We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2014

First, we loved our stay at the Lafayette. The room was nice and large, fairly sound proof, and the staff was super friendly. You can tell they have spent a lot of money on rehabbing the place and the movie star names for each room is a nice touch. The Hope Lounge serves a nice martini. I hope they are still in the middle of the total remodel (and I think they are after hearing a co-owner talking with the head chef about renovations they are planning) because it would be nice to have a small fridge in the room. Some things we would like to see added/changed: breakfast (or at least coffee service) in the Hope Lounge, the appetizer menu is a bit to carried away- put some simpler choices. Also, if the guest is paying the room rate they should be able to use the pool and the hotel should provide towels for pool usage. The location of the hotel is great. We were never more than 20 minutes away from any attraction we wanted to visit and that was during Memorial Day weekend! They have parties on Friday nights it seems and the guests are invited (we had no idea this was an option or we might have planned ahead- so maybe a little better communication about these events on the website or in the lobby. Great Venue!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your stay with us at the Lafayette. We did recently finish a full remodel of the entire hotel, although the only rooms that are pre-equipped with refrigerators are our Suze Suites (mini-fridge and microwave) or our Bungalows (FULL kitchen with large refrigerator/microwave/stove). Complimentary coffee is available from 7-9am in the lobby, and we will definitely pass along your recommendations to our Food and Beverage Department. Pool towels are for guest use and available at the Front Desk; our Swim Club is open to the public as well although it's recommended they bring their own towels.

Our Events page on our website gives all the information needed on our pool parties and other happenings around the hotel, we highly suggest that guests take a look prior to arrival to be as up to date as possible! Thank you again for choosing the Lafayette, hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Lafayette is amazing a great hotel with a bit of old Hollywood charm and all the comforts and luxury of today!!! Five stars all around from the staff to the food we loved every minute and cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorretta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you very much, your sentiments go right along with our motto; Yesterday, Today. We will make sure to share your comments are shared with all of our team with a special mention to the cooks! We can't wait to have you back for more memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel was beautiful from its impeccable decor and the chic room. The pool was one of the best parts of the hotel because of its large size and atmosphere and nice comfy lounge chairs. The decor was one of my favorite parts about the stay because I felt like I was in a beautiful ritzy hotel for an affordable price. There was great service, and the workers were all friendly and made us feel like home. Compared to the hotels around the area, Lafayette is one of the nicer ones around and a hotel I would recommend to anyone whether it be couples, a family, or with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindypalosverdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for that wonderful accolade, and we're honored to be your first review on TA! The pool is by far the most utilized amenity at the Lafayette and was designed by the actor who played as the original Tarzan, Johnny Weissmuller. I love the fact that you felt at home, it's the feeling we strive to create for all guests that stay at the Lafayette. We appreciate all of your comments and I know that your next stay will be even better than your last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Loved this hotel, we stayed in one of the suze suites. Lots of room for 3 women complete with two bathrooms. Had a lovely dinner at the restaurant... Everything was clean and well maintained! The pool is amazing as was the chess room and the little surprise areas throughout the property....I can't say enough about the Lafayette other than I will be making another trip back!

Room Tip: The suze suites are great for 4 people. Next visit would be poolside.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaDarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Lafayette! Our Suze Suites, or Family Suites, are suited well for 2-4 people especially traveling families with younger children (they love the bunkbeds). They're located directly behind the poolside rooms so are perfectly situated for guests to enjoy the pool without being directly next to it. I hope you were able to get a couple of good chess games in! Personally I think the giant life-sized pieces make it twice as fun to play. We look forward to your next visit, let us know when you're able to make it out again so we can be sure to have a poolside room reserved for you, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

One of your best...we cone once or twice a year....we were treated like royalty..rooms were clean and newly remodeled, and staff more than helpful ..very enjoyable staff. We have been coming here since before the remodel, and just fell in love with th we place.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your glowing comments, we will make sure to share them with the entire Lafayette team. We did recently complete renovations and it is always nice to hear from the loyal guests who notice the transition and upgrades we have implemented. We are always looking to improve the experiences of our guests so if you have any suggestions, let us know the next time you come on vacation. Thanks again for choosing the Lafayette - hopefully you make it twice this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, the rooms were spacious and well equipped. The onsite restaurant served great food from breakfast til dinner with many dishes influenced by local Mexican cuisine which I doubt I would have found elsewhere while the attached Red Fox Room served wonderful steak. The outdoor pool is heated with long opening hours and was a pleasure to swim in, with plenty of loungers etc. This is a great hotel to stay at, the only negative being the location which is a bus/ taxi ride from the city center (it is very convenient for the zoo though)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Lafayette for your four nights in San Diego. I have to agree both Hope 46 and the Red Fox have delicious food, and with both being on property you have a lot of variety to choose from depending on your mood. Hope 46 also serves poolside with a lot of drink options, with summer around the corner is a definite hot spot. We are about 12-15 minutes from the Gaslamp District and less than 20 minutes from almost all San Diego attractions. Public transportation is very reliable or the front desk can arrange for a taxi should you prefer. Thanks again, we'll see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I would be being unfair if I tell you that this hotel is "good" or "well located"... I mean, the hotel is incredible, the staff terrific, the rooms are good, great parking, AMAZING pool, good bar... The price is cheap for this kind of accomodation, it's the best price/quality ratio you can get...
So, in addition, it's a great hotel if you're driving a car, because it's not close to points of interest in San Diego, but with a car is really easy to go anywere thanks to the great location of the hotel...Rooms are good, nice beds, good bathrooms, very clean... Be sure you take your swim suit :)

Room Tip: The king rooms (cheaper ones) are like deluxe in other hotels
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your very honest and inclusive review, it's great you were able to experience and enjoy every aspect of the Lafayette! We are more centrally located to a lot of the area attractions so it does help if you are going to be driving a car, otherwise we are glad to arrange transportation to any venue of your choosing. San Diego also has very rider friendly public transit system so getting anywhere is simple and easy. Our Manor rooms are the most cost effective, although we do have plenty of other options to upgrade to (the Bungalows are huge; effectively 2 story town homes) should you need more room. Thank you again and yes, *definitely* bring your swim suit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#28 of 278 in San Diego
2,221 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#56 of 278 in San Diego
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $103 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing