We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$215
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$207
$201
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$169
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$305
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,586)
Filter reviews
2,586 results
Traveler rating
1,539
671
228
80
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,539
671
228
80
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaslamp districtsignature suitehorton plazabeautiful hotelturn down servicehomeless peoplestreet noisethe gas lamp districtbeautiful lobbyvalet parkingvalet staffbottled waterconcierge deskcorner roombalboa parkconvention centeruss midway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 2,586 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thought that our crappy first impression (arrive 11am and in room at 3.35pm) would spoil our stay, but to our pleasant surprise, found the hotel to be a superbly furnished and comfortable hotel with immaculate rooms and friendly service. Do not skip the bar and restaurant which I would rate as up with the best, and that's from high expectations. Located a few steps away from some unexpectedly good restaurants in the Gas Lamp District - we weren't disappointed at De Medici's old style Italian hospitality and upmarket Fare - and don't miss the USS Midway, just 20 minutes' walk down to the wharves, for an example of living history.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarateCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for your kind review of our 102 year old property and the surrounding area. We are very lucky to be so close to the highlights of downtown and are so glad you enjoyed De Medici's and the Midway!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The US Grant is the definition of an all around Hotel. Great service, excellent location, and comfy LARGE rooms. Everything from the gym to the restaurant, was better thanking other surrounding properties. Better yet, the US GRANT is a block away from the 200 gas lamp restaurants/bars. Highly recommend and very affordable!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davetheprotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Greetings Dave,

Since you are a pro-traveler we want to thank you so much for you compliments! Along with those 200 restaurants and bars we have our very own Grant Grill! Please do come back to visit us soon.

Warm Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The U.S. Grant is a lovely landmark hotel. You can feel the history of the hotel in the beautiful lobby and restaurant. The wood paneling and the molding are well maintained and give you a sense of wealth and privelege. The front desk was welcoming as was the bell staff. The concierge was friendly and helpful. As Starwood Platinum, we received a room upgrade to a huge suite. The room was very pretty. The furniture was antique as was the carpet but the beds were the extremely comfortable. The bathroom was modernized with a hint of the old style. In short the room was great. The free breakfast was good. The only issue we can mention is that the Grant's breakfast was not as good as the Westin buffet but free is free and we really can't say this was a problem.
Our one issue was that housekeeping knocked on the door at 8:30 asking when we are leaving. Since we had 2 back to back reservations, this happened twice.
The hotel itself is in a great location but you do have to deal with the San Diego homeless who tend to congregate near this area as one of their spots. Also there is not much of a view from the hotel and we were on the 7th floor. If you are looking for a beautfiul landmark hotel with old world charm, this is a great choice. If you want new and glitzy, go to the Westin San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for balanced feedback from your stay. We are so glad our Concierge, Front Desk, and Social hosts took good care of you while you were here. Our ambassadors constantly strive to provide the best assistance to our guests.

We have recently completed a 50 million dollar renovation to our 102 year old property and we are so glad you noticed and appreciated even the smallest details!

Best Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The US Grant was a solid choice for business travel: it has a good downtown location, my room was good-sized, comfortable and clean, my bathroom was large and updated, and the hotel overall has been well-maintained. The lobby is attractive, the public areas are clean and have been refurbished. Check-in and check-out was very efficient and professional. I did not have issues with the cleanliness of my room

The linens were very nice and the bed very comfortable, but I was on the third floor facing the street and there is a very large construction project across the street that starts up at 7am on weekdays. It was extremely loud and disruptive to my sleep. One night there was also a crazy person circling the block screaming for about thirty minutes at 3am. That was also...disruptive. It's an older building and there's little sound-proofing, so all those kinds of disturbances seem magnified.

The other negative was the gym - obviously it's an older building so the gym has been carved out of the basement as an afterthought, and it shows. It's a small windowless room with the bare minimum of cardio machines and little room to do much else. They do provide towels, water, apples and earbuds, so that's a nice touch, but the room is pretty dire.

Overall, I'd stay at the US Grant again. Maybe I'm used to hotel prices in larger markets, but it seemed very cheap for the quality of the hotel. Linens are a deal-breaker for me, and they had nice ones, as well as a nicely-appointed, comfortable, good-sized room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Greetings Cameron,

We are so glad our hotel met your needs. Being a downtown property, we hear our fair share of comments on this aspect of a stay as not all of our guests appreciate the hustle and bustle of an urban, downtown setting. Your sleep was impaired by this aspect of our setting and for that please accept my humblest apologies.

Our beds are our Luxury Collection version of the "Heavenly Beds" and we are happy that you enjoyed the linens. We hope you return soon on leisure to enjoy San Diego and all it has to offer!

Warm Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was nice. Not exactly what we were expecting, based on the photos. But nonetheless, lovely. We had a legacy suite. For a "suite" it was a bit small... particularly the bathroom. We are used to having a larger bathroom when reserving a suite at hotels/resorts - not here. It was tiny with no real room to place toiletries and definitely only room for one person (unless one is the shower, of course). The shower was roomy and had great water pressure. The bathroom could have used a little tlc, as the walls/doors are showing wear. The furnishings in the room and the room design overall are very busy and give you somewhat of a cluttered feel. Everything you could possibly need or want is packed into this room. They've thought of it all. The bed was comfy and it was nice to have two TVs.

The service was wonderful. We were greeted each and every time we entered the lobby. Reception, concierge and room service were all top notch.

Our rate included breakfast each day at the Grant Grill. It was EXCELLENT! Don't miss the Grant grill, it is a special place. If you get a breakfast included rate, take it! If you don't, the average person will probably find the prices for breakfast to be really steep.

We also used the hotel car service a couple of times during our stay. It is only slightly more than taking a taxi and well worth it.

It is conveniently located - we walked everywhere. We would recommend others stay here.

This is a historical, well-maintained, overall neat place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for your balanced review of our property! Being a 102 year old hotel, not each our rooms are "cookie cutter", but we are glad you have enjoyed the special amenities provided all the same.

Thank you especially for your comments on our staff! We take great pride in our employees and the work each of them contribute to ensure each guest has an exceptional stay. We hope to see you again soon in our Grant Grill!

Warm Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews