We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the center of downtown San Diego.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #57 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel in the center of downtown San Diego.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the US Grant for 3 nights while visiting San Diego. I'm very particular about where I stay when choosing a hotel and this hotel exceeded my expectations. Every employee that we came across was super nice, professional, and helpful which included the valet, bellhop, front desk, concierge, restaurant bartender, and the housekeeper. If you appreciate history and architecture then you would agree that this hotel is beautiful and possesses a great deal of character. Our room was very clean and well maintained, the bed was very comfortable, and the hotel is within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay at the US Grant the next time we visit San Diego!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambular127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
So much goes into exceeding a guest's expectation Ambular127,

We do not take your compliment lightly and appreciate your feeling strongly enough about this to share it with others so they too may find out what the experience is all about!

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    601
    213
    72
    61
See reviews for
395
917
141
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely, charming hotel. Warm staff. Only complaint (minor) is the low lighting in the room. Our suite's sitting area was practically in the dark day and night. Proximity to Gaslamp District and Horton Plaza a plus. Walking distance to USS Midway and Star of India,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is a landmark and the rooms are appropriately stunning. Very lovely accommodations and the drinks at the Grill were old school awesome (I enjoy a well-crafted cocktail, who doesn't?). This place is on the edge of the gaslamp district and has done me well on my several visits to San Diego. Easy driving access and good location. I ordered a movie one night (don't recommend that as they're crazy expensive) and we had tv issues for an hour. Someone came to fix the issue, but I never ended up watching said movie and they took the charge off (as they should, but with no hassle). Great experience both times I've been here and looking forward to the next. The grand lobby makes you feel extra special, if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Ava G,

You hit the nail on the head in so many ways! From our award winning custom cocktails to the lobby experience and everything in between, we have a lot to celebrate and appreciate your taking the time to join us in this endeavor.

Please come back to see us again for as they have in the past 102 years, some things stay the same and other things continue to evolve for the best!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basque Country
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the US Grant in San Diego after some research, as high end properties were hard to come by in the city due to the fact that most hotels of that category were located well outside San Diego proper, in La Jolla or Del Mar. We didn't find the Marina too appealing either since we wanted to be as close to the action (Gaslamp Quarter or Little Italy, Hillcrest was far off anyway) as possible. So, right before flying to the USA we came across The US Grant, which had very good reviews and a very nice appearance; to my surprise, room rates were incredibly affordable, so I immediately assumed there would be a catch.

Well, I was definitely wrong: right from our arrival we found the hotel to be sensational. A 1910 building with an enormous lobby, featuring beautiful carpets and ballrooms as well as a nice Christmas decoration. Check-in was speedy, although as it is often the case with big hotels I found the staff to be corteous and efficient albeit a bit cold and impersonal. Our car was properly taken care of (for US$35 a night) and we were escorted (through beautiful corridors) to our room on a high floor which, to my surprise, not only had great views over the city but had been completely renovated in a classic-chic style, with an ample bathroom (shower was not well-maintained, though), very comfy bed, a huge closet and overall modern facilities. We particularly liked a full-figure mirror at the entrance. There was complimentary bottled water as well as chocolate provided by the turndown service.

Breakfast was superb, too. It was à la carte but with plenty to choose from, and the staff was professional and attentive. A great way to start the day.

Location: unlike some reviewers, I didn't find it to be dodgy or scary. Granted there are some homeless around, as everywhere in San Diego, but it looks as if some people are scared off by the presence of poor people around. Not to mention it is perfectly located, within walking distance to all the action at the Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to two great breweries and not-too-far from Little Italy on foot. You can also leisurely walk to Labrea Park or the Marina during daytime hours, so its location is also perfect for exploring the city's attraction. You can do no wrong with this one.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the value for money turned out to be excellent. If you want a good property outside the major chains at the Marina area or the luxurious hotels well far off San Diego, do not think twice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings Liilak,

Thank you for exploring San Diego from another culturally rich and exciting location; the Basque Country!

San Diego has come a long way from it's early days and THE US GRANT has been there to see this evolution. In full stride we are working hard to deliver the exceptional and it is agreed that at rates that make more expensive cities blush.

Your comments and photos are appreciated, as we know that you will help impact where they choose to stay when they come to San Diego and our hope is that THE US GRANT appeals to them for all the reasons that you eloquently explained.

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Overall I would HIGHLY recommend the US Grant. My boyfriend & I had am amazing time here. Everyone we interacted with was beyond helpful - from concierge, to valet (in & out privileges), to Tom, the bar tender (we got to know him quite well). The customer service was superb! Clearly a lot of care and pride has been taken to the upkeep and appearance of this historic hotel. The room we stayed in was quite large (corner room) and the lobby was impressive. The only downside was that the hotel is just on the edge of where the neighborhood starts to get a bit dodgy. Although there were many homeless people on the streets, hardly anyone harassed you for money, etc. they were just very present in the general area. That being said, the proximity to Gas Lamp, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. is perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in 524 and did not get much street noise - the room was quite large (not a standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM02120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbeauty69
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice hotel, but the area really needs a cleanup. Some scary people always hanging out across the street. Gas lamp area is very dirty, dirty sidewalks etc. they don't look like they have ever been cleaned. We would not stay in the area again, sorry US Grant.
Also the fitness room for this hotel was ridiculous, it might as well not be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandytoebeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Two words that can describe this hotel- Excellent & Awesome staff

We just checked out yesterday and Oh Boy, were just awed by Grant, location, quality of rooms and awesome team that runs this place. The moment we entered the hotel, check in, bell staff everyone was smiling ( important fact in hospitality). Shout out To Marc ( Les Clef D') OR Concierge guy with Golden keys, was always there to help us out figure out our day. One day we got our nieces back to our hotel, he was kind enough to get kids some kiddy tattoos ( made there day). Plenty to do in Gaslight district, hotel is in close proximity to any good bar, restaurant. If you have a car please visit Balboa park, must place to see.

Grant Grill has excellent breakfast option, love it.

Overall a well deserved 5 star rating, US GRANT is the place:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikrammalhotra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Vik,

thanks for your kind words and recognition! It looks like you put yourself in our hands for a getaway and we hit it out of the park; somewhat like your SF Giants this past season! Congratulations.

We appreciate your recognition and hope that the next time you return to San Diego you find us again to be your home away from home.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing