you on your next visit! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel exudes old world charm and comfort. Our room was spacious clean and quiet. The staff, especially Jose were incredibly cheerful and welcoming. The location is perfect in that it is in the middle of downtown. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I will be sure to let Jose know your praise, thank you for recognizing his efforts! We look forward to your next visit. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed at the US Grant the night before my wedding. Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff was extremely polite and knowledgeable. They were also very helpful with hailing cabs for us and our room service arrived promptly at the time it was requested. The room was stunning. We loved the unique art on the walls. The shower was beautiful and was the size of a walk-in closet. The hotel is also conveniently located in downtown San Diego. We got married at the courthouse and we could have walked there is we wanted to. This was a perfect place to stay to make sure the evening and morning before our wedding was as stress-free and ran as smoothly as possible.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small. You may want to specify if you'd like to pay for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Forget the niceties about the hotel, congratulations on your wedding!! Thank YOU for celebrating with us before your big day! I can only hope you were relaxing in a hammock somewhere tropical with a Mai Tai in one hand and a laptop in the other while writing this review. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back for anniversaries! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing