We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely downtown hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the US Grant, a luxury hotel of the Starwoods group. We found a wonderful deal for $149 for a king deluxe room. The hotel is historic and beautiful with all the modern amentities. The desk help was friendly. We arrived early and they held our luggage and called us on our cell when a room was available. They upgraded us to a corner room. Even though it was on the Broadway side, there was no city noise. They also allowed us a late checkout which is downtown hotels is rare. The hotel and experience could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was quiet and lovely. We did have a corner room which we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review bitler! Our deluxe rooms are indeed memorable with their preferred location and I am most happy to hear the sounds of the city did not disturb your restful slumber! I will share your praise of our front desk with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay. Jared. Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was once a grand old hotel in the center of town, but there is no town today, only this hotel, SRO's and pawn shops. The only reason to go to San Diego is for a convention or for the beach. This hotel's location has neither. It's about an $8.00 taxi ride from the convention center and god only knows how far from the nearest beach. It's sad how far a neighborhood can sink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your time in San Diego Stephan! While many guests love the life and excitement of the gaslamp district right outside our doors, it certainly may not suit everyone. You are right that San Diego's amazing beaches are a short drive away from the heart of downtown. I can only hope that we get the chance to welcome you back and perhaps this time we will have one of our esteemed concierge create a day itinerary for you to see all that San Diego has to offer! Thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon. Jared. Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were in San Diego for a convention and could not be happier that we choose to stay at the US Grant. The hotel was very nice, good location, and the staff amazing! Everyone that we encountered went above and beyond...from the minute we arrived and through out our stay.
Check in was very efficient. The concierge staff was great (they assisted with transportation and also we were able to purchase tickets directly from them for the trolley tour). We were glad we tried in room dining services...the food arrived promptly with a beautiful presentation. Our room was clean and well taken care of...including turn down service. The valet and bell staff were also very polite and always offered us a bottle of water as we were heading out for the day. The Hotel lobby is beautiful. We had a very nice lunch and dinner at the Grant Grill. Saturday night they had entertainment in the Grant Grill lounge which was a very nice end to the evening. We choose the Grand Deluxe room and I was happy to have the extra space. Looking forward to another visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllaS6507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

I must say, EllaS6507, you covered alot of ground in that review! I am so thankful and proud that it was all as positive as you described it. A hotel is made of many small moving parts and when it all comes together it is a truly magical response. Excellent choice in booking our Grand Deluxe room as well! There are only 5 in the hotel so it is definitely an exclusive room to be in. Thank you for being our honored guest and we look forward to your return! Jared Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice rooms, good service and at a great location. The bar is nice and you can have a relaxing time drinking your Martini. I do recommend this hotel when staying in San Diego. Just be careful if you are going to use the valet parking for an hour, it will cost you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind sentiments GLSMAD! The Grant Grill Lounge is definitely a relaxing yet energetic place to sip on a martini; but don't forget their great food as well! The scallops are succulent and tradition lives on with our signature mock turtle soup. Next time join us for one of our other signature cocktails; some of which we create using fresh herbs from our rooftop garden. We look forward to welcoming you back and after sipping some more of our signature libations perhaps we will change your TA name to GLSGLAD! Thank you for being our guest. Jared. Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have wanted to stay at the US Grant for a few years now, but never managed to finally do it until now. I'm used to the cookie cutter style hotels that the typical chains have across the world and was looking forward to seeing what Starwood had done to an iconic building. I had a 5 star experience, although I would not have stayed a second night, had the opportunity arose.

The good:
1) Service - I have never seem such amazing service, from the person who opens the cab door when you arrive, to the server at the Grant Grill. Everyone was pleasant, smiling, and most importantly, proficient and efficient in their job.
2) The decor - The entire lobby is a showcase to the history and elegance of the building. There are modern touches, but they were well designed to blend in.
3) Grant Grill - The food was good, but their drinks, especially their Manhattan, was amazing. The Manhattan came in a small pitcher that you refilled yourself and came from a barrel that sits at the entrance of the restaurant. It was worth every penny.
4) Room service - The food arrived fast, was delicious, and was well presented. I ordered breakfast for 2 and a small round table was wheeled in, completely set with all our food.

The bad:
1) The rooms - Since each room is not the same dimensions, some rooms are better than others. Unfortunately, I had a connecting room and can hear my neighbor quite clearly. The hallways were not much better, where I heard plenty of noise from guests and employees. The setup of the TV was too far from the bed, so you can't watch TV in bed. The room layout was strange, and a bit cramped as they tried to provide all the basic hotel amenities (desk, chair, lamps, etc) but there just isn't enough room. The bathroom had only a shower, so if you need a tub, then I would request a room that has one.
2) Fees for internet access and lack of a pool - Modern hotel chain cookie cutter hotels have their comforts, but it seems that any half decent hotel chain still charges for internet. It astounds me, since the business travelers that can expense the internet charge actually get free internet based on status. The lack of a pool is annoying, although you can use the pool at the Westin as the Westin is a sister Starwood property (and they have a special arrangement).
3) Construction - I was aware of the construction when I booked, but I had a room that was set back from the street so I did not hear the full force of the construction noise. They did start working early though.

I really liked my one night stay, but I can't see myself staying here as a business traveler. It's a great change of pace hotel, and deserves to be called a luxury hotel, BUT I can't see myself getting work done in the hotel room, and noise from the hallway and neighbors is fine for a leisure stay, but a potential deal breaker on a business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction area across the street, and non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings and thank you for taking the time to pen this detailed appraisal of your stay.

We chuckle at the thought of your title with Strange and Great Luxury in the same sentence but somehow you make this work! We agree that being a historic hotel has it's privileges but also presents some opportunity for us to overcome. Such is true in the hotel world as it is in life!

To say that we are pleased that you found the mixture to be entertaining and provoking is to put it mildy and so with that we invite you to return to continue to turn the pages in our storied history in the making.

Sincerely,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a night in this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We live in the North county San Diego and know the city pretty well. We knew this hotel but never stayed there before. We chose it because we are Starwood members and wanted to use our points. Once we started researching we decided on US Grant because it was a unique historical hotel. And it truly was, no disappointment there. It has a lot of history and is quite beautiful. If you are looking for a modern hotel with pool and young hip clientele, it wouldn't be a place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed it though. The service at the front desk can be a little spotty but they do try to accommodate. We had our 8-month daughter with us and even though they weren't able to upgrade to a suite, they gave us a nice corner room with a view of the city, Coronado bridge and a very spatious bathroom with a window, which is where we put the crib for the night. The furnishings and amenities are top notch, a lot of vintage details. Overall it was a good stay.
The best part was meeting Ryan, a young bellman that could be easily the hotel's manager. He was so helpful, went far and beyond to make sure we were satisfied. He was very respectful and very friendly at the same time (no"man" or "guys" when addressing us), had an easy conversation flowing while trying to help to find us a good room. The kind of treatment you would expect in a luxury hotel. Some people just have the gift of enjoying to please people and Ryan certainly had it. Thank you Ryan! You have a bright future in the hospitality industry if you choose to go that route.
The worst parts were the hotels restaurant and the city noise at night. The service at the restaurant was quite inattentive, with the food bland and ordinary. With so many options to eat out right at the doorsteps you really don't need to eat there. As for the noise, its an old hotel right in the middle of the busy city, you know what you're signing up for.
Great option in San Diego for those who appreciate history and just something different.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

I am most impressed and grateful for your amazing review of Ryan our Social Host travelingeagles; though I am not surprised as he delivers amazing service everyday! You are absolutely right that he has the gift of service. I am pleased that he exceeded your expectations which is the service level we strive for and pride ourselves in. I am surprised, however, that the food in the restaurant did not exceed your expectations as that is also a strong pride point with their blend of classic and progressive cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you back so we can change that impression! Jared. Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My significant other surprised me with a trip to San Diego for my 50th birthday weekend. The us grant was a terrific pick. Great location. just a few blocks to all the great restaurants on fifth ave. Our room was lovely. well decorated with luxury linens and down pillows. Made for a very good night's sleep. bathroom was a bit tight for 2, but also luxurious. The staff was friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. Every suggestion the concierge made was a hit! Guests also have the use of the outdoor pool at the westin across the street which was very nice as well. The us grant lobby is so beautiful yet comfortable. After our walk back from dinner we would sit in the lobby and people watch...wedding guests, tourists. Staff always asked if we needed anything or would like some bottled water.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Luxury. It is what we strive to deliver and it amazes us at how broadly and personally this is defined today! You summarize well for our Trip Advisor readers some of the things that comprise a luxury experience in your definition.

We hope that we get to see you again in order to be a part of your story and special celebrations and as we celebrate our own! 102 years in the making and Happy Birthday to you youngster,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
416 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 286 in San Diego
2,097 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#52 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $183 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing