We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are perfectly decorated, immaculately clean, regal affordable and great concierge service if you're lucky enough to get Mark P. he's a well connected miracle worker! Only downside is the "handcrafted coffee" in the coffee shop- $2.60 and 5 minute wait for standard cup of coffee. Simple would have been better in this case. Location is superb!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylacey216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got home from a trip to San Diego. We got a very good deal on this hotel from American Express. It was all we hoped it would be. The hotel itself is beautiful and the Christmas decorations made us feel as though we were back in the early 1900's. Our room was large, clean and had a view of the rooftop gardens. The beds are so luxurious! The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate in the Grant Grill which was delicious! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilyspinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is luxury for the Everyman! Beautiful rooms, funky layout, exceptional customer service. Fun, young and hip! If you like easy breezy cocktails and a comfy room, this hotel is for you! Small, but beautifully appointed superior rooms are just right. Bar and lounge outstanding. Good vibes from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fauxfaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great stay at the US Grant over the Christmas holidays. Fantastic rooms and customer service; perfect downtown San Diego location. My only complaint is that as amazing as the price fixed Christmas Eve menu was, I would have also liked to have been able to order off the regular menu. That was however a very minor wrinkle in the overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I had an amazing stay at the us grant. Check in was easy and fast. Steven at the front desk was amazing. He made us feel like we were suppose to be there when we felt really out of place. My room was amazing, we had an inner room facing the garden on the 7th floor. Right next to the gaslamp district which was really nice because we wanted to go out. I would recommend this place with no hesitation. If you are ever at this place, ask for Steven because he makes a great effort to Cater to your needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanarykhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The room was nice, but the rest of the hotel was just odd. The hotel was serving Thanksgiving Dinner in lobby which was a little disconcerting. The hotel just seemed cold, however, it is in a great location, right in Gas Lamp District.

Room Tip: We were in a small room overlooking the yard House Restaurant, it was quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed 3 nights and we have never stayed in a more elegant hotel.
From the headboards (which a sign said were worth $10,000 each as they were done in a drip style by a famous artist),to the bathroom with the plushest towels I have ever used the accomodations were first rate.
At night they came in and put fresh slippers next to the beds and chocolate squares in the room.
The staff were knowlegable and friendly.
I hope the hotel management keeps up the standards as it would be a shame for San Diego
to lose one of their ace properties.
The only drawback and this is true of probably every hotel in San Diego, were the homeless
right outside the front door and adjacent street. I hope San Diego's government can come up with a solution for their well being.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotimeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
457 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $216 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing