We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Eelegant despite her age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quezon City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eelegant despite her age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The US GRANT, San Diego

Elegant despite her age

A walkable few blocks from the San Diego Convention Center and just about at the end of two rows of streets of restaurants and shops, the US Grant personifies the elegance of the boomtown heydays of Old San Diego.
Despite her age, she has evolved into a hotel that has coped up with the times.. Rooms are big ( like of those built in those days), beds are comfy- you're smothered by 4 pillows. Bathroom amenities are present with 5 sets of towels ( for 2 guests)! Standard amenities were present.
Wifi was charged in the rooms but free in the lobby . But oftentimes, the free wifi reaches the upper floors ( mine was on the 6th).
Personnel were VERY accommodating, hospitable and pleasant as expected a luxury hotel and checking in and out was a breeze.
The ONLY thing I didn't really like was the whiff of mustiness brought about by the carpets that lined the floors of the corridors. It also made lugging the suitcases difficult.
Again, as in most hotels, make sure you get a room close to the elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevators.. The carpets make lugging the suitcases difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzkpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I love your description of how we "personify the elegance of the boomtown heydays of old San Diego". What a magical picture you paint! I am most proud that our service continues to personify not only that old world charm but also that of modern luxury. You are right about the thickness of the carpet on the guest floors. Interestingly enough, the quality is so high that not only is it slightly harder to roll items over it but as the carpet moves it creates a shadow impression when you look from different angles! Our proud social hosts work hard moving those bellcarts on those carpets every day. Thank you for being our guest and we most certainly look forward to your return! Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    582
    200
    69
    57
See reviews for
381
898
137
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Located on a busy corner in the Gaslamp Quarter, this historical hotel -- named by the builder after his father, U.S. President Ulysses S. Grant -- retains an elegant, old world luxury, with damask walls, marble stairs, plush runners, opulent chandeliers, and a jazzy lounge that harkens back to the 1940s. The only parking available is valet, but it's very fast and convenient. The hotel boasts one of the best brunches anywhere in Grant Grill, and is located within walking distance of Little Italy and its amazing farmers' market. The rooms are clean and modern. A little pricey, but worth it to people who want luxury in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I love your style Niki D and you have an eye for history and luxury! To add to your historical facts you listed, the original builder was none other than Ulysses S Grant's own son and wife! It was built in his true honor and we are proud to uphold that legacy of what they dreamt as the finest hotel of its time. Our full story is displayed in our 4th Avenue entrance when next you visit us! Thank you for being our guest and adding to our proud heritage! Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the US Grant, a luxury hotel of the Starwoods group. We found a wonderful deal for $149 for a king deluxe room. The hotel is historic and beautiful with all the modern amentities. The desk help was friendly. We arrived early and they held our luggage and called us on our cell when a room was available. They upgraded us to a corner room. Even though it was on the Broadway side, there was no city noise. They also allowed us a late checkout which is downtown hotels is rare. The hotel and experience could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was quiet and lovely. We did have a corner room which we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review bitler! Our deluxe rooms are indeed memorable with their preferred location and I am most happy to hear the sounds of the city did not disturb your restful slumber! I will share your praise of our front desk with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was once a grand old hotel in the center of town, but there is no town today, only this hotel, SRO's and pawn shops. The only reason to go to San Diego is for a convention or for the beach. This hotel's location has neither. It's about an $8.00 taxi ride from the convention center and god only knows how far from the nearest beach. It's sad how far a neighborhood can sink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your time in San Diego Stephan! While many guests love the life and excitement of the gaslamp district right outside our doors, it certainly may not suit everyone. You are right that San Diego's amazing beaches are a short drive away from the heart of downtown. I can only hope that we get the chance to welcome you back and perhaps this time we will have one of our esteemed concierge create a day itinerary for you to see all that San Diego has to offer! Thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were in San Diego for a convention and could not be happier that we choose to stay at the US Grant. The hotel was very nice, good location, and the staff amazing! Everyone that we encountered went above and beyond...from the minute we arrived and through out our stay.
Check in was very efficient. The concierge staff was great (they assisted with transportation and also we were able to purchase tickets directly from them for the trolley tour). We were glad we tried in room dining services...the food arrived promptly with a beautiful presentation. Our room was clean and well taken care of...including turn down service. The valet and bell staff were also very polite and always offered us a bottle of water as we were heading out for the day. The Hotel lobby is beautiful. We had a very nice lunch and dinner at the Grant Grill. Saturday night they had entertainment in the Grant Grill lounge which was a very nice end to the evening. We choose the Grand Deluxe room and I was happy to have the extra space. Looking forward to another visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaS6507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I must say, EllaS6507, you covered alot of ground in that review! I am so thankful and proud that it was all as positive as you described it. A hotel is made of many small moving parts and when it all comes together it is a truly magical response. Excellent choice in booking our Grand Deluxe room as well! There are only 5 in the hotel so it is definitely an exclusive room to be in. Thank you for being our honored guest and we look forward to your return! Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice rooms, good service and at a great location. The bar is nice and you can have a relaxing time drinking your Martini. I do recommend this hotel when staying in San Diego. Just be careful if you are going to use the valet parking for an hour, it will cost you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind sentiments GLSMAD! The Grant Grill Lounge is definitely a relaxing yet energetic place to sip on a martini; but don't forget their great food as well! The scallops are succulent and tradition lives on with our signature mock turtle soup. Next time join us for one of our other signature cocktails; some of which we create using fresh herbs from our rooftop garden. We look forward to welcoming you back and after sipping some more of our signature libations perhaps we will change your TA name to GLSGLAD! Thank you for being our guest. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have wanted to stay at the US Grant for a few years now, but never managed to finally do it until now. I'm used to the cookie cutter style hotels that the typical chains have across the world and was looking forward to seeing what Starwood had done to an iconic building. I had a 5 star experience, although I would not have stayed a second night, had the opportunity arose.

The good:
1) Service - I have never seem such amazing service, from the person who opens the cab door when you arrive, to the server at the Grant Grill. Everyone was pleasant, smiling, and most importantly, proficient and efficient in their job.
2) The decor - The entire lobby is a showcase to the history and elegance of the building. There are modern touches, but they were well designed to blend in.
3) Grant Grill - The food was good, but their drinks, especially their Manhattan, was amazing. The Manhattan came in a small pitcher that you refilled yourself and came from a barrel that sits at the entrance of the restaurant. It was worth every penny.
4) Room service - The food arrived fast, was delicious, and was well presented. I ordered breakfast for 2 and a small round table was wheeled in, completely set with all our food.

The bad:
1) The rooms - Since each room is not the same dimensions, some rooms are better than others. Unfortunately, I had a connecting room and can hear my neighbor quite clearly. The hallways were not much better, where I heard plenty of noise from guests and employees. The setup of the TV was too far from the bed, so you can't watch TV in bed. The room layout was strange, and a bit cramped as they tried to provide all the basic hotel amenities (desk, chair, lamps, etc) but there just isn't enough room. The bathroom had only a shower, so if you need a tub, then I would request a room that has one.
2) Fees for internet access and lack of a pool - Modern hotel chain cookie cutter hotels have their comforts, but it seems that any half decent hotel chain still charges for internet. It astounds me, since the business travelers that can expense the internet charge actually get free internet based on status. The lack of a pool is annoying, although you can use the pool at the Westin as the Westin is a sister Starwood property (and they have a special arrangement).
3) Construction - I was aware of the construction when I booked, but I had a room that was set back from the street so I did not hear the full force of the construction noise. They did start working early though.

I really liked my one night stay, but I can't see myself staying here as a business traveler. It's a great change of pace hotel, and deserves to be called a luxury hotel, BUT I can't see myself getting work done in the hotel room, and noise from the hallway and neighbors is fine for a leisure stay, but a potential deal breaker on a business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction area across the street, and non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to pen this detailed appraisal of your stay.

We chuckle at the thought of your title with Strange and Great Luxury in the same sentence but somehow you make this work! We agree that being a historic hotel has it's privileges but also presents some opportunity for us to overcome. Such is true in the hotel world as it is in life!

To say that we are pleased that you found the mixture to be entertaining and provoking is to put it mildy and so with that we invite you to return to continue to turn the pages in our storied history in the making.

Sincerely,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#38 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#46 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#56 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing