We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, no wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Ranked #93 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed a this hotel for 2 nights during our holidays exploring California. The hotel is nice, the bedrooms are big with very comforable beds and all of them have mini fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker machine.
A very decent breakfast (toasts, eggs, muffins, waffles and fruits) is included in the price, however the parking is not included; it costs 10 usd per day which is cheap when compared to other hotels.
On the upper floor there is a laundry room, which is very useful and works perfeclty.
Too bad the hotel wifi does not work on smartphones... kind of essential in 2012...
If you decide to stay here ask for bedrooms on upper floors, as the hotel is next to a highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time in reviewing La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport and letting other travelers know about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that our hotel was “nice.” We are also glad you found the bedrooms to be “big,” were also able to enjoy the “comfortable bed, and were able to enjoy the rest of our amenities such as the microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. We are also glad you took advantage of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We do provide free wireless internet for all our guests so it is frustrating that it was not working for your smartphone. Please know that your issue is being addressed with our staff so that we are able to improve our service to future guests. Thank you again for reviewing La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport and we hope to see you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 805 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
San Diego
1
Reviewed March 6, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I respect that the hotel recommends you use their parking due to the low light street parking and the concern of crime, but 10 dollars seems excessive. Also a full size car barely fits into the spots in the parking spots.

AAA and most web based services fail to mention this 10 fee which is a shame .

Hotel is only a 15-20 min walk to the heart of Old Town and a 10 -15 min walk to the tip of the tourest area, but the walk from the hotel is not well lit ... so have street smarts if you go out at night.

The is hotel airport shuttle service, but only at the top of the hour.

Internet is weak.

Some food and ther garbage piles in the halls

Room Tip: Do not stary near the pool unless you plan to go to bed after 11 for it gets noicy. Do not get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professional99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing the time to review your recent stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town. We also thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Guests like you only make our job easier so for us to address items and fix them. I can understand how frustrating it must have been to find out about an additional parking fee if it was not mentioned on the AAA website. We do our best to let guest know about the parking fee and mention it on our official website, but we will do our best to work with other websites as some web based services do not let us list our fees and policies. We are also disheartened to hear that there were garbage piles in the halls. We strive to do our best in providing a hotel that is well kept and maintained and to say the least what you experienced is the exception and not the rule for the service we provide at the hotel. We are fortunate to have a complimentary scheduled shuttle to offer to all our guests to the airport and are also fortunate to be within walking distance to many restaurants and shops of Old Town and are glad you took advantage of the distance. We again thank you for taking the time to review the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport as all guest feedback is invaluable to us in providing guests quality service. We hope you will re-consider staying with us in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We got a good deal on Hotwire for a one night stay (the day before we went to Sea World). In sum, if you pay $100 or less per night for this hotel, I can sort of recommend it, but you should not pay more. Location: a reasonably brief walk to Old Town though you cross into a couple of block of low lit streets on your way there, and you do have very quick access to the 5 fwy and are only minutes from Sea World and downtown SD. Parking: not near enough.......they were kind and did let us park overnight in the 'check-in' spot since the undergound garage was totally full (we checked in at 7pm), I am not sure what the people who checked in later than us did for parking?? There is a smallish but clean pool and spa in the central courtyard and the room itself...totally basic. Average maintenance, furnishings and cleanliness. There was a continential breakfast included, but we already had breakfast plans so I can't comment on that. In sum, average place in all regards, so price becomes the key decider as to whether to stay there or not.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenJonesOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the La Quinta Inn Old Town. We appreciate all guest feedback as it is invaluable to us as we continue to strive in providing our guests quality service, and comfortable and well maintained rooms. Yes, we are fortunately to be within walking distance to the heart of Old Town and are centrally located to places such as San Diego SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, and Downtown San Diego. We do offer a continental deluxe breakfast with “make your own” Belgian Waffles and are sorry that you were not able to take advantage of that. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to us and would like to let you know that your concerns have been addressed with our staff. With that said, we would also like to take this time to let you know that we are upgrading and “refreshing” all our rooms this spring so we hope that you will come visit us in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank ckm542
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
1
Reviewed February 23, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at LaQuinta for a health conference I was attending - there was a bus which was arranged to pick us up at this hotel and bring us back so we stayed here...even though there are other choices in the area. It is a little tricky to see the entrance from the road so go slowly if you are driving. The parking garage was never packed so there was never a problem...and it was under ground to boot. Checking in and checking out was wonderful, with very friendly folks. Our room was adequate and clean....and meeting staff in the halls was always pleasant with "good morning" or "good evening". We did not have breakfast there so can't comment on that. Be sure to ask for a room not facing the highway. We faced the pool area which was in a festive mood (expected) in the evenings, but quieted down by 10:30 so no issue here. We will actually be in San Diego in April for a couple of days and will be booking here again because of the location....oh, yes, make sure you go to the "old town", yes a walk up a little hill, but we are not out of shape like some people who complained about it so it didn't bother us. The very friendly folks at the front desk make wonderful restaurant recommendations. We ate too much...but we will go back in April. :) For the price you pay for a room, there is value. We usually stay at the Four Seasons, but we did not expect Four Seasons luxury so keep that in mind. The friendly staff however was on par though.

Room Tip: Not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My_lover_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport and letting other valued guests know about your stay. We are pleased to hear that our hotel was “great for what you needed.” We are also happy to hear that the checking in/out process was wonderful and that our staff was very friendly. You are correct, we are not the “Four Seasons” and do not have their type of luxury, but we do take pride in providing exceptional guest experiences, and well maintained rooms and are happy that there was not a day during your visit that was an exception to this. We are also delighted to hear that you took advantage of our location and took a visit to Old Town. We again thank you for investing the time to tell other travelers about your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We look forward to having you as a guest again in April. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Western Inn
#122 of 286 in San Diego
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport

Address: 2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110-3016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $98 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing