We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great character!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #60 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great character!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed one night at Lafayette. We loved the old style charm the hotel had. Our room seemed to be newly renovated. Really neat wallpaper behind the bed. Everyone was super friendly and made us feel at home. The hotel seemed to have a "haunted mansion" feel, but it made for a fun time! Planning on staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    379
    119
    63
    41
See reviews for
432
311
73
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I would not recommend Layfette Hotel to anyone. Staff was very rude and unprofessional. I will never stay here again and was a waste of money. We stayed in a 2 beroom bungalow that was run down looking and nothing like the website pictures. I did like the pool area at night. I could go on but will run out of room!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the 2 bedroom bungalow #1!!!! The pool side rooms nice from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tami b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew H, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Tami-
First of all let me apologize for not replying sooner, I have only been at the property for a little over a week. I am disappointed that our vintage bungalow did not meet your expectation. Each our bungalows have been restored to its former glory, keeping many of the historic and traditional features from when they were built.
If you have any further comments or feedback about the staff, please feel free to contact me via e-mail at drew@lafayettehotelsd.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had a poolside room for two nights. The property looks great after the refurb and definitely has a unique look and atmosphere. The pool is excellent, great to swim in despite the slightly chillier time of year. The staff were helpful at all times. I noticed a previous comment about the Wifi - just to say I didn't have a problem with it at all. Terrific location, Hillcrest is close by and it's $20 in a cab to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a Living Social coupon for Lafayette Hotel and spent a wonderful weekend there. Our room wasn't poolside but it was clean and very comfortable. Lafayette has a great restaurant and beautiful pool area. The hotel staff were friendly and the restaurant offered a very good varied menu that we enjoyed outside on the deck overlooking the pool. We loved our visit and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

booked this hotel after doing my home work . all i can say is WOW . lovely place 5 nights for less than 90 dollars a night . had a pool side room . 2 nice double beds nice clean . very nice spot . next time in san diego will be staying again . ok and a great pool . shame it was not heated in jan .but that wont spoil my stay . keep up the good work

Room Tip: pool side is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank number14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're heading to San Diego for a weekend or a week. By all means visit the old Lafayette Hotel on El Cajon in San Diego. Situated in an elderly off touristy area named North Park or University Heights sits The Lafayette Hotel, one of the finest accommodations in San Diego. Built by Larry Imig in 1946, the grand manor boasts it's fine colonial architectural design adorned with the most modern, chic, eclectic atmosphere. The main Hotel, called the manor, each room decorated to it's own charm and eclectic nature.
The Weissmuller pool, rumored to be designed by Johnny Weissmuller, the Tarzan actor of the old black and white era. The Weissmuller pool is 65 years old, holds a mere 600,000 gallons of water and is 50 meters in length. The pool hosted a swim club and celebrity get away in the late 40's and 50's. Visitors ranging from Presidents to a host of Hollywood actors and Diplomats would often frequent the pool and hotel for a brief getaway.

The newer bungalows surround the pool in a 'U' shape pattern, every bungalow has a view and either a patio or balcony to enjoy a drink, a view and a swim.

The Lafayette Hotel has recently opened their own restaurant and bar named after it's founder Larry Imig, Imig's is a mix of eclectic American Cuisine combined with several cultural influences.
Ecologically correct menus using only renewable resources such as striped sea bass, wild boar bacon, and organically grown produce. If you eat anywhere in San Diego please be sure to visit Imig's within the Lafayette Hotel. This is the most delicious food I've ever had the pleasure to experience.

Everyone should stay here at least once while visiting beautiful San Diego, CA. 2 easy miles to the Zoo, and 7 miles to Sea World. Don't let the off beaten track fool you!

The hotel does not accept pets, however, they have a pet hotel nearby. No Spa, or hot tub available.

Room Tip: Stay in the Old Manor for a chic romantic night, or two. Poolside bungalows, east backing for early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this hotel on a business trip and did so without much research because I was looking for something close to the airport (15 minutes away) and my meetings, but I wish I had more time to spend there!

It is situated in a mixed neighborhood of business, from auto repair to a garden center and the regular fast food places, so it doesn't really stand out from the outside (in fact you can very easily drive right by).

But when you walk in, it is like taking a trip back in time to the golden days of Hollywood...you kind of have o see it to believe it, but I was very impressed at the way this hotel has been kept up.

The room I had was plain, but had high ceilings, the old crown molding on the floor and ceilings, and the furniture looked like antiques, but with A LOT of modern amenities that the big hotel chains could learn from.

One of the things they had, beside a flat, big screen TV you could see from anywhere in ten room, was an outlet box cleverly attached to the top of the main dresser that has regular power plugs, as well as USB outlets...what a great idea to charge all your devices in one location!

The courtyard, pool area, and lobby look like an old Hollywood movie....very old-time class.

Because there is little on-street parking it is great that they have their own covered and gated garage - at no extra charge!

The hotel also has many diverse restraints within walking distance, as well as what looked like a great restaurant inside the hotel (which I did not have a chance to try).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinciJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Old Town Inn
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing