We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel, great location”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The US Grant is a historic hotel on the edge of the Gaslamp district. We were able to walk all around the Gaslamp from there. Proximity to the freeway and all SD attractions was good. Our room was not very large but well equipped with everything we could want. Loved how they provide a lot of towels, I normally have to ask for extra, but not here. The check-in process was smooth and the hotel staff was courteous and attentive. As has been previously stated, the valet parking is a bit steep, that would be the one negative, but I knew that going in. Overall a great experience, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,467)
There are newer reviews for The US Grant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful building. One must read the five stages of the hotels history posted in the lobby.
Nicest place we have stayed in San Diego.
room decor is unique but truly lovely. It felt like a mix of five star hotel with a real home's luxury touches.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Greetings Alana N,

thank you for taking the time to soak in some of the remarkable history of our hotel. As you have come to experience there is more to this hotel than what immediately meets the eye! Rest assured that with each stay you will tear through another layer of exploration.

Come visit again soon and allow us to curate another fine experience of delightful suprises.

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The US Grant is a very elegant hotel in the heart of downtown San Diego. Within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, Seaport Village; Horton Plaza is across the street; easy access to the freeway, Balboa Park, and the San Diego Zoo. The room and bathroom are huge and the service is really attentive. My only gripe is that our room faced 4th St. and Broadway, and it was a bit noisy when the ambulance and fire trucks would go by. Because it's a historical building, the old wood windows remain. It doesn't appear that the windows are double-paned. I hope that won't deter some people from going because it was a minor thing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This past weekend we stayed at the US Grant to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Last time we stayed here we booked into the Signature Suite - which was fantastic. I was a little hesitant to book their basic room for this visit, but the price was right. We were not disappointed - we loved the room. The whole hotel was spotless. The front desk personnel were very friendly and efficient. The staff came in and made up our room twice in one day. Once to give us water and later in the evening to give us more water and turn down the bed - leaving us nice chocolates. I had used some ice earlier in the day for a soda. When we came back to the room after dinner, the turn down person had even refilled our ice bucket with fresh ice. That was just a nice extra touch. The hotel is beautiful, very relaxing and a great location if you want to walk around downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this hotel not knowing it was aligned with SPG; being a platinum member got me free internet and a continental breakfast for two. The gentleman at the front desk was more than helpful and even suggested a local place to eat & drink.

The room was exquisite and charming. It had a good sized bathroom, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xCrucifierx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel that truly lives up to it's designation as one of the luxury hotels of the world. The public areas are elegant and tastefully done. I especially enjoyed the displays of the history of the hotel and how the Native American peoples of the area are now the current owners. I did not like the $35 per day valet parking fee but as it turned out it was well worth it as my car would not start the morning of my departure. The valet took care of everything; first they tried to jump the car and when that didn't work I just handed them my Auto Club card and they took care of the whole process and then brought me my car ready to go. Very helpful! I thought the bedroom was luxurious and comfortable. Room service was prompt and the coffee was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We checked into the Grant for a long weekend. The hotel, staff and restaurant were excellent. We had a large suite-type room with a comfortable mattress. There were plenty of outlets to plug in the various electronics. Huge shower (8'x8'). Rooms were quiet and clean. Very happy with it. The staff was helpful with directions, getting us some water, and restaurant recommendations. The hotel is centrally located - we took the train into town and easily walked the 3-4 blocks to the hotel. We walked to the gas lamp, Petco Park and Seaport Village. A nice getaway hotel for sure! We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Greetings Peaceman,

thank you for your compliment of our ambassador's efforts to secure you both a comfortable stay but also one highlighted by a corteous and kind demeanor! As this was the perception of your child we take this genuinely as they are the toughest to fool!

Thank you and please come visit us again,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $173 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing