We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Grand Old Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Hills
Level Contributor
508 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My one night stay at the US Grant hotel in San Diego was a real treat. It takes one back to the good old days when hotels were luxurious and grand. Beautiful, spacious lobbies, and employees do their utmost to make every guest feel important. Though the rooms are small, the bedding, towels and bathrobes are all first cabin. This place still has it. It's right downtown on Broadway and near almost everything.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the shape of a horseshoe. Try and get a room away from Broadway. It's a very bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Robert,

Your review of our Grand Old Hotel is grand in itself. Thank you for taking the time to not only pen this gracious review of our hotel and services but also for your visit with us. We know there is a new world of choices in San Diego to choose from and appreciate that our 102 year old history had some allure for you.

We know that a one night stay does not allow you the time to truly appreciate all that we have to offer and expect a return visit soon.

Thank you,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    577
    196
    66
    56
See reviews for
373
891
136
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a beautiful old historic hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and their details like the sheets, beds and bathroom are very high end and comfortable. However, being an old hotel, the windows are noise porous in spite of the heavy curtains. I was awoke at 5am by construction trucks backing up (beep, beep, beep) next door. We also walked to local restaurants and the surplus of homeless people taking advantage of the climate and generous government handouts make walking interesting. Also be prepared to be attacked by restauranteurs hawking their menus.

Stay here if it is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Financedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings,

Your balanced review is appreciated. We know that people like to hear insights on a guest stay prior to making a decision for themselves and we hope that your feedback assists them in this mission. We agree that being a downtown hotel does come at the expense of some added downtown energy. From a location perspetive to all things San Diego we have come to rely on our proximity to deliver the best to our guests both inside and outside our doors.

We hope that while this stay was not perfect, that you come to find us again in the future. Let us know about your request for a quiet room as we have many different room types that may work better for you next time.

Thank you and safe journeys,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days between 3/15 - 3/18. Beatiful hotel in an amazing location.. Walking distance to the Gaslamp, Horton Plaza etc.... ROOMS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND COMFORTABLE. GREAT BATHROOMS..FANTASTIC BEDS..CLASSY ELEGANT AND COMFORTABLE! One of the best hotels I have stayed at in the US.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a water view.. $3 5a day valet parking Be sure to eat at Brians 24. Great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you Chrisloris for your kind words and rich reviews of our "classy" rooms! Our location is truly bragworthy, being right on the North corner of the historic Gaslamp District, across from Horton Plaza and steps to a trolly stop; all of San Diego is at your fingertips! We look forward to welcoming you back and; of course; you stay classy Chrisloris! - Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location but when we stayed here there was building work going on at the
Horton plaza which started at 7 am every morning. The hottel staff were very apologetic and understanding
The restaurant was superb and the food
Was first class but a slight criticism was the dress code as my wife and myself made an effort but there were people in there with baseball hats shorts and jeans
Which was not in keepings with a 5 star hotel more like Denny's

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Congratulations on your Honeymoon and thank you for celebrating with us! We also appreciate your understanding with the beautification of Horton Plaza across the street from us. Fortunately, it seems most of the major work is done for the summer with just some mild cleanup left so we look forward to your return! I apologize for the lack of sophisticated dress of the guests at times in the Grant Grill. While San Diego definitely celebrates a more casual small metropolis I am confident the food quality was well beyond comparison! Though I could never argue with the clever moniker of Moons Over My Hammy (Trademark).... Thank you again for the gift of feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My daughter (age 9 ) and I stayed at the US Grant for two nights this week. It's hard to remember a better hotel experience! We chose the US Grant because we are Starwood Preferred Guests and typically stay in Starwood properties. Upon making reservations I was concerned it would be a hotel catering primarily to business travelers. While it is great for the business traveler it is also great for the vacationer! Everyone from the valet, to check in , the concierge, to the wait staff in the restaurant were friendly, kind and would go out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. This is one of the best Starwood Properties we have stayed in. Awesome experience, we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip and discovered our ability to cater to business, family, vacationers, weekend warriors and luxury travelers alike. Thank you for being Starwood Preferred guests and we are glad your young daughter enjoyed their time also. We look forward to being here another 102 years and welcoming you, your little one and someday her little ones also! -Jared, Director of Front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the US Grant to celebrate my friends bachelorette party! Demi, the Guest Loyalty Coordinator was so fabulous! She upgraded us to the beautiful Signature Suite and sent up a welcome amenity!
Kaylyn greeted us upon arrival with a friendly smile! Steven checked us in and made us feel so welcome.
During our stay three different social hosts assisted us and all three were incredible! Bryan, Ryan and Andrew were all fantastic!
We also dined at the Grant Grill which was just AMAZING! Sydney greeted us in the restaurant and showed us to our table in the private dining room. Sergio was our server and another Sergio was our busser – Both were just fabulous! The food was delicious and the presentation was just perfect! The manager Lindsey came to the table to check on us and make sure everything was going well.
I must say staying at the Grant was the BEST decision we made! The staff at the US Grant are AMAZING! Thank you for an incredible, memorable experience – We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYgalMB-yall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are pleased and proud that so many ambassadors made such a positive impression on you; and Bravo, your name recollection is impressive! You would excel in the hospitality industry! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our Sea World trip.

There was a little hiccup at the beginning but their excellent, top-notch services, and great breakfast selections and credit really made the rest of the stay very enjoyable.

We got a good deal of the standard two- bed room with the bed and breakfast package through spg and decided to upgrade to the legacy suite. Since all the legacy suite has only one bed so they offered us with a roll up bed to accommodate the four of us (2 adults + 2 kids: 6 & 3 yrs. old). We went to the room and were very disappointed how small and crowded it was, it's almost impossible to turn in the bathroom with just me and one kid. We were just talking about how they were going to fit in the roll up bed and the phone rang. They told us that they didn't realize this room was too small for a roll up bed and offered us to move one stair up to a different legacy suite with more spacious floor plan. We weren't very happy with all the hassle of unpacking and packing and kids refused to leave the room which we just barely settled in. After about an hour of all the hectics, we held our breath before opening the door hoping for a better room, and boy, all the hassle paid off, the second room is so much bigger with a huge bathroom and open shower.

All the staffs were very friendly and accommodating and made sure we enjoy the stay. They ended up didn't charge us for the upgrade even we didn't even ask for them to wave it. The room was very comfy and quiet. All and all, very nice experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flower0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Like a flower blooming, one never fully knows how beautiful the full picture will be till it is already complete. Looking back we apologize that we did not execute excellence from the beginning of your stay. We truly appreciate your allowing us the opportunity to correct our course mid stream so that we could deliver the best for your stay!

Please come back again and continue to explore our storied halls. Like a glorious flower our hotel has many different aspects and perspectives to appreciate.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#54 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing