We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, however noisy and $35 valet ;(”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, California, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, however noisy and $35 valet ;(”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had wanted to stay at this old landmark for a long time. It is a stone's throw from the Gaslamp district, and unfortunately it is noisy because of this. I requested a high-floor room upon arrival, and we were offered a great corner room on the 5th floor. A little small, but just lovely, with a view on both sides (one being the soon-to-be a roof-top garden). I complained about trays, glasses etc still littering the hallways in 3 places at 4pm...! and this was remedied within the hour. Valet is outrageously expensive and simply ridiculous: even though they boast an 'in-and-out as you please', it was actually hilarious to see a line literally throughout the entire lobby on a Saturday evening at 10pm of people lined up waiting for... the valet. We chose to find a spot in the street, and were 'so' glad we did. Again, this was simply ridiculous. Unfortunately, the hotel is quite aware of the homeless people literally on its doorstep; not a hotel problem, a city problem. The hotel is "very" busy, the staff is very pleasant and we loved our room, although it may be too small (and noisy from revelers on the street below) for some.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldExplorer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Greetings World Explorer,

You did not have to go far from Irvine, CA to find us and we are happy that you did. While your review is overall pleasant there are aspects of your stay that we have taken seriously and provided as feedback to our team for their beneift and growth.

We own every issue our guest encounters in their stay and we appreciate our loyal guests who are not afraid to help us be better than we already are! Thank you for partnering with us on this front.

Please do come down for another visit soon and do not let too much time pass till then!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    631
    219
    73
    62
See reviews for
410
961
144
644
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

recently i had a chance to get away and go to san diego. i arrived to find the weather cold and the environment horrible. so by now, i didn't want to even be there. i took my rental car and finally made my way to my hotel. as soon as i checked in i was surprised. the environment was somewhat of old, and reminded me of the hearst castle or one of the classic landmark properties. i checked in and slowly made my way around the hotel. it was quiet. i felt like i was in a museum. i was fascinated. the hotel room was nice and warm. the walls were rich with woodwork. i spent the next two days at times transfixed by the hotel, simply walking around. wow.

as for the location, it was perfect. very centrally located. as for the environment, again, it depends. if you want a party environment, don't go here. if you want a very nice room in a memorable hotel with great service, definitely think about this place. overall, an excellent stay. most importantly, it is someplace to witness, even if you don't stay here. go and just walk around. places like this don't exist anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Greetings Shark,

"If you were stranded on a desert island..." Guess this may not truly apply in this scenario but we are glad that we were your oasis in San Diego during the chill that settled in on our area.

Now that this has passed and we are once again back into the high 70s and low 80s we welcome you back anytime!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed very much our three day visit and, in particular, the New Year's eve 6 course dinner, which ended, naturally, at midnight! The conceirge was most helpful in guiding us on the sights to see in San Diego. The rooms were spacious and very clean. No complaints. The hotel location next to the Gaslamp Quarter, meant that selection for the evening dinner was very easy and stress free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The US Grant is pure luxury. It is a five star property in all ways... from the opulent lobby decor, welcoming and helpful staff, quiet and restful room with an amazing bathroom... everything you would expect. But add to this the history of the hotel named after President Grant and you will really be amazed. You must read the history of the hotel posted in the side lobby. It gave me a true appreciation for the property and those who restored it to the grandeur you see today.

We loved being able to walk to the Gas Lamp District with great restaurants, night life and saw a Padres game too. The Trolley Tour stop is right around the corner. Yes, there are street people which is true for most metropolitian areas. Appreciate and enjoy what you have and help others when you can. San Diego is a great destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to enjoy what our 102 year old lady has to offer from our past history to the history we are writing today. Clearly you are reaching back in your past experiences to source this story for others to enjoy as the Padres have not played a game since regular season! Glad we made that great of an impact!

Please come visit again and perhaps this year we will host you for a playoff game!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I love SPG properties and once again wasn't disappointed. Comfy bed, clean rooms and nice service. Only complaint was my view was of a seedy hotel...otherwise a great stay...Just keep your blinds pulled.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHecht712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a nice old hotel in the center of San Diego. The hotel is in a pretty good shape and has a luxurious feeling. The rooms are clean and large. However, I still rate it as poor as staff was not up to these standards. The front desk is understaffed at some times and housekeeping did not seem to know about our clear and communicated wishes to clean the room in the afternoon rather than in the morning. The restaurant is hopeless too. Breakfast is way overpriced and very poor. Two pieces of bread, some butter and jam for about 15 Dollars? Second, they forgot to bring my hot chocolate and instead some guy poured coffee into my mug without asking. Further, just because my neighbor ordered the same breakfast, this does not mean that I don't need additional glasses of jam (he already used up all his -- nobody cared). The bar serves small dishes in the evening. I tried a club sandwich. It was awful. Huge mountain of toast, salad, dry bacon (likely remaining pieces from breakfast) and very cheap turkey ham without much sauce. Everything was dry. For this price and in this hotel, I would have expected a real club sandwich with traditional fresh baked ham and freshly cooked juicy pieces of turkey (for the cook: the bacon and turkey are meant to be still warm and right out of the pan). Last but not least, they charge an additional 12 Dollars for Internet Wifi in the room plus something like more than 15 Dollars/minute telephone rates for international calls. This is just ridiculous in 2013...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Greetings Bioko,

We often find ourselves a home away from home for many of our international travelers who appreciate our historic charm and elevated service levels. For all the touch points that you encountered we seemed to be missing a step throughout and for that please accept our apologies. We work hard to curate exceptional experiences from our Welcome at the Front Desk to our freshly baked and house sliced turkey breast Club Sandwiches. We know that Switzerland is a journey away but we hope that should you return to the area you consider us again as our values are truly well aligned.

Thank you for your discerning feedback and safe travels,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Its been renovated to bring back its timeless look, yet still and for a long long time could compete as the nicest hotel in San Diego. The amenities are all top, the rooms are large, the bathrooms you'll wish would be at your home. The hotel is very safe as you'll need a room card to access certain floors. All the staff is very nice, always asking how your stay is going or if they can bring you anything. The Grant Grill is a great restaurant and bar. They have live music that fits the hotel and wether you are going to be at the bar watching a game or in the restaurant enjoying an intimate meal, you'll have a great experience.

Its been almost 4 months now since my wife and I got married in the Crystal Ballroom and had our reception in the Celestial Ballroom at the Grant, and we think about it and talk about it everyday as if it were yesterday. People tell us all the time that our wedding was the best they'd ever been to. During the course of our engagement and planning we visited the Grant 4 times, each time getting better and better. From the very get go, Lauren Bonahoom (the Grants wedding person) was outstanding, she would get back to us with questions and solutions as if we were her only wedding going on. She helped me out secure the rooms we wanted and made sure everything was perfect, she went out of her way so that we could look back at our weekend and have no regrets about anything. Over the course of our visits leading up to our wedding and our wedding weekend, Brian who works at the Grant and overseas the actual night of the wedding was awesome! There were so many little things he did that weekend out of nowhere, that ended up being so important and special. His attentiveness and constant eye on everything made our night without any incident, it was perfect because of him and the entire staff. We will go back hopefully sooner than later and hope we can thank them all again, because looking back at it, we left the next day and never had the time to really give them all a big hug and thank you.

Everything is really close and within walking distance here. The Gaslamp is only blocks away, the water, harbor and little Italy isn't that far either. Anyone on any trip or stay in San Diego would have a very nice time staying at the US Grant.

Best Wishes US Grant! See you soon!

Room Tip: If you need a double bed, try to get the Signature Suite. If you are a couple, get a Landmark Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManFromMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Newly Married and what a way to usher this new life in with style and grace!

Many thanks for your caring enough to post this review to share some of your momorable moments with our team and hotel! We have been working hard at curating these memorable moments with our guests for 102 years and the Crystal Ballroom is one place that has endured the ages...imagine the stories it could tell!

While 4 months have passed, we know that Lauren and Brian among all the other members of our team will anticipate your return soon! Now that we have been able to share in your big day you will be considered family and we will appreicate staying in touch with your many future successes!

Best Wishes for a prosperous and loving 2013! May you find everything your heart Swoons for in the coming year,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing