We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friendship Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
712
419
131
68
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
419
131
68
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred foxpoolside roombob hopepool partiesel cajon blvdbalboa parkfrench doorspool areabeautiful poolfamily suiteronanlobbyparkingzoohillcrestdowntownsd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,110 - 1,115 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed four nights in the main block, it was value for money and we loved the pool and it's environs. The hotel is well located for the Hillcrest area of town and Balboa Park. The whole history of the place is the real draw here, Bob Hope was the first guest and Johnny Weismuler designed the Olympic size pool.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank alastairsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

1,very bad telephone service, no person answering for long time, holding long and the answer is "I do not know, you can call ###"
2,if you want change the room from one-bed to two beds, you need pay extra money, but if the other way, no money return!!
3, Constructions around the hotel
4, The sound insulation of the walls are terrible, you can hear the talking very clear from the next room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GaojinLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lafayette Hotel. After thoroughly reviewing your comments, it is clear that we did not meet your expectations. Phone service is an extremely important task of our Guest Services team and I apologize for any inconvenience regarding our lack of communication. Our team is committed to ensuring we implement a better strategy for responding to our loyal guests, especially during extremely stressful and challenging times for our staff. As the City's temporary construction improvements come to a close, noise will be reduced and will continue to get better as projects are fully finished. Our staff have taken a more proactive approach in notifying our guests of any road construction upon arrival. The hotel also offers siesta kits complimentary to our guests, and upon request. If I can help with any future requests or address any added concerns, I will be available at your convenience. Thank you for choosing the Lafayette Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

When my friend upgraded her reservation from 1 king bed room to 2 queen bed room, she was charged for extra money. However, when we changed our booking from 2 queen bed room to 1 king bed room, the price rate was still the same. The phone service is unsatisfactory, and lacks patience. In late night, we cannot sleep well, since the talks from the next room were clearly heard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wenjun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Greetings,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lafayette Hotel Swim Club & Bungalows for your recent trip to San Diego. After reviewing your comments, I understand that we did not meet the expectations that you deserve as a hotel guest. I can see how you were frustrated with the room type and I truly apologize for any inconveniences. Our intention is to always accommodate every guest request. I have shared your comments with the proper Guest Service team members and Managers to ensure that we properly handle these types of requests better in the future. If you would like to further discuss, I invite you to call me directly at 619-780-0359. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Lafayette Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Some of my friends and I decided to get a suite at the Lafayette for their NYE party, we couldn't have made a better choice. We are from San Diego and are often looking for fun, yet affordable events downtown for the holidays. We had an amazing room with bed space for all, and multiple bathrooms, free tickets to the event come with the room! The grounds are beautiful, a great crowd showed up for the event, and the music was amazing. Multiple rooms of music, music outside, partying by the glowing pool, cabanas, we felt like VIP all night. And the service wasn't good, it was great! Never seen so many smiling faces while they're working on a holiday (maybe I'll apply!) haha. Best part; never having to leave the hotel, no driving for us! (and no waiting for an hour for an overpriced taxi) Best party ever, we'll be back for the next one.

Room Tip: Love the suite with the king bed in one room, and huge bunk bed in the other room, and a giant chalkboard for the kiddies! (Or you, we actually had a lot of fun with it)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josh L, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews