We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
398
323
155
60
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
323
155
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mcrd graduation marine graduation room was clean underground parking within walking distance shuttle service yogurt free breakfast free shuttle nice pool easy access pool and hot tub would stay here again third floor air conditioner checking in per night
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 974 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights as part of a 3 week road trip. The important things to us are cleanliness, comfort, convenience, quietness and location. La Quinta Old Town ticked all of those boxes and we so much enjoyed the hospitity of both the hotel and the city of San Diego. Our room was a twin queen room on the second floor away from the highway side so we heard no traffic noise at all. The room was equipped with everything we needed. The nightly parking fee came as a bit of a surprise, but I had managed to get a good rate to stay at the hotel which offset this fee. Good hotel none the less, and perfect for road trippers!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hello LyeCon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us at La Quinta Old Town. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience in all of the areas that are important to you when you travel! We will always do our best to merit your trust because we know you have a choice in where to stay and appreciate you choosing La Quinta to be a part of your road trip. Thank you for being our guests and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mercy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

The quality of La Quinta hotels vary depending on where you travel--likewises, the quality of customer service also varies--we have stayed at different ones and have experienced from very poor customer service to areas where you'd think you're at a 5-star hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank mespin0za1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hi mespin0za1,
I am sorry to hear that we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations and our high standards during your stay. We want you to have a positive experience and we will use your feedback to make necessary improvements to our operation. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Mercy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

I stopped Gilberto and asked where we could get extra towels for the pool (it was in the morning and the clean ones hadn't been set out yet). I asked "are you with housekeeping?" He said "no, I'm with maintenence, but I will make sure you get your towels." Five minute later he arrived to the pool with fresh clean towels. He Could have said "sorry, not my department", but he didn't; he went above and beyond to make sure we (including my cold children at the pool), had what we needed. Kudos to you Gilberto!!! Great customer service!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank nikkisixx24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Hi nikkisixx24,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience and for mentioning Gilberto specifically in your positive service experience review. I am very happy to hear he provided you with exceptional service and provided you with the towels you needed while you and your family were enjoying your time at the pool. Providing exceptional service is one of our top priorities and I will be certain to share your experience with the team so we can thank him and celebrate him on the great service he provided. Thank you again for your feedback, and thank you for being our guests.

Mercy W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

They will charge you for an In-room safe, two types of tourism taxes, parking is $12/day, they let non-guests use the pool. None of these charges appear on the website so beware. They also eon't honor a Government rate on Friday nights.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank 315suzanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hi 315suzanneh,
I was able to look into your folio and the Government rate was listed on the receipt. I will be happy to send you a duplicate copy of your folio. I will reply again with the correction to your other review, as some nights may not have it available, but in this case, the Government rate was not blacked out and it was applied to your booking. I am sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with our hotel fees. The Tourism fees for the City and State are a tax that is required for us to post, please trust it is not an additional fee that we as a hotel decide to add to the taxes for each room reservation. Thank you for sharing your feedback and thank you for being our guest. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Mercy W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We usually spend a weekend with family here at the end of the summer. We like the location of this property as well as the rates offered.
The pool is nice and the staff seems to work hard to keep the grounds clean. We would like to see more umbrellas around the pool to provide more shade and maybe more tables for families to gather.
We had a deluxe king room which seemed kind of small but comfortable. The hotel offers a microwave and a mini frig which is great. The complimentary breakfast is great too. They offer eggs, meat, cereal, breads, waffles, coffee and juices.
Our only complaint is the bathroom counter space is so small! That seemed to be the only place to plug in the small coffee maker too. There really wasn't a place to put clothes and nowhere to hang towels either. The towels are nice and thick. The king bed and pillows were nice. It seemed like the shower/bath was new also. Overall-good value and loved being so close to Old Town San Diego.

Room tip: Try to stay away from rooms facing the pool-can be noisy sometimes.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Skamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hello Skamom,
Thank you for being our guest once again, it is great to welcome you back! We appreciate your time taken to share your experience and details of your stay at La Quinta. Your recommendations will not go unheard or unappreciated, thank you for sharing these as well. The coffee maker may be plugged into the outlet near the desk or tables in the rooms. Thank you once again for your review and for your continued loyalty.

Mercy W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews