We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with my wife and our 2 grown up kids ( 18 and 21 ). We are picky and our standards are high.
The hotel is located centrally downtown a block from the gaslamp district. Its a 10 minute walk from the attractions along the waterfront like the Midway Air Museum.

The accommodations are beautiful and comfortable. Service is excellent and friendly. Breakfast was included in our package. The breakfasts are fantastic. Plenty to choose from and highest quality.

If you have a car the only option is valet parking which is quite expensive.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel

Room Tip: The rooms which face the rooftop garden are quieter than the street facing rooms. The street rooms a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Picky and high standards are our bread and butter! Thank you for joining us out of all of the hotels in downtown and I am proud that our services, location and facility won you over. We look forward to having the whole family back in the future! For a family of 4, I definitely suggest the Signature suite next time you stay. The comfort of 2 king beds not to mention the roomy layout is perfect for long family stays. We look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,468)
There are newer reviews for The US Grant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my second visit to the US Grant and it continues to deliver on luxury, quality, amenities and service. I chose to stay here over my conference venue hotel because the experience I had last time was spectacular -- it was the same this visit. The rooms have an eye to its historic details with a flare for modern touches. A perfect balance. The staff is friendly and aims to please. It is close to the GasLamp District so an easy walk. My rate was also good at $269 a night, not bad for a luxury hotel with all the trimmings!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishupfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty!

We value those guests that go out of their way to experience what 103 years of history in the making has built! That this was a second stay and the constency with your experience was achieved, we are that much more satisfied.

We look forward to your next visit and wish you the best,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff right where it should be in San Diego. This sits at the top of the Gaslamp District and as you walk out of the hotel a huge number of good restaurants are right in front of you. Although this is quite a "touristy" spot, the hotel is very unique and not reminiscent of a chain in any way. There are some older features - - like the elevators, mixed with some great modern touches, like really fast wifi. One of the things I love about traveling is touching a bit of history and that's just what you get at the US Grant. Great spot!

Room Tip: Try for a Southern room to get a glimpse of the water.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamz-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your stay and review Pam,

We appreciate your sharing the word on your visit and look forward to your return. There are many things that set us apart from our neighbors and appreciate that you took the time to discover some of them. What facet will you discover on your next visit?

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a room with two double beds. Roomy enough for 2 parents, two grade-schoolers. Beds very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Fresh flowers in lobby changed daily-- all leaving favorable impression of the care involved. Friendly staff, not stuffy. Had all needed amenities with style (kids could use pool at Westin next door). Beautiful grand hotel. Quick walk to gaslamp district. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Greetings and thank you,

Your review says it all when you say you would stay again! Much thanks for this and for taking the time to pen this review,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a great stay at The US Grant! It's everything a luxury hotel should be and every detail counts.

The concierge was extremely helpful and provided us tips and tricks for getting around the city easily. I especially loved their suggestion of taking the ferry to Coronado.

The hotels restaurant is an awesome way to wind down at the end of the day. With live music on the weekends, it's a happening place.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Their turn down service is impressive they even remember to put ice in your bucket.

Overall, we had no complaints! This hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Diego near shopping, dozens of restaurants and lots of entertainment. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jdrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

And we look forward to your next visit as well! Our concierge are fantastic and the harbor ferry is a surprisingly efficient and cost effective tour! Good choice for exploring the harbor area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for making the US Grant your home away from home. Jared, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at the Grant, although I've stayed at a number of Sheraton hotels throughout the world. I generally travel about once-per-month and try to stay at either the Sheraton luxury collection (e.g. Grant) or a similar hotel.

The US Grant is in a great location. The problem is that it caters way too frequently to large and noisy groups. The hotel walls are thin and noise travels quite considerably down the hallways. During my stay, opentable.org had some sort of corporate retreat which took 1/2 the rooms. The average age of those I saw were in their late 20s. As you might expect, the entire hotel erupted into a party place and for 4 nights, was probably the noisiest hotel in the Gaslmap Quarter.

Management confessed that they were overwhelmed and did not know what to do other than send security to ask the guests to quiet down. My colleague called about 2 times at odd hours of the early morning while I called 4 times. Management also stated that they will 'kick people out' if it continues - well that was on the first day, and the next preceding days were not any better, so I take it that nobody was asked to leave.

I can do with the $39 overnight parking - that's really something one should think/call about before they park their car and there are other private lots in the area. I can also do with the fact that a meal in the hotel's 'renowned' restaurant 'Grant Grill' is comparable in price to a NYC restaurant.

However, what I cannot put up with is noisy 20-something year olds running up and down the hallways at 2am, loudly speaking and cursing. Management's inability to end this after night-upon-night, and a number of calls to security by a number of guests, is embarrassing.

The US Grant should not be a 'keystone cop' operation, but yet, that is the memory I am walking away with.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Timothy,

Please accept our apologies that we did not match your expectations. Although we are a historic 103 year hotel, we do welcome global exlorers of all kinds. The week you are here, if this is what I assume, was comprised of truly global explorers that chose not to acclimate to our Pacific timezone making for an interesting time.

Please know that as with any business we do ebb and flow. We hope that you will come to find us more suitable during your next trip to San Diego in allwoing us to shine with a recovery visit.

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved this hotel, perfect location for exploring the Gaslamp and all downtown San Diego has to offer, beautiful property, lobby, everything ooozes character and history. Comfy bed, warm staff welcome, spacious room (unusual in a historic hotel). We really enjoyed a before-bed cocktail in the restaurant/lounge with live jazz. Elegant, wonderful, really recommend it.

Only room for improvement are two things: the gym is in some hidden location that requires walking through the meeting/convention area in your gym clothes, and there is no restroom adjacent to the workout area which was odd. The other issue was each floor has an elevator lobby with a wooden table and a statue, the top floor is more expensive yet was missing the statue or well anything on the table.

Room Tip: Top floor was fantastic, the Grand Deluxe room is bigger than the entry suite and really nice at a l...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback Mr. Koontz,

Your balanced review is like appreciating a jem under light. There are many aspects of greatness but still far from 'perfect.' We recognize this and always appreciate the feedback for our improvement.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,031 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,414 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $174 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing