We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #59 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is great as an Airport option. I wouldn't use it as a base for a long stay in San Diego but as a place to catch a flight it's very nice.

The rooms have amazing view of the city and the grounds are very nice, safe, and clean. The on site dining is very good and the staff there was great. The rooms, bathroom, and balcony were all very clean and quiet and provided a nice room for the night.

The shuttle to the airport was SUPER efficient and got us there within 5 minutes and picked up in the same time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadresDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our restaurant, Sierra Pacific, and our amenities and services. We have a great, central location on San Diego Bay putting us just a few miles from many attractions. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely location, with plenty of amenities. Parking a bit steep at $21 per day, but overall a nice hotel with a great view in all directions. San Diego has the best climate in the country. IF you haven't been to San Diego, La Jolla and the area you should put it on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Herman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for staying with us taking the time to review your experience. We enjoyed reading your comments regarding our beautiful location and weather. We look forward toward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were in awe of the view from our king 1-bedroom suite...2 balconies!! Full view of the harbor, Coronado, North Island, Point Loma, and downtown. We saw a dolphin and a sea lion, plus lots of sea birds. The living area was spacious, with a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, sofa, expansive desk, and TV. The bedroom was also large with lots of storage; the attached bathroom had a huge walk-in shower and lots of space. The biggest surprise, however, was the 2nd bathroom! It was a standard small hotel bathroom but very functional and a great shower head (much better than the one in the huge stand-alone shower!). The hotel staff were beyond cordial--everyone we met in the halls, at the restaurant, and at the desk demonstrated real warmth, sincerity, and a true welcome. They were in the process of replacing all the mattresses/box springs--and the new ones are great! The breakfast buffet was super, really high quality items and superb service. The croissants were intensely flaky and delicious. Housekeeping here does a really great job, the room was super-clean and fresh. Pool area is really nice, although it is small, it is maintained well. The fitness room had a nice variety of machines and was very clean. The only complaint is with the efficacy of their air conditioning--it did not work well at all. When I brought this to their attention, they sent someone from engineering right away. He did make improvements (and was very nice, friendly, professional) although I think their system needs to be replaced or seriously modernized. Overall this was an excellent property in an amazing location and we were very pleased with our stay. We will definitely return. "Poor" ratings for kids activities and spa are because there are no spa facilities, and I saw no evidence of kids activities beyond the pool.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get the harbor view room--but the way the hotel is constructed, there are no bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyNotLeaveHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you WhyNotLeaveHome for the great review! We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially our new beds! Thank you again and we look forward toward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Super close to the airport, HUGE, immaculate rooms and common areas, comfy beds, good amenities, extremely friendy staff... Couldn't ask for a better stay. Thanks for the upgrade to a marina view room :) I'll definitely be back!
P.s. I forgot to check the name of here gentleman checking me in on 12.21 around 4pm but he was definitely an asset to your team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you HeatherF75 for staying with us taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring bring you back to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very pleased with the location. Being an airport Hotel in the title, this Hotel has a great location. very, very close to the airport, however without the airport feel. Views of the marina, and downtown skyline and the coronado bridge! Awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you Martin F for staying with us and the five star rating! We are pleased that you enjoyed our quiet location and scenic views. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of San Diego. Close to every attraction you would be interested in seeing while exploring beautiful San Diego. The hotel is located on the harbor so you have a wonderful view of the Marina, The City and Coronado. The staff has greatly improved since the last time I was there earlier this year. I would like to say a special thank you to Kendall, she was the first contact I had entering the hotel, she checked me in with no issues and it was literally a 60 second process, she had a wonderful attitude & offered to give me any information I needed throughout my stay in regards to local restaurants or attractions. Kendall also told me about a Christmas Boat show that would be happening right on the Harbor, she told me the time & that I would have a great view from my room & offered to call me to let me to remind me...so sweet & so kind. I had previously stayed here & was not given this type of treatment. I must say many changes have been made & I felt the difference just walking in the front door! Thank you Kendall, it's people like you who make a difference in a person's choice to come back to a hotel or to make another choice. You have an amazing sense of dealing with guests & providing excellent customer service. Ok so back to the physical hotel, its gorgeous, the rooms are perfect & have balconies so its so easy to enjoy the view without leaving your room, they have these really cute patio sets so you can just watch the sunset or sunrise or just watch the boats as they go by. I really love the Harbor Island Hilton because it's very close to the gaslamp district, and many stores if you need to pick up some last minute items. Thank you Harbor Island Hilton, you made my weekend vacation extremely comfortable & peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you applepie2001 for your five star rating! We enjoyed reading that your second stay with us was enjoyable and you experienced our Hilton the way most of our guests do. All of your comments have been shared with our staff, especially Kendall. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Clean, quiet and priced reasonably. Staff very helpful. Close to the airport and transportation was available. Hotel has a great view of the slips where boats are moored. Recommend this hotel to anyone and next trip to San Diego we will stay at the Hilton again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you Dave G for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We will see you soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 279 in San Diego
2,744 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $128 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing