We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a "Four Seasons" quality hotel in the heart of downtown San Diego.
Service was outstanding. I lost my iPhone charger and took a chance that someone at the front desk could get one for me. Inside of 10 minutes someone came to my room and delivered the charger.
The room was large nice and VERY clean--the bed was very comfortable.
The menu in the hotel restaurant was rather sophisticated but the manager suggested a bread crusted quail egg and risotto. WHAT? Simply amazing.
Yes, the hotel is rather pricy but you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The hotel is in downtown San Diego but was surprisingly quite--that said choose a room that is on on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review and for the comparison to the Four Seasons, another very highly regarded hotel! I am glad you got to try the exquisite fare at the Grant Grill; truly an epicurean adventure. We look forward to welcoming you back. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    627
    218
    73
    61
See reviews for
409
951
144
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The valet guys greeted us by name. The front desk greeted us by name -- great first impressions! In the evenings we had ice in the ice bucket. Sheets were turned down, soft music playing, rug out with slippers and chocolates on the pillow. The bathroom was amazing. Very clean room. Comfy bedding!

The only negatives -- room ac didn't really cool. The fridge would not turn on.

We would return and I would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akershkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Akershkey for the great review! I love the highlights of the service you mentioned in your review; thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the online world! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Beatiful lobby, great location, reasonably spacious rooms, corteous staff the only "but" were the dirty carpets and some dirty white furniture. Note: carpets were dirty because of their regular usage and also we passed the same potato crisps and pieces of paper on the floor two days in a row.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Greetings,

We are so sorry that you did not experience us at our best. We strive for excellence and in your case failed to exceed your expectations. We hope that you come to find us on a future visit and more favorably at that.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

i had wanted to stay here for years, and when a business trip to san diego came up, there was no question about where i was going to stay. both the common areas and rooms are beautiful and while the breakfast was expensive, it was worth every penny. i stayed in october, and i still think about the breakfast i had there. the toast came with individual little jars of jam, and the fruit plate was a colorful work of art. the service at the grant grill and the hotel itself, was impeccable. the carpet in the room was soft, and the bed was comfortable.

i am a starwood preferred guest, and this hotel offered turn-down service, which included a little mat by the bed, a pair of slippers, a glass of water on the nightstand, and music playing on the clock/radio. the hotel is very close to the gaslamp district. i can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and stay Jennifer,

You hit on so much of what makes us special in our city and among the many hotels out there. We hope all of our guests find themselves saying 'I can't wait to stay again!'

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Traveled with my family over the holidays and loved every minute of our stay here. The staff consistently asked how they could assist us and wanted to ensure our stay was perfect. We ate wonderful breakfasts at grant grill. There, Chris offered top- notch service. My son ordered croissants and was clearly disappointed that they were out. Later, Chris appeared with some freshly baked for my son. These touches made a big difference in our stay. My only complaint is that the fitness center is very, very small. Get there early. That said, I was there to enjoy my family so the staff and atmosphere made up for it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Stacy,

Thank you for this fantastic yet balanced feedback! While we strive with our service to overcome all obstacles the nature of our historic building makes it tough to rough out space for all our wishes. The modest enhancements we invested into the fitness center last year have made a remarkable impact but there is still more work to be done. As to the service levels and intuitive service that Chris provided, this is appreciated and will be shared with him by way of a celebration!

Please return soon and allow us to curate another memorable family escape.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the grant for two nights a week ago. Great hotel. Stayed in a signature suite. Huge. Feels like an apartment. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Close to tourist attractions downtown. Only downside is that the downtown area is a little rundown.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Greetings,

Your stay and review are most appreciated. We hope to be an oasis for a road weary traveler anytime they venture to San Diego. 103 years in the making and our doorstep could tell many stories if it could talk, as could the Signature Suites!

Please come see us again soon and best wishes for an exceptional 2014.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for a quick one night stay before heading up north of San Diego for a longer resort stay.

Check in was very smooth. We were staying on an FHR rate and the front desk agent did a great job of explaining all our benefits. I had booked a legacy suite and due to the short stay and late check in, there were no upgrades available. No big deal for a one night stay. It's an older hotel so it's understandable to have slightly smaller overall room size.

The legacy suite was very comfortable, albeit a bit on the small side. If we were staying longer I definitely would have booked a larger suite. The room was clean and seemed to be in very good condition. The bathroom was clean and had everything we needed.The bed was super comfortable and with the quiet room, we had a great night's rest before our drive out of San Diego.

In the morning we enjoyed an in-room breakfast. My girlfriend has some small dietary restrictions and the lady who took my order did a great job of getting all our requests correct. The order arrived promptly, without any errors and all the food was great.

Check out was just as quick and the valet team did a great job of helping us load the bags. I always enjoy the water on check out as well.

Overall the US Grant was a great hotel and if I were to stay in San Diego for a longer period of time I would definitely consider staying at the US Grant again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Mark,

Thank you for selecting us for your stay and we always appreciate our FHR guests. Your commentary rings true to what we strive for and though we were very busy for the holidays we do hope to be able to upgrade you the next time you come to San Diego!

Best wishes and safe travels in the New Year ahead,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing