We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,616)
Filter reviews
2,616 results
Traveler rating
1,561
676
229
81
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,561
676
229
81
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaslamp districtsignature suitelandmark suitehorton plazabeautiful hotelturn down servicehomeless peoplestreet noisethe gas lamp districtbeautiful lobbyvalet parkingconcierge deskbottled watercorner roombalboa parkconvention centeruss midway
Filter
Updating list...
1,279 - 1,284 of 2,616 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on five days of business travel this month. What a wonderful place! The hotel caters to your every whim, and takes care of every need you couldpossibly imagine. The rooms are more than comfortable, with excellent bedding and furniture, huge mirrors and work accommodations. This place also has a business center, although you shouldn't need it with the broadband Internet access they give you in the rooms.

The service in this hotel is also beyond reproach, from the front desk to the concierge (where Mark Peak will send you to the greatest sports in town!). The hotel is also located right inside the Gaslamp District, and is surrounded by excellent restaurants on all sides.

The only downfall about this hotel is that you shold be prepared to pay out some extra bucks for almost anything. The valet parking is $35.00/day, which was not advertised in advance. Also, the "convenience refrigerators" have a weighing device inside them, and will charge you for anything you remove. (This is to be expected.) However, they do not leave much room for "doggie bags" from dinner, so be prepared to NOT need any extra refrigerator space.

Despite these few issues, this is a fabulous place, and I would gladly return here for any future stays.

Room Tip: They are all good, but for an extra $20-30/night you can purchase room upgrades to even better rooms. Rooms on floors 9-11 appear to be the premiere rooms in th hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

A wonferful response from a wonderful guest! Thank you for your kind words about our lovely adornments but most importantly: I am most proud that Mark made such an impression on you! He is a true testament to why the Concierge is the pillar of our Luxury Collection brand. My apologies for the sensitivity of the mini bar fridges... Indiana Jones himself would not be able to remove one of our items without charge! We look forward to welcoming you back to our historic landmark in San Diego. And trust me, there are many more places Mark can direct you for your next stay! Jared Dir of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend four nights at this historic hotel. The staff was extremely attentive, the room was spotless, the amenities were great and the room was awesome. We enjoyed a two king bed suite with a very large bathroom, a huge shower with ceiling-to-floor nozzles, a dining room table and a sitting room with a large HDTV. We were able to work comfortably in the room.

The hotel is located just outside the Gaslamp District and we were able to walk to restaurants and Petco Park. The concierge (Brooks) made several good restaurant suggestions (especially "Urban") and took the time to understand what and where we wanted to eat. The front desk staff were very accommodating with the several requests we had during our stay. Although parking was expensive ($35/night), the valets were always eager to give directions and provided us with bottled water every time we came and left the hotel.

We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel every morning and the wait staff treated our boys to some cookies before we departed. It was a nice touch.

We've stayed at some comprable hotels (Le St. James in Montreal and the Taj Compton in San Francisco) and this may very well be the best hotel we've every enjoyed.

5 stars all around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBBJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

So glad to hear about your amazing experience PamandBradFam! Your selection of booking the signature suite with two king beds proves to me you know your luxury! Excellent choice and we are so proud that you enjoyed our attentive and anticipatory staff. Our concierge truly know the best in the city, did you happen to have the mussels at Urban B+G? Probably the best I have ever had! Parking does tend to be a little high in these downtown areas, thank you for your understanding. I hope San Diego can keep avoiding San Francisco/Chicago/NY prices a little longer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Jared Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for a special celebration. On check in the staff upgraded us to a suite and it was amazing. Every member of the staff who we spoke to was not only polite but genuinely interested in helping us. The hotel is in a great location and while we were concerned with traffic noise etc even though it was game night on a Saturday night other than the sirens we heard no noise. We were 1 block from Horton plaza and there are almost too many restaurants within walking distance to choose from. Fortunately the concierge was very knowledgeable and filled us in on what we were looking for. When we got back from our dinner the staff had put treat in our room with a congratulations card! On check out we were both given a bottle of water for our trip - a really nice touch. One of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise and a nicer view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for your kind praise and we look forward to your return! I am especially pleased to hear the life of the city did not affect your relaxation during your stay. San Diego can certainly be a lively crowd at times! Especially, as you mentioned, with our location so conveniently located to hundreds of great dining and social establishments. Location Location Location! We look forward to welcoming you back RunnerAkl. Delegates of our management team just completed the Ragnar Relay this last weekend, maybe we will see you there next year! Jared Dir of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay! Concierge Mark once again was very helpful getting us a reservation for dinner. Not a fan of hotel bars/lounges... That said we liked the band that played Saturday. What a cute girl with a great voice. Tom also made some good drinks. This was my second stay at this hotel. I think I will always chose this hotel when come to the Gaslamp.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! Our Chef concierge Mark Peak is a phenomanal concierge and an important part of our family. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel bar also! We were fortunate enough to receive the honor of the Grant Grill Lounge being the #1 Hotel Bar in North America last year (2012) and we can only hope for more accolades in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My one night stay at the US Grant hotel in San Diego was a real treat. It takes one back to the good old days when hotels were luxurious and grand. Beautiful, spacious lobbies, and employees do their utmost to make every guest feel important. Though the rooms are small, the bedding, towels and bathrobes are all first cabin. This place still has it. It's right downtown on Broadway and near almost everything.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the shape of a horseshoe. Try and get a room away from Broadway. It's a very busy street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Greetings Robert,

Your review of our Grand Old Hotel is grand in itself. Thank you for taking the time to not only pen this gracious review of our hotel and services but also for your visit with us. We know there is a new world of choices in San Diego to choose from and appreciate that our 102 year old history had some allure for you.

We know that a one night stay does not allow you the time to truly appreciate all that we have to offer and expect a return visit soon.

Thank you,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews