We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #59 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The only setback was getting a room on the third floor with a less than fabulous view. Were told the hotel was full and couldn't be offered another room. Other than that we were satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. Our property offers some of the best views in San Diego as we are located on San Diego Bay overlooking Point Loma, the city skyline and the marina. We hope that you reserve one of our scenic view rooms on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A comfortable hotel in a wonderful environment. The service was outstanding everywhere. The restaurant was uncommonly outstanding. What a great place to relax. The views are awesome and the people really try hard to make you feel comfortable and welcomed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank allen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you allen e for the five star review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specifically our restaurant, Sierra Pacific. Thank you again and we look forward towards your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is only for those who have an early flight out of San Diego or have a boat docked at the Marina. It has no amenities, poor room service both in quality and thoughtfulness. As a Diamond member there were no on site extras.
I will say that the dining room staff was very friendly, but that did not make up for the rest of the stay.
A cramped room with a wonderful view. A view ruined by the preponderance of smokers out on the decks letting smoke waft into any open window.
I had a shower head that was lower than eye level and I'm 5' 10" and a phone that did not work. When I called down there was no remedy. I had to use my cellphone.

When I told Marco about the problems, I was asked what I wanted and what did I expect him to do.
Well, what I expect is for the management to see this review now.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBuksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your review DBuksh. We appreciate your valuable feedback. Because of your HHonors Diamond status your were given a complimentary upgrade to one of our Harbor View rooms as well as complimentary breakfast.

Our property is a 100% non smoking facility including on the guestroom balconies. Occasionally, guests choose to ignore our non smoking standard. Once reported these guests are immediately contacted and can be charged for smoking on the balconies. We regret that you only reported the smoking on your departure eliminating our chance of addressing the issue.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and you can see the Harbor or Marina from most places in the hotel. It is also extremely convenient to the airport and they offer free shuttle service to and from the airport which was a huge bonus. The only downside was that you had to pay for parking your car which was like $21.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maryjo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we greatly appreciate the five star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views and convenient services from our waterfront property. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great hotel close to everything in San Diego, minutes from the airport with a beautiful location that you wouldn't know was that close to a major airport. Truly enjoyed the stay hotel has everything you need to enjoy time in San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you Joseph H for the five star review! We are delighted that you found our location on San Diego Bay wonderful. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward toward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent a night here before flying out to return to our home. It is very near the Airport but we were not bothered by noise. Did not use the pool so cannot comment. Enjoyed a nice afternoon walk the length of the Island .
We were on the ninth floor (top ) , and although our room did not have a balcony (most do ) we had an incredible view, of both the marina, and the Bay,against the backdrop of the city. The bed was comfortable, and room was clean. It is an older hotel but totally renovated, We enjoyed a very nice fish dinner in their dining room. There is also a pleasant bar/lounge area with outdoor seating if desired. Good value for the excellent price I found on line (prepaid $109.00 ) We returned our rental car prior to going to the hotel, and Avis actually drove us to the hotel, so no parking fee or taxi fare. We used the shuttle over to the airport in the am. It starts at 0400! Would stay here again , it met all our needs .

Room Tip: Get upper floor room Ask for Bay side and a balcony Lots of action going on in the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I believe the first time I stayed fell short of my expectactions as far as houskeeping and Maintenance however when i retuened a few dyas later to stay in a different room it was almost prefect. I did not report the cleaning issues or maint due to the fact that I believed it would have taken quite some time and i was exhausted from flying east to west coast. Great and beautiful hotel, friendly staff from the front door to the bar area. Very clean grounds and the view whichever side you stay on is spectacular

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank TfromVabch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you TfromVabch for the five star review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments. Thank you again and we look forward toward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 278 in San Diego
1,655 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $132 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing