We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
383
313
151
56
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
313
151
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanunderground parkingmcrd graduationwithin walking distanceshuttle serviceyogurtfree breakfasteasy accessthird floornice poolroom ratehot tubair conditionerchecking insea worldbalboa parkfreeway
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 938 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

They will charge you for an In-room safe, two types of tourism taxes, parking is $12/day, they let non-guests use the pool. None of these charges appear on the website so beware. They also eon't honor a Government rate on Friday nights.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank 315suzanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hi 315suzanneh,
I was able to look into your folio and the Government rate was listed on the receipt. I will be happy to send you a duplicate copy of your folio. I will reply again with the correction to your other review, as some nights may not have it available, but in this case, the Government rate was not blacked out and it was applied to your booking. I am sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with our hotel fees. The Tourism fees for the City and State are a tax that is required for us to post, please trust it is not an additional fee that we as a hotel decide to add to the taxes for each room reservation. Thank you for sharing your feedback and thank you for being our guest. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Mercy W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We usually spend a weekend with family here at the end of the summer. We like the location of this property as well as the rates offered.
The pool is nice and the staff seems to work hard to keep the grounds clean. We would like to see more umbrellas around the pool to provide more shade and maybe more tables for families to gather.
We had a deluxe king room which seemed kind of small but comfortable. The hotel offers a microwave and a mini frig which is great. The complimentary breakfast is great too. They offer eggs, meat, cereal, breads, waffles, coffee and juices.
Our only complaint is the bathroom counter space is so small! That seemed to be the only place to plug in the small coffee maker too. There really wasn't a place to put clothes and nowhere to hang towels either. The towels are nice and thick. The king bed and pillows were nice. It seemed like the shower/bath was new also. Overall-good value and loved being so close to Old Town San Diego.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms facing the pool-can be noisy sometimes.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Skamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hello Skamom,
Thank you for being our guest once again, it is great to welcome you back! We appreciate your time taken to share your experience and details of your stay at La Quinta. Your recommendations will not go unheard or unappreciated, thank you for sharing these as well. The coffee maker may be plugged into the outlet near the desk or tables in the rooms. Thank you once again for your review and for your continued loyalty.

Mercy W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

A/C units need fixing so it doesn't feel humid inside the hotel room. The shower drains do not flow fast so water stays while you are showing. Rooms, pool and parking lot are very small. We had to park behind the hotel and walk the street at night to get to our room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank roniandboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi roniandboos,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not have as great of an experience as we hoped you would. I will share your AC unit and shower drain concerns with my maintenance team, please accept our sincere apologies that these issues arose and caused you any inconvenience. Thank you for being our guests, we hope to welcome you again and have the opportunity to better serve you and provide you with a better experience.

Mercy W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This location is central to San Diego. We had a room facing the freeway so it was noisy. Try to avoid that. Kids were screaming, and I mean screaming in the pool until 9 pm playing Marco Polo. I called the desk and they said the pool was open until 9. That game should not be allowed. Staff was friendly and breakfast was decent. The internet was good.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hi Linda B, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were less than pleased with your stay. We will be happy to place you in a more quiet location if we have one available during your next stay. We do our best to ensure each of our guests are satisfied and we are happy that we had some happy guests and their children enjoying the pool on the warm days we have been experiencing. We close our pool at 9pm to encourage quiet time as to not disturb our other guests who may be sleeping or needing to sleep soon. I am happy to hear my staff provided you with great service and that you enjoyed some of our amenities. Thank you for being our guest.

Mercy W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

There was some confusion with our reservation. The manager put forth every effort to correct the situation which she did. All the staff members were friendly as they completed their tasks. Our room was clean and comfortable. Great location!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank michaelfS8593VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0611GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Hello MichaelfS8593W,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how positive your stay was. It was a pleasure to welcome you to La Quinta and to be at your service to remedy the reservation issues you experienced. Providing clean and comfortable service is important to us for your overall satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for being our guests.

Mercy W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews