We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit to this Hilton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #53 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Visit to this Hilton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our family took a short vacation back to San Diego and choose to return to the Hilton San Diego Airport / Harbor Island Hotel.
We were greeted by their very friendly and helpful staff, they had our rooms ready, and accommodated our request of connecting rooms!The rooms are very clean, beds very comfortable.
The bonus at this location is their wonderful breakfast buffet, and our favorite waiter, MM was still there, he remembers everyone's selection and makes you feel so at home!
We love this location, it is wonderful to be across from the bay, the Navy ships going in and out to port, and even spotted a friendly sea lion and some dolphins in the bay in front of the hotel!!

Room Tip: Views are so nice from the Bay Side
See more room tips
Green Features: This is important to our family to have a Hotel that recycles and also energy effect lighting.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you Shirley P for the compliments of a return visit and 5 star review! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and thank you for specifically recognizing M&M at our restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    333
    124
    35
    16
See reviews for
203
287
64
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on October 7, 2013 and received a nice 2 double bed room overlooking the harbor. I couldn't believe that they didn't have 2 queen beds in any rooms. The beds were too small but they were comfortable and the pillows were amazing. I was also shocked that there was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel had just been remodeled, but it appears that they went cheap on the luxuries of big beds and refrigerators, or they are just focusing on the airport travelers. The staff was extremely nice but the parking gates malfunctioned several times and one of the employees commented that it happens constantly.
The pool was not heated and freezing and the hot tub was too hot for my family.
The shuttle service to the airport was also great and the front desk lady suggested that I return my rental car the night before departure to avoid the overnight parking fee at the hotel.
Overall it is a very clean and nice place to stay with great staff, but I prefer at least 2 queens and a refrigerator in my room.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and complementing our staff members. We have recently renovated our rooms and public areas and are pleased to let you know that we will be placing refrigerators in all of rooms in the near future. We are happy to accommodate any requests for refrigerators and place them in your room for you. The parking gates do not typically malfunction and I apologize that they did during your visit. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an excellent location for travelers with flights in or out of the San Diego airport. We stayed the night before a cruise departure. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from the airport and cruise terminal. I believe all rooms have either a harbor or ocean view. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for an higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments and review. We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, views and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was very nice, great view of the San Diego Bay and Marina. It was the front desk staff that impressed me though. I'd noted that it was our Anniversary in the comments section on the reservation, never expecting anything to come of it. When my wife and I arrived, first thing the front desk staff did was congratulate us and offer us an upgraded room on a higher floor with a great view of the San Diego harbor. It's the personal touches that your remember and this hotels team sure made a great impression. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank J Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you J Kevin J for the 5 star review! We appreciate you spending your special occasion with us and happy belated anniversary. We hope to see you soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff was very helpful and made our meeting run smooth as silk! Everything we asked for and any last minute changes we needed were handled with a smile. I will return for both business and pleasure and I am a Hilton Diamond member.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RS2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your business and your review. We are pleased to learn that your meeting and stay was wonderful. We are grateful for your loyalty to Hilton as a Diamond VIP. Thank you again and we look forward toward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had many room facility problems: First coffee maker didn't make coffee, Second coffee maker 2 cup option spilled coffee, TV lost all digital format, broken glass, broken light switch, had to plug/unplug to activate. Most items were repaired within 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ctquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you ctquilter for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the condition of the amenities in your guestroom. Although we were able to fix the issues as soon as they were brought to our attention we regret they had to be addressed in the first place. I can assure you that we take great pride in the product we offer and have a detailed room inspection procedure in place. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was wonderful and had a beautiful view of the bay. Very comfortable bedding and furnishings. The continental breakfast is most adequate, although our dinner at the hotel restaurant the previous night was rather ho hum. We ordered Filet Mignon cooked medium...one was overcooked and one was rare. The only drawback was the 21.00 a day parking fee charged if you have a car. I would stay here again for the close proximity to the airport and downtown core.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polishsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you polishsister for the 5 star review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding your breakfast and dinner experience have been shared with our team. Our parking rate of $21.00 is lower than the hotels in the area which charge $25-$60 a night to park. Thank you again and we look forward towards your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Property: Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Address: 1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing