We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Precious little gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #55 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Precious little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here due to being in town for the Rock & Roll San Diego half marathon. Although our friends live just up the road at Camp Pendleton we all opted for a hotel stay in town before the race due to the hour of getting up! At the last minute we decided to add an extra night to our stay and had no trouble finding a fantastic rate the day of. This place has a unique charm. It you're looking for the Ritz-Carlton then keep searching. We had a smaller sized room but plenty of space for our short 2-night stay. The lobby bar was really cute and we enjoyed the old school feel of the pool area. Very clean and vibrant but true to its character. The restaurant there is amazing for breakfast. Our room was clean and updated. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when we needed a cab. ONLY complaint was it was a bit noisy at night. Not due to partying but the sirens, street noise, etc. We were at the end of a hallway in the "manor" section I think they called it. I would have preferred a more interior room to avoid that noise. That's it though otherwise I would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on exterior side near street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltSandSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    373
    115
    62
    37
See reviews for
417
306
71
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dodge City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My daughter booked us at the "boutique" hotel close to their Hillcrest neighborhood in San Diego. The hotel lobby and the pool area are unique, eclectic, and very inviting. We stayed in a poolside room that was at the far end of the pool / party area, and it was totally perfect because we heard very little noise ( even with live music one day and a DJ the next). There were lots of people around the pool on the weekend, but they were a fun, well-behaved. and welcoming group.
The hotel staff was friendly & efficient & they seem to love their jobs! I will stay there again!

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend and noise is a problem, ask for a room that is not as close to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly staff, very clean and nicely refurbished rooms with a lovely family atmosphere in the pool area. Best enjoyed with a pool side room, free paring excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hille28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here because of the SD marathon. We had a king suite room #212 room was nice & roomy, however we were told that the couch is a pull out and it wasn't!!!! We had a nice balcony overlooking el Cajon, but the lounge chairs outside were filthy & dirty and we had to clean them before we were able to sit down.

The next day we were poolside and were constantly harassed by security because there's a private party and we were required to have wristbands. Unfortunately staff here doesn't seem to understand that guests at the hotel should have priorities or treated with a little courtesy. We were told that we needed to go to front desk to get our wristbands and then of course we needed our IDs! Such an inconvenience as none of us had IDs on us as we were just lounging by the pool!!!!

I'm very disappointed with my stay here and will never ever come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemmiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew H, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were provided with incorrect information about our couches. We are consistently looking through our third party websites to ensure they are providing our guest with correct information. We have revised our procedures of how we address our guests who are not wearing a wristband during one of our pool parties. It isn’t until our guest share their experiences that we can address any concerns, which is why we love hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel may have 50s charm, but if you actually can remember the 50s this hotel may not be for you. Keep in mind that we ended up there on a hotel hosted party night, but the noise level was tremendous. We stayed in the Manor area of the hotel and the rooms had no degree of "soundproofness". Not only could you hear the band warming up for the hour before the show, you heard music all throughout the night and on top of that, you could hear conversations from people on the lower level ( we were on floor 2), people walking and talking outside your room, kids running and screaming. To be honest, it didn't really bother me that much, but I can definitely see how some people may be irritated by the noise.

On the other hand, the staff seemed to be very nice. We booked through Hotwire ( secret 3 star hotel Mission Valley-Hotel Circle) and our check in was very fast and smooth. We didn't have much interaction with the staff other than check-in as we only stayed one night.

Upon arrival to our room, I was impressed with the decor of the room. It had a very modern feel and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was just basic, nothing special. The room was much smaller in size than a typical hotel but perfect for 2 people. Even though we had a 2 queen room I wouldn't want to be in a room that size for longer than a day with 3 or more people. There is a nice flat screen TV and tons of channels which was really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Lafayette from May2 - May5th. Everytime I walked through the lobby and stood overlooking the pool I really felt like I was transported back to the 1950s. I expected Annette Funicello or Elvis to start walking through any minute. I definitely felt like I was in a different era! It was a girls weekend away and we rented one of the Bungalows - #7 to be exact. We had two bedrooms and one bath - which we did manage to share with no problems for three ladies. Since there was only a single bathroom they did make accommodations in the room for additional mirrors for getting ready. Large living room and flat screen TVs. The king bed was great and the pillows excellent. I would love to have in my own home! VERY reasonably priced for a weekend getaway split among 3 people. The Bungalow was renovated and updated and felt just like a home from the 50s era as well. We all live in homes like this in real life - so the vibe was very familiar and cozy to us. The walls are thin - so at times we could hear our neighbors. But nothing out of control and it didn't ever last for a long time. The hotel was very conveniently located to many of the tourist highlights in San Diego. Balboa Park, the Hillcrest Area and Northpark. Easy to get downtown to GasLamp district as well. Could get places easily without having to hit the highways and free parking as well! Had a great breakfast just up the road at Lil B's and a fun night out at LIPS just down the road. I think it is a great location and great hotel!

Room Tip: The pool area is busy and people from outside of the hotel can pay $5 to use the pool up to 5:00 PM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was awesome! Very unique and historic. Nice rooms and the bungalows are perfect when staying with a large group. The pool is very nice and so is the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing