We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy with this trip”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here many times and that is why we chose it again. This time it was like sleeping in the ghetto due to the outside noise. Fighting, screaming,bottle breaking that went on intermittently throught the night and was punctuated multiple times with police and ambulance sirens. We could here the people next door and they were not especially loud. Poor accoustics.
Also my 308 dollar bill came out to 465 when I got home to look at it on the internet, with no extras just taxes, the internert and parking. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetvet1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

VetVet1234,

We truly appreciate your sentminents with our downtown location. Some global explorers see the Gaslamp as a historic tour through San Diego's past, present and future and for others as a congested downtown hub.

Either way, we welcome your trip and for having selected us this time and in the past as your home for the nights you were here. We do hope that you will look at the sum of your experiences with THE US GRANT and that we have a chance to earn your business. If there is anything I can do to personally assist in a successful subsequent stay reach out anytime.

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
808.744.2024

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a nice stay- the room was amazing- very beautiful interior with huge mirrors and art on the walls. Small bathroom with no bath but the latter is normal in CA apparently. We had some room service which was very decent. The layout is a bit awkward but thats partly down to the size- huge!- and the gym is also decent for SD standards. Without hesitation I would stay here again and location is right in the centre.

Just one small feedback comment- because the windows are so big the rooms can feel overlooked without any blinds option and just heavy curtains which would block out all light if you do draw them.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as its downtown (traffic and noise) and windows are not the best insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grinchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The lobby is gorgeous and our room was lovely and quite large. However, every few minutes all day and night we heard beep beep beep from the buses on the street and we were on the seventh floor. It was most annoying. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. The food from room service was not particularly good, the choices were limited, and it was expensive. The hotel is in a great location. It is across the street from a big shopping complex, Horton Plaza, and within walking distance of great restaurants and night life. The business center at the hotel is expensive, 99 cents to print a page but across the street is a copy, fax, print place where they will print things for 8 cents a page. It is worth the walk. There are not many really nice hotels in downtown San Diego and this hotel is beautiful. Ask for a room that is not on the corner and you may not be bothered by the beeping.

Room Tip: Room 743 is HUGE but it is on the bus corner and you will hear beeping day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Lynn,

Thank you for your consideration of our hotel for both your stay and your comments. Both are welcome and at all times. You gave some solid tips to Trip Advisor officianados on what makes their stay exceptional. As we all know, everyone has different criteria by which they judge this but most agree with your assessment of our physical beauty; even at 102 years old!

We hope that on the next visit you will inform us of your preferences in advance so that we can better curate an experience that is made even more memorable! Let's not allow too much time to pass until then!

Thank you and safe travels,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After seeing pictures of the hotel, and reading reviews of the US Grant prior to our stay I was very excited about our visit. What a disappointment! I think that most of the "excellent" reviews were customers that stayed in the upgraded rooms, because our floor had filthy carpets in the hallway with a very questionable smell, and rooms that needed some "TLC." The bathroom was updated and very beautiful, but the rest of the room was in need of serious updating. I do appreciate the charm of a "historic hotel" as much as anyone else, but the rooms were not what I expected after reading the reviews. However, to be honest, everything else in the hotel was wonderful...the staff was fantastic, the lobby and work-out room were great, and the location is perfect! I am truly sad that we didn't have a better experience with our room! I don't think that I would ever stay there again, but I'm guessing that the upgraded rooms on the upgraded floor seem to be the way to ensure a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear JANDC007,

We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with us last October. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us especially since you are a seasoned traveller. We invite you to stay with us again so we could have the opportunity to provide you with a room that is both comfortable and exceptional. You may reach me at oug.korn@luxurycollection.com.

Sincerely,
Douglas Korn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for his birthday and were delightfully impressed at this hotel.
Old but beautiful interior, check in was simple, quick and we were to our room within five minutes of arriving and valet parking the car.
Room was beautiful with a large bathroom (lovely shower).
Comfy Westin bed with lots of pillows.
Within walking distance of everything in the Gaslamp District.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goalie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at many of the hotels throughout San Diego and the US Grant is one of the best.
Although the Hotel is old it has been updated and has many of the modern amenities you come to expect from a Starwood Property. I am a gold member and was upgraded to a suite without the normal begging process that sometimes has to occur. The suite was spacious and had a small living room area that was separated by a short wall so it was still open to the bed area. the bathroom was a little dirty and there was a problem with the shower but overall it was nice.
The room was quiet and comfortable and I include quiet because many of the room in the gas lamp area are a bit noisy. I would say this is a hotel for corporate travelers and older couples to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarteBlancWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very elegant hotel in the middle of San Diego. Just a walk away from shops and every type of bar and restaurant you could want. Helpful concierge if you need to find anything. Large comfortable rooms although our bathroom was very small with not much space to put anything. And important for us it was near the ship terminal as we were picking up a cruise from there.
Would recommend the hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
311 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $179 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing