We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #47 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Redeemed points and wanted to give this hotel a try. Room was standard and very small compared to any other hotel I stay...convenient valet though drive-in style..stayed during labor day weekend and 3 bar keepers couldn't keep up with the service at the downstairs bar where the AC was too hot. Nice live music though Saturday night..
Prefer W Hotel or newer chain with modern spacious layout.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

You certainly joined us for an exciting time! Thank you for trying us out. Starwood has many brands and lifestyles to choose from and it is always great to see what else is out there. We definitely differ in style significantly from the W but we are all one family set on serving the new generation of luxury. We hope to welcome you back soon. "Landmark" is actually one fo the names of a suite we have... you nailed it! Jared, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,501 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very well-run hotel. Given that it is 100 years old, it has managed to keep its old world charm and still be in top running order. We had 2 connecting rooms and they faced the street but it never got too noisy. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable and the washrooms were large and functional. The service was excellent, especially Lee Ann the concierge who gave us many useful tips, always with a smile. The room service was quick, the food was good and the hotel is well located. Having the Westfield Plaza across the street was very useful. When next in San Diego, we will definitely be back here.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cassie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

A very kind review to a very thankful audience, Cassie! So glad you enjoyed your time with us and that the connecting arrangement met your needs. We are certainly blessed with a history to maintain and I am proud that you approve of how we have managed it. Our location certainly helps too! We look forward to welcoming you back. Jared, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel, located at the edge of the famous Gaslamp District, is within walking distance of literally hundreds of restaurants and pubs/shopping within the District. The US Grant is very clean, and provides excellent service.

There is no pool, but they have an agreement with a hotel down the street that you can walk to. We chose not to utilize the pool, as we were busy doing so many other things.

For the beauty of this hotel, the excellent location, and the unparalleled service and cleanliness, we experienced two drawbacks. These drawbacks were important enough to us, that we will really contemplate a repeat trip to this hotel. One, was that housekeeping didn't replenish our supplies, and came late every night we were there....after being gone all day, by 4:30 p.m., they still hadn't cleaned/refreshed our room. Also, one time when we had the valet retrieve our car, it took them over 20 minutes to bring it around.

The second issue, is that it costs $39 PER NIGHT to park your car at the hotel. There just is very minimal parking in downtown San Diego, but I found this cost, spread out over three nights, to just about equal the cost for one night at the hotel. I found this unacceptable. They need to re-negotiate their rates with the company that handles the parking, because the cost is prohibitive.

They provide excellent service, the staff is professional, classy and helpful, the hotel is spotless and rooms are very clean. The location couldn't be better. But, I will do more homework for that area of town to determine if there is a better deal to stay in that area and not have to pay that over-the-top parking fee. Perhaps if the hotel could offer a package that included parking, a breakfast, or free appetizers, that might sweeten the deal. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Greetings!

We always enjoy hearing about the experiences of our guests. In your case you have provided justly balanced feedback that we take seriously. There is a lot that goes into an exceptional experience and we fell just short of this for you and for that please accept our apologies. By the sounds of your commentary though there is a lot to celerbate and we appreciate your recognition for what we have done well.

This being said, now that you have written part of our history with your stay we hope that you continue your chapter. While you have gotten acquainted with us in brief we think that we only get better with age and intimacy. Please return again to find the other aspects of the hotel that will define excellence!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best meal at the Grill. Natalie and Kirsten are the best ever. We were delighted to stay at the Grant and we really appreciate the excellent service that Bogdan and Steven gave us. We were also very impressed with Anthony who delivered our bags in a very speed and kind customer service demeanor.
We will definitely return to the USA Grant to celebrate many more occasions like my Dad's 70th birthday.
Thank you Team US Grant :-) Sincerely. - WTR

Room Tip: ask for the rooms near elevator and ice machine because no neighbors. The club level suites are amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JebbyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Greetings Jebby,

We note that there is much that you are thankful for from your recent stay! We are grateful for all the excellent opportunities to recognize those ambassadors that defined the experience for you. From Steven and Bogdan at the Front Desk to Natalie and Kirsten at Grant Grill to Anthony with our Social Host team we are blessed to work with the best.

We hope you will come back to challenge them to deliver on your increased expectations another time soon!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We lucked into this hotel after our original plans fell through and what a treat this was! We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Hotel is elegant, with classic details and beautiful furnishings. Service was impeccable; everyone went out of their way to provide top notch, one on one service in all areas of the hotel. Our first room was not to our liking (inner courtyard, could see into other rooms). "So sorry", they said very apologetically. Valet moved all of our luggage and would not allow us to carry a thing. Second room was much nicer. Hotel is walking distance to several restaurants, bars and shopping. Easy stroll to Gaslamp District. Hotel restaurant and bar are excellent as well. We would love to stay here again should we ever be in San Diego again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

One might say that it was by luck that you found us but I would argue for serendipity!

Either way we appreciate your having stayed with us and hope that the next time it is by preference,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ended up here on a whim and the helpful suggestion of Platinum Amex, along with a very nice rate and package offering. We were upgraded to their largest suite and it was elegant and very comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for downtown, Gaslight and Bilboa Park. The massive shower room was pure indulgence. And what made the stay for us was the dinner! Wow! Just superb, sophisticated, fresh, impeccable service. We were blown away. Breakfast was excellent also. All around a six star stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Emiana,

We truly appreciate your (and your Platinum Amex Concierge) for having selected us for your stay! We agree that this hotel is a complete package and to experience it as anything less is not acceptable.

Please do come visit with us again and let your Concierge know that their assistance was valued so that they assist with future recommendations to our historic property!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Grant Hotel was very ornate and beautiful with a grand lobby and lots of wood accents. What made the stay less enjoyable was a horrible sewer smell that came from our bathroom sink. I think it must have been something in the pipes. When you were near the sink you could smell it. It just grossed me out the entire stay. Plus, to be fair, I'm not a fan of the decor in the Grant -- too stuffy for my taste. But I guess it was done well. We had a king size bed, which was comfy. The hotel is also in a great location to the gaslamp district. I would prefer something more modern for our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Kate,

Your review is fair and appreciated. Thank you for sharing this with us and we know that we are not for everyone. For those seeking modern building touches are better seeking out other alternatives but unlike at our opening, all our guest rooms have bathrooms today! For those that relish in the enriching stories of 102 years in the making then this may be a better fit.

Continued best travels and we hope that San Diego continues to be a destination you frequent,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 279 in San Diego
369 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 279 in San Diego
2,072 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $182 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing