We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Historic Gem”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Incredible Historic Gem”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved this hotel, perfect location for exploring the Gaslamp and all downtown San Diego has to offer, beautiful property, lobby, everything ooozes character and history. Comfy bed, warm staff welcome, spacious room (unusual in a historic hotel). We really enjoyed a before-bed cocktail in the restaurant/lounge with live jazz. Elegant, wonderful, really recommend it.

Only room for improvement are two things: the gym is in some hidden location that requires walking through the meeting/convention area in your gym clothes, and there is no restroom adjacent to the workout area which was odd. The other issue was each floor has an elevator lobby with a wooden table and a statue, the top floor is more expensive yet was missing the statue or well anything on the table.

Room Tip: Top floor was fantastic, the Grand Deluxe room is bigger than the entry suite and really nice at a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mr. Koontz,

Your balanced review is like appreciating a jem under light. There are many aspects of greatness but still far from 'perfect.' We recognize this and always appreciate the feedback for our improvement.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    634
    220
    73
    62
See reviews for
412
963
144
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just spent 2 nights over the Valentines holiday and loved this hotel. A well spent $220 a night.
It's right in the middle of the Gas Lamp district of San Diego. Lots of restaurants and close to the ocean & docks. If you can afford it, this is a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Greetings and thank you for your bringing the romance to our hotel!

103 years of history in the making and you assisted with writing another chapter. We hope you decide to return and offer us the opportunity to earn that 5th star!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The U.S. Grant Hotel is a beautifully restored older hotel in the center of San Diego. The rooms have high ceilings, which gives them a spacious effect, and are well decorated. The staff is attentive. It has valet parking (for $39 a day) and high speed Internet access by WiFI (for a fee unless waived as it was for me since I am Starwood member). It is centrally located. An extensive mall is across the street, and there are many restaurants within 5 minute walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
For 103 years in a row THE US GRANT has been writing history in San Diego!

Thank you for adding your chapter to our story.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in the US Grant for 4 nights on our honeymoon and really enjoyed the experience. The US Grant is in a great location in the centre of San Diego, not far from the Gas Lamp Quarter. Not only is it in the centre of the city but it is also easy to get to for travellers that are driving. We were staying on the top floor and the room was lovely; a great bathroom, very comfortable bed and very spacious. The staff that met us were very polite and helpful and this was true of all the staff we dealt with throughout our stay. The stay was also very good value considering the quality of the hotel.

The only reason this isn't a 5 star review is due to the room having a door to join it with another room that was not very sound proof at all. However, the overall experience of staying here was very good, we would recommend to others and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Congratulations on your life achievement!

We know that through the years THE US GRANT has played host to many celebrations and without discrimination or downplaying, each one is special and worthy of recognition. We hope that we can continue to be the destination of choice during life's moments and look forward to welcoming you back!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel felt contemporary and modern. The hallways were small as one might expect for an old building. The attention to detail in the room was 100% top notch. Quality of sheets to room slippers was envious. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper- hotel is in flight path. I had a house creation cocktail with chocolate. Poor selection of tequilas. Breakfast in the restaurant was enjoyable in the dark wood booths. Celebs and CEOs will be comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kayakhikeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your visit and review.

We welcome people of all walks from CEOs to Celebs but our favorite global explorers are the people that want to enjoy what we achieve! You certainly fall into this category.

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel never disappoints and it's so close to the gaslamp district, Balboa park and the San Diego zoo. The US Grant Hotel, in my opinion, is one of the best hotels in the country. The rooms are truly unique and the staff works really hard to meet your needs ... 24/7.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ooradio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The U.S. Grant Hotel is a beautifully restored older hotel in the center of San Diego. The rooms have high ceilings, which gives them a spacious effect, and are well decorated. The staff is attentive. I never had to wait for someone to answer the front desk or for questions in person. .The meeting rooms are adequate, although those on the lobby level are nicer (with higher ceilings) than those on the lower level. it has a great bar, with live entertainment, and a fancy restaurant. The rooms facing the streets are more apt to have traffic noise, although we did not find this a problem. It has valet parking (for $39 a day) and high speed Internet access by wifi (for a $15 fee unless waived as it was in the case of my group). It is centrally located. An extensive mall is across the street, and there are many restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise, ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
Green Features: It offers extra Starwood points if you don't have your towels changed every day. Given the water crisis in California, this seems like a prudent policy.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Jim,

Thank you for your balanced review. While we understand that your purpose was business, we hope you had some memorable enjoyment of our hotel and fine city also? While you may have not personally selected our hotel for your stay, we find great value in the feedback you provide and hope that when you do have a choice you will return to continue assisting with our history in the making!

Safe travels and continued best with your business endeavors,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing