We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Thanks for the Memory" by Bob Hope & Shirley Ross”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #63 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Thanks for the Memory" by Bob Hope & Shirley Ross”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The perfect place for a weekend stay to make memories to last forever!! Lafayette was a perfect location for my friends and I to have a girls weekend. We arrived Friday, checked in and went directly to the restaurant & bar in the Lafayette called Imig's. Absolutely fabulous! The cocktails were amazing and very unique. You have to look for my favorite bartender, Brandon. He is very talented and an expert in mixology. My favorite dinner was the marinated grilled tri tip and salad. Delicious!! After dinner we walked out by the pool where they had a LIVE band called, "Miles Ahead." We had a blast!! They played a mix of everything and we couldn't stop singing and dancing. At 9:00pm they played the movie "Top Gun" outside by the pool. Did you know that the bar scene from "Top Gun" ..."You've lost that living feeling" was filmed in the downstairs bar of the Lafayette? Amazing!!!

Later in the evening we were fortunate to have met the Assistant General Manager, Andie Turner. Andie truly made our entire weekend special. She made us feel like we were a part of the Lafayette family. She suggested for us to go to "Red Wings" for the evening. Best karaoke in San Diego! We were in a cab in five minutes and 5 dollars later singing at Red Wings and enjoying the wonderful crowd of people. Everyone was so kind!!!

Saturday we were poolside all day and enjoyed Imig's fantastic mojitos, margaritas, and ginger beer cocktails. Drew, another member of the staff, was very nice in reminding us of the poolside rules and kept the pool area, restaurant and staff in order. Drew also offered a tour of the famous bar downstairs. So fabulous!

Saturday evening we all went to see the "Glamour Divas" at LIPS. This entertainment is also a 5 dollar cab drive. I loved the entertainment and the dinner was delicious! We all laughed and cheered on the dynamic divas...especially "Kiki". After dinner and the show, we went back to Lafayette to enjoy the "Red Fox Steakhouse" piano bar, which is just down the hallway from the lobby. Listened to piano tunes of Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, Julie London, etc. I even got up to sing a song. What a wonderful memory!!!

Sunday morning we ate at Imig's again. Fabian, our waiter suggested one of his favorites and now it is mine. You must order the Huevos Rancheros and unlimited Superfruit Mimosas and enjoy first class treatment from Fabian & Arnie!

Overall, we had an amazing time at the Lafayette. It provided a multitude of food offerings, cocktails and neighborhood bars. The rooms, lobby, restaurant, bar, pool, and outdoor patios, are nestalgic, comfortable and stylish. I definitely could feel the presence of the legendary Bob Hope and friends of the late 1930's & 40's. Simply amazing!

My friends and I will definitely return!!! The Staff was absolutely one of a kind and very delightful. Thank you Lafayette Staff for making us feel like we have a home away from home.

Love and miss you all!!

Respectfully,

Mary

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew H, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hello Mary-
I am so glad that we were able to help you make happy memories on your girls weekend. Its so nice to hear that you got to experience the glamor and nostalgia of The Lafayette!
We look forward to your next visit with or without the family ;-)
Drew - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    394
    123
    64
    43
See reviews for
446
318
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a Manor King room but were given a room overlooking the pool. The man who checked us in didn't mention this but we figured it out from the signs. It seemed like a good thing but some issues came up.

Our room was outside the secure gated section of the property so we had an unexpected disturbance around 3am one night. We heard a man and a woman arguing right outside our door. He claimed that she told him she had used crack the night before but was now denying it. Huh? This can't really be happening to us. They both sounded drunk and apparently she was a crackhead. Are these people guests or did they just come off from the street? The latter was a real possibility because there's no way to keep strangers away from this part of the hotel. We called the front desk and reported the situation. It sounded like the lady we spoke to came our way to send them off. She said she was sending security but it seemed there was no security at the hotel during our stay. It was around Christmas so there seemed to be very little personnel working.

Parking was a good thing except that the spaces were also accessible by the public because it was not gated.

Internet was spotty to the point of being non existent. We spoke to the front desk and they said they would re boot but nothing helped. We had about 15 minutes of decent wifi our entire stay. It was frustrating to say the least.

Unfortunately, the housekeeping closet was right outside our door so we'd hear the housekeeper banging around in the morning. She also felt totally comfortable yelling across the way to another housekeeper. Our door knob had a do not disturb sign but it seemed keeping her cleaning schedule was the top priority.

Room smelled musty when we arrived but got better when the air conditioner got going. Air conditioner had an automatic shut off mechanism so would constantly turn on and off through the night. I would wake up every time. Aargh......

The Lafayette has lots of potential but needs someone working on the little details. I tried not to write a review at all but these issues keep swirling in my mind and I felt duty bound to let possible guests know the pitfalls and manage their expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that strangers can't get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew H, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay back in December. I just wanted share with you that we do have security on property, who are patrolling our property to ensure our guest's comfort and safety. Additionally, we do have a secured underground parking garage, which is free also to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for three days in February. If you're expecting high end, you will be disappointed. But look beyond the expectations of typical chain hotel atmosphere, and you will find an affordable, charming hotel at a reasonable price with many options. The grounds are relaxing, the rooms are all you need (do you spend all day in the room?), and the restaurants offer plenty of options. Or, you are within 5 minutes of some great neighborhoods, eateries, coffee shops, etc. This is definitely worth a second look and serious consideration.

RD

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RCD1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I save 5 circles for exceptional, but this was the perfect place for my visit to my brother. It was within walking distance of his home and convenient to lots of interesting places. I highly recommend this for anyone - well, not so sure about families, since I didn't see any children. I didn't get to enjoy the pool since the weather didn't cooperate and since the primary reason for my visit was to spend time with my brother. I really wanted to have a drink at Imig's but never had the chance. Too many other wonderful things to do. Next time. One caveat, use the hotel to get a cab. See my review of greenride.net as a warning to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a special deal on a one-night weekend stay at the Lafayette. We had been to the lovely "old-school" Red Fox Lounge next door several times and wanted to see if the hotel matched the character of the restaurant. The room was a good size for an older hotel and there were reminders of it's old Hollywood connections everywhere. The Olympic-size pool is a big draw, and although it was too cool in November for us to venture in, others were enjoying a swim while we basked in the sun. Great service, too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Would love to have stayed longer. When ever possible we try to stay away from the chain hotels, so started looking for non-chain close to the airport for a one night stay. Looked good on the internet, decided to give it a try couldn't go wrong for one night. We were very pleased with everything from the check-in to the check out. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We stayed in poolside (upstairs) which had been newly renovated and could not have asked for more. The hotel has an "the way it used to be feel" which was very much appreciated. The pool is BIG and has a rocking porch overlooking. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in a hotel. Was nice to be able to take a walk around a neighborhood instead of a parking lot. Had dinner and breakfast at Imig's Kitchen & Bar, both meals were very good. The hotel is 4.4 miles from the airport and it took us 10 min in am traffic to get there.

Will be our go to place when in San Diego in the future.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved this place! Booked 1 night, decided to stay 2. Andie and Marti and all the staff at Imig's were super friendly and the food was great! We loved the fresh halibut served over crispy spinach so much we asked them to call us the next time it's on the menu, can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,127 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#58 of 278 in San Diego
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 278 in San Diego
973 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing