We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just an excellent hotel but also an even better restaurant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Tried to check in early and didn't have any luck, but had a bit of adventure with the luggage that day and the bellman didn't make it for the appt. to take it down for check-out. But that's all as far as it goes for not excellent. Grant's Grill is outstanding. If my beef tenderloin with marrow had been hot instead of warm I may have been more impressed, but the cut was the best I have ever had. Everything else was a good as it gets, including value and service. Outstanding wine pairing deal for dinner.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to deluxe for a quiet night. Beds are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I had a great getaway to The US Grant Hotel in San Diego. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, and has so much character. I think that is what distinguishes this hotel from the many many choices in the area. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the lobby is gorgeous, and every person on the staff we met was helpful and very accomodating. People who complain about paying $30 for parking... get over it; that is the price you will pay at any hotel in downtown. The US Grant is the most upscale hotel in Gaslamp in my opinion and you cannot go wrong if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very good hotel in a great San Diego location. The mall and the Gas Lamp Quarter are across the street. You won't lack for the variety of shopping, eating or drinking to be sure.

The lobby is beautiful and restored perfectly to the hotel's historic roots.

I found every employee I encountered to be friendly and professional.

The stylish room where I stayed was very good and big enough for our needs. The bathroom, equipped with the latest and trendiest hardware (faucets, shower heads, door knobs, etc), was excellent. The bed was good although I've slept in better hotel beds (the Waldorf Astoria for example).

I have deducted one star from my rating due to the loud HVAC. Yes, the street noise is loud--I heard emergency vehicles, the street cars rambling down Broadway, and the homeless quarreling in Horton Plaza, all these the hotel cannot control. But the HVAC I assume is new and therefore shouldn't be loud. Another reason for the deduction are for the small things that if fixed, could really plus the hotel for better a guest experience. These small things include: (1) Windows need to be dual pane as other have mentioned. (2) There was a lack of drawer space to store clothing, forcing you to use your luggage as an ad hoc dresser. This gets tiring if you stay more than a couple of days. (3) From what I can tell you had to pay to print your boarding pass. It's a good thing the airport is close. Still, printing a boarding pass has been a free, routine service in every hotel I've ever stayed in.

All in all, my stay was very good and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJulioAnejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday travelling througth California and stayed at the US Grant for our last 3 days. We found the staff to be really helpful through-out our stay. The concierge was really helpful and gave us great tips for local restaurants to try all of which were great. The hotel is in a good location and it is easy to walk to the local area's/restaurants. We had a great time and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and this gave us a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The US Grant has served as a romantic getaway for my wife and I for several years. It has never disappointed!! It is one of the most Historic and Romantic places you will find in San Diego in addition to exceptional service, immaculate facilities and beautiful rooms. Not to mention close proximity to anything downtown, 5-10 min walk (or bike cab), 15-20 min to SD attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes quality.

While there are plenty of dinning options downtown, and I've tried plenty, the Grant Grill is in its own special category. Alberto, the Grill manager, knows exactly what the restaurant experience should be and doesn't disappoint. Make sure you strike a conversation when he approaches your table and ask him to recommend one of the Grill's own coctail creations. You can spend your entire stay at the hotel if you so desire...as we did.

The US Grant is absolutely amazing-without question!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to Horton Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend the weekend at the U.S. Grant. The hotel is in an ideal location, downtown. There is really no need to use your vehcle once it is parked. Great restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. The staff at U.S. Grant is friendly, helpful and professional. The U.S. Grant staff seems to anticipate all of your needs and address them promptly! The rates are very reasonable for the ammenties that this hotel offers. In short, my wife and I had a wonderful experience at the U.S. Grant and couldn't be happier with the time that we were fortunate enough to be their guests!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights here last month. Service was impeccable. Valets offer to fill your ice chest when leaving and provide bottled water for your trip. Turndown service at night. Right across street from bar which has something like 135 beers on tap. Did not have a pool. Room was good sized and comfortable. Bathroom was nice, included robes and a scale. No pool, which was a downer. Great location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnSmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
461 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $216 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing