We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having a wonderful time at a unique hotel in San Diego - the beauty and opulence here is there to be seen. Everything here is on a very grand scale plus every staff member we have met has been wonderful. The room we had was a corner suite which was beautifully laid out with a gorgeous updated bathroom. The only negative was being on the 4th floor where the windows are not very sound-proofed so we could hear the traffic quite a bit. Even with that we would not hesitate to stay here again.
The blinds were a little different - one suggestion would be to have blinds that go top down instead of bottom up - obviously being on the higher floors may not be so bad as you would not feel like you could be seen!

Room Tip: Higher floor - less noise1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Greetings,

We are very glad you were able to stay in one of our unique corner suites that you so much enjoyed, despite the noise from the downtown neighbors. Please do ask for earplugs next time you come in as they usually do dimish the noise. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Douglas R. Korn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is downtown in San Diego which makes it very convenient to get around by walking, car or public transportation. One drawback of the location is that the street noise is loud most of the night which was an adjustment for me. The staff is very friendly and the valet parking attendants get you in and out quickly. The lobby is georgeous and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMM0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Greetings and thank you for your generous review.

It is always great to get positive feedback on the valet team! They are an inspiring bunch for what they do on our drive all day and all night to exceed the expectations of our guests. Next time you are here notice the heat lamps we just put in for our guests to keep them warm when the temperatures drop. We know this is not frequent but we need to also care for our valet team who are acclimated to our nice San Diego weather and do not like it when it hits 50.

Thank you,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

LOVE this hotel. Clearly tens of millions were spent rejuvenating this landmark in the heart of the Gaslamp. This is a smaller boutique hotel. Stay here and you will feel special, like you have arrived somewhere. Not for everyone, as it will cost you.

Everything is right outside your door. You can even walk to the water/bay in 10 minutes.

Upgrade if possible - the suites are magnificent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jim,

Many thanks for having shared your perspective on the benefits of our hotel with our Trip Advisor readers. We agree that you that location and being treated special are important elements to a great stay but there are so many more. We encourage you to return to find out what else we do to earn your loyalty when visiting San Diego!

Sincerely,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The rooms were nice and the location was perfect to stay in the downtown area. Unlike many older hotels, this one had adequate power outlets for all of our devices. The sound level in the rooms is also noteworthy; we heard no sound of slamming room doors or any sounds from adjacent rooms. The service was excellent; the staff always greeted us and were very helpful. At my request, the concierge arranged for a very nice bouquet of flowers for my wife. We called in a minor maintenance issue (slow running shower drain) and it was resolved without any mess or other indication. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but enjoyed sitting in the bar listening to the live music in the evening. It's not obvious from their web page, but in addition to wireless, there was also a wired network connection in the room. The only annoyance is that there is a refrigerator in the room, but it's strictly for the "mini-bar" and removing anything to make room will apparently result in you being charged for them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek-Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Mr. Barkey,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with Trip Advisor readers. Your approach assists in building their confidence in us as a quality place to not only find a place to rest their head but find the exceptional in San Diego.

Please come visit us again soon by way of stopping to smell the roses and continue to enjoy what life has to offer us.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and were booked into a suite. However the first two I was shown were either in a noisy part of the hotel or the bathroom was so small, I began looking for a cat to swing!

Third time lucky, and our accommodation was great with it's large double basin bathroom and a shower room so enormous, I could have swung a lion! The service in all areas was swift and efficient, including the garage boys when we needed our car. Mark the Concierge was particularly helpful.

The hotel in my opinion, isn't beautifully decorated, the corridors are painted brown with a duck shell blue wall covering which made the place quite dark.

The only thing that really let it down was the housekeeping. Our room wasn't particularly clean, there was a dirty tissue that was left under the side table from a previous guest and the only things that were dealt with on a regular basis was that the sheets and bath towels were changed. I think that maybe they had run clean out of dusters that week! The management were suitably horrified and made an adjustment to our bill.

The US Grant is a very well positioned hotel right in the heart of the Gaslamp area and very convenient for all the shops and restaurants and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CORDELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Greetings Cordelia,

Thank you for your balanced feedback. From Mark to our valet them we have some celebrating to do! With respect to the areas of opportunity, we will share this review at our manager stand up to ensure our team's focus is in alignment with our guest's.

Whether it is the 1st room or the 3rd, we strive to ensure a great experience for all our patrons in kind with our 102 year legacy of hospitality. Thank you for your visit and recommendation to secure another 102 years to come!

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel hosted by an excellent staff! This business trip included 2 nights stay as well as utilization of the conference center. The room could have been quieter, but the bed was great and I was fast asleep when I hit one of the 6 pillows!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quiet. Don't take a corner room or room next to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfdaddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

GolfDaddy,

If you fell fast asleep when your head hit one pillow, imagine how well you would sleep if you luxuriated in all 6! Thank you for the review. Next time you are here allow us to inspire you with some destination golfing to break up the work schedule!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I traveled with my mother and 4 month old daughter to San Diego for a very quick 2 night stay. We had booked at the US Grant with Starwood points and were on the Starwood preferred floor. The hotel was simply beautiful. The room and bathroom were lovely. There was a foyer/closet area in the entry with coffee maker. The beds, linens and pillows were awesome. The bathroom was good sized with a great rain-style shower head and walk in tiled shower, plenty of counter space, big window, great makeup mirror and great towels. We ordered room service for breakfast both mornings to simplify getting ready with a little one and it was delicious (expensive, as expected). The hotel town car was also available for a flat rate fare for our return trip to the airport. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially once they saw us with a baby. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Lindsey,

Thank you for noting some of the highlights that our guests have come to expect. The town car service is convenient and well priced, the water pressure is spot on, in room dining is delicious for the price, and we are comfortable for all travelers including the youngest among us! Did our team surprise you with a logo'd US GRANT bib!?

Thank you for sharing and hope you can stay next time once you accumulate more Starwood Preferred Points!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
417 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,097 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#45 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $183 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing