We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #60 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Easy access to freeways and local attractions. Staff very helpful. Very nice, clean, airy room on the ocean view side. Very pleasant on the balcony for morning coffee & afternoon & evening watching all kinds of ships & aircraft. Good menu for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Wait staff very helpful as was chef.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you Dennis K for the five star review! All of our guestrooms have private patios for those looking to take in the sea air and picturesque views. Thank you again and we cannot wait to welcome you bacK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    298
    106
    29
    14
See reviews for
179
241
54
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed @ this location during our summer vacation. The view from the bayside was spectacular! Spacious room! Clean & comfortable! Delicious breakfast buffet! Convenient to airport, car rental, restaurants, zoo & shopping! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarsha1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you tarsha1963 for staying with us and for taking the time to review your great experience! We are happy you took full advantage of our location on San Diego Bay and had a great vacation. We look forward to having you back soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and I'm always happy when I leave. The staff consistently goes out of their way to make sure that happens. The room are spacious and very clean and the views are awesome. Once when I arrived I wasn't thrilled with my room, called the front desk and they scrambled to find a better room for me! The location is great too, sometimes their is airport traffic but you avoid the congestion you may get staying downtown even though you are a two minute drive from downtown. On a nice day there are dozens of boats in the harbor. This hotel is my first choice when visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: Book a harbor or marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you David C for your loyalty to the Hilton Harbor Island! Our location on the waterfront and the service we provide makes us a great choice for travelers. Each and every one of our staff members take great pride in guest service and we are thrilled you recognized them Thank you again and we look forward to many more visits. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and nice and a good Hilton property. The location was wonderful. It was convenient to the airport and downtown. There is no beach access but there is a nice pool and the hotel is next to a nice marina. There is a nice board walk to stoll along every evening or morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Coradando.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you AggieVixen for your great review! We are pleased you were able to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Our central location on San Diego Bay offers our guests many activities and attractions to chose from, whether it be water sports our just enjoying a stroll along the water front. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My flight was cancelled so I stayed at the Hilton. I had no luggage but the staff set me up with everything I needed. Ben the bellman was really nice and made some great suggestions on places to go. Overall a great experience and the room was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 711tracyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Than you 711stacyc for the five star rating! We greatly appreciate your patronage and are pleased you enjoyed our property with 360 degrees of San Diego Bay and the Marina. Ben has been recognized for his superior service, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is great if you have an early morning flight. You can have a bay view or marina view, I am partial to the bay view. There is a Boathouse Restaurant within walking distance.

Staff is always polite & helpful

Room Tip: I like the bayview rooms with a view of North Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you MrsCritter for your wonderful review! We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We greatly appreciate the kind words about our staff as they take great pride in the service they provide. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Readers, I travel for business and tend to leave reviews on things that matter to me as a business traveler. So keep that in mind as you read this review! Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. I rate it 4/5 or very good. Could be a great location for a family vacation base of operations as well. Here is the good:

- very friendly staff at check in
- beautiful view from any direction but ask for a marina view
- in room wireless internet free and fast
- elevators are fast
- standard in room coffee, but no water expect $5 bottles
- fitness room in good condition, 2 eliptical and 3 treadmills and weights
- great nearby and outdoor options for jogging/walking right by the harbor though
- you can open room patio door to open for fresh air
- breakfast buffet is good, but spendy @ $20 ( I expense)

The not so good:

- water saver shower head, so lower water pressure. I like a good strong shower.
- bed I would rate just ok. Not new, not extraordinary or adjustable, but comfortable.
- you need to you use your key to get in and out of parking so that is a bit of a hassle
- $20+ parking a night. i expense but may be spendy for personal vacay

Room Tip: Ask for Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you Mark W for your detailed review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our property on beautiful San Diego Bay. As you stated in your review our property caters to both the business traveler and families looking for a peaceful getaway. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Property: Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing