We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #61 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A little high priced, however the view was great! The staff and service was exceptional. The room was a little dated, but clean and plenty large enough. ( Had a room with two doubles. ) Asked for Crib and got right away, as well as foam pillows and extra towels. Everyone was very helpful and eager to accomodate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you Debbie G for your very kind comments. We are thrilled that you took advantage of booking one of our rooms overlooking San Diego Bay. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we greatly appreciate you recognizing their fantastic service. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

We traveled with our dog and the entire staff was very welcoming and friendly. This hotel is located only a few minutes from the airport, marinas and several restaurants. The hotel restaurant and bar also overlooks one of the Marinas. There is a great walking/jogging path along the bay that provides fantastic views of the U.S. Naval ships entering and exiting the base.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you Theodore S for the 5 star review! We enjoy welcoming pets to our property and watching them enjoy the park across the street on the water. Our housekeeping staff does a tremendous job of maintaining our guestrooms, especially if a pet was present. Our deep cleaning staff gets into every room after a pet has checked out. Thank you and we look forward to having you and your pet back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice place. Pricey of course, at $300 + per night, but very nice. We had a 1BR suite w 2 baths. Decadent tiled shower with "bedroom sized" en suite bathroom. Maid service requests...we called, put the phone back in the cradle, the door knocked! A little eery! Like they had someone stationed outside the door waiting to cater to us. We were on the top (9th) floor on the corner, so it was very quiet. We did find paper coffe cups a little bit a let down considering the decadence of the room otherwise. Great place. Would stay again for longer period if budget allows.

Room Tip: top floor, end for quietness. We had room 927.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotwired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you hotwired for the 5 star review! We greatly appreciate your business and are glad you took advantage of one of our spacious suites. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a flight canceled, so ended up overnighting here Monday night as I usually stay at Hiltons as a Diamond member. Enjoyed the stay. Staff was great, Rooms are smaller than newer hotels, but look like they have been recently renovated and are quite nice. The views from the upper floor balconies are quite nice. The only complaint I had, and I'm guessing was specific to the corner room I had on the 8th floor, was that the noise above me was almost unbearable at times. I don't think there was a room above me, it seemed like there was a maintenance room or a housekeeping room. All I heard for hours was walking and things being pushed or dragged across the floor. Luckily I was exhausted and eventually fell asleep, I was too tired to ask for a room change, so a little of my fault. I don't recommend that room. This is why I couldn't give 5 stars. Otherwise, the hotel is in a great location with a great staff. And I ate ate at a great restaurant, Tom Ham's Lighthouse, right down the street.

Room Tip: High floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your positive experience on TripAdvisor. We are thankful for your loyalty to Hilton as Diamond member. Our location on San Diego Bay and close proximity to the Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo and the airport make our property stand out from others. We are not located under the flight making our location on Harbor Island tranquil. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I could not enjoy this any more than I did, especially because of a very attentive front desk manager. His name is Jeffry Marshall and he was fantastic about every facet of the hotel visit. He made sure everything was the best for me. Please ask for his help when visiting this property. The views, the sail boats , everything was supercalafragalistic. Oh, visit this property.

Room Tip: ask for a marina suite with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent clean hotel. Our room was fairly large with great view of harbor. Nice balcony to see sunset or sunrise. Pool was pristine and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Quiet hotel. We stayed next door at Sheraton for 2 nights and was very happy to have switched to Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you Kieth S! We greatly appreciate you 5 star review. As you mentioned all of our staff takes great pride in the service they provide whether in housekeeping or in the kitchen. Our staff is dedicated to serving our guests and our goal is to ensure that every guest that leaves is satisfied. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It seemed that out every window no matter where you were you had a view of the Marina at it was so peaceful and quiet. The service was excellent from the front of the hotel to the back of the hotel everyone was there to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank sa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 286 in San Diego
2,882 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,184 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $164 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing