We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable non-chain option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #62 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for three days in February. If you're expecting high end, you will be disappointed. But look beyond the expectations of typical chain hotel atmosphere, and you will find an affordable, charming hotel at a reasonable price with many options. The grounds are relaxing, the rooms are all you need (do you spend all day in the room?), and the restaurants offer plenty of options. Or, you are within 5 minutes of some great neighborhoods, eateries, coffee shops, etc. This is definitely worth a second look and serious consideration.

RD

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank RCD1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I save 5 circles for exceptional, but this was the perfect place for my visit to my brother. It was within walking distance of his home and convenient to lots of interesting places. I highly recommend this for anyone - well, not so sure about families, since I didn't see any children. I didn't get to enjoy the pool since the weather didn't cooperate and since the primary reason for my visit was to spend time with my brother. I really wanted to have a drink at Imig's but never had the chance. Too many other wonderful things to do. Next time. One caveat, use the hotel to get a cab. See my review of greenride.net as a warning to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a special deal on a one-night weekend stay at the Lafayette. We had been to the lovely "old-school" Red Fox Lounge next door several times and wanted to see if the hotel matched the character of the restaurant. The room was a good size for an older hotel and there were reminders of it's old Hollywood connections everywhere. The Olympic-size pool is a big draw, and although it was too cool in November for us to venture in, others were enjoying a swim while we basked in the sun. Great service, too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Would love to have stayed longer. When ever possible we try to stay away from the chain hotels, so started looking for non-chain close to the airport for a one night stay. Looked good on the internet, decided to give it a try couldn't go wrong for one night. We were very pleased with everything from the check-in to the check out. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We stayed in poolside (upstairs) which had been newly renovated and could not have asked for more. The hotel has an "the way it used to be feel" which was very much appreciated. The pool is BIG and has a rocking porch overlooking. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in a hotel. Was nice to be able to take a walk around a neighborhood instead of a parking lot. Had dinner and breakfast at Imig's Kitchen & Bar, both meals were very good. The hotel is 4.4 miles from the airport and it took us 10 min in am traffic to get there.

Will be our go to place when in San Diego in the future.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved this place! Booked 1 night, decided to stay 2. Andie and Marti and all the staff at Imig's were super friendly and the food was great! We loved the fresh halibut served over crispy spinach so much we asked them to call us the next time it's on the menu, can't wait!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed one night at Lafayette. We loved the old style charm the hotel had. Our room seemed to be newly renovated. Really neat wallpaper behind the bed. Everyone was super friendly and made us feel at home. The hotel seemed to have a "haunted mansion" feel, but it made for a fun time! Planning on staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I would not recommend Layfette Hotel to anyone. Staff was very rude and unprofessional. I will never stay here again and was a waste of money. We stayed in a 2 beroom bungalow that was run down looking and nothing like the website pictures. I did like the pool area at night. I could go on but will run out of room!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the 2 bedroom bungalow #1!!!! The pool side rooms nice from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tami b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew H, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello Tami-
First of all let me apologize for not replying sooner, I have only been at the property for a little over a week. I am disappointed that our vintage bungalow did not meet your expectation. Each our bungalows have been restored to its former glory, keeping many of the historic and traditional features from when they were built.
If you have any further comments or feedback about the staff, please feel free to contact me via e-mail at drew@lafayettehotelsd.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,266 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 278 in San Diego
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $107 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing