We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in San Diego great location, awesome stuff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #60 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotels in San Diego great location, awesome stuff.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I met sydney and had a great service would like to thank everyone in the Lafayette hotel for the great hospitality. I would recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego. Also the pool is really nice to relax and the rooms have a lovely view, again I had great service from sydney would like to mention that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, it’s always nice to read how much people love the Weissmuller pool and our staff, Sydney is a guest favorite. Look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    392
    120
    63
    42
See reviews for
441
315
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Hotel is a Great place To stay. It was located close to everything and had Great and easy parking. The staff here is Great as Well. The Bar staff is Great as well. I will Be back here to stay again, and hopfully able to enjoy the Pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdonat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lafayette Hotel on the last leg of our honeymoon. We were welcomed by Sydney who, throughout our entire stay, made sure we had a great experience. Our suite was spacious, clean, and classy. The old hollywood style was very cool. I appreciated the historic esthetic of the place. We ate at the restaurant where the service and food was excellent. We stumbled on this hotel by accident and we are so glad we did. It was the best value place we stayed on our honeymoon. We will be staying here when we return to San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
First of all congratulations! Glad to read that our hotel and our staff contributed to what was a fabulous honeymoon. Wishing you both many happy years together and many anniversary stay’s hear at the Lafayette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel interior is well-done, both in the lobby and public areas and in the rooms, with an updated luxe retro style. Our room was spacious and included a seating area and dining table, as well as a good-sized comfortable bed. The bathrooms were a bit drab by comparison. Secure underground parking available (and free).

The problem is the noise -- both inside and out. The street noise was problematic much of the night, particularly considering the proximity to a hospital and accompany sirens, and we had to call the front desk at 3am due to noise from an adjacent room. While the hotel promptly addressed the loud guests, it was already too late to enjoy a good night's sleep.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KrMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I would first like to thank you for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay, and I apologize for the loud guests and poor night’s sleep. Due to our historic designation we had to leave the bathrooms with the same design they had when the hotel opened in 1946. I hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again sometime in the future; we will make every effort to assign a very quiet room. We also have sleep kits available that provide an eye shade and ear plugs. Thank you again for staying with us here at the Lafayette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The remodel was a good thing. Even so, the hotel seems as though it could stand a little bit of work... But that's not the problem. Oh, and rooms on the street? The windows were not replaced in the recent renovation, and the heat and a/c come from wall units that pass street noise and light directly into the rooms. The rooms are NOISY. And in January, cold, because the heater is so noisy that with it on, you can't sleep. At night here, in January, it's in the 50s. Argh....
The staff is friendly. But what hotel these days doesn't put a small fridge in the room? And with no fridge in the room, you need ice, and there's ONE ice machine, up a flight of stairs and across the hotel. Nitpicky? not really. Lots of people rely on a fridge to keep medicine cold, and we ALL rely on a decent internet connection to check routes to places we want to go, to FIND places we want to go. Modern travel needs the internet. And here you have to pad down the long halls to the lobby.... So we're not happy. At the Omni downtown, we had three laptops all running full tilt with no problem. Here, none of the laptops worked unless they were in the lobby.
Breakfast at the oddly-named Imig's Kitchen and Bar off the lobby was great and reasonably priced. Dinner down the hall at the Red Fox would have been what you'd have expected from a neighborhood restaurant in Ames, Iowa forty years ago-- dark, red booths, formica tables, complimentary celery and carrot sticks, garlic bread made out of bread (like Wonder bread, loaf bread)... Edible, but hopelessly outdated, and outclassed by the more modest joint off the lobby. Oh, and the beers at the Red Fox? Michelob on draft. At least Imig's had a decent range of good beers, in addition to Bed and Stella.
The place is supposed to have a new food and beverage manager, and hopefully that will dramatically improve the situation at Red Fox and tweak Imig's (which mentioned something about "breakfast on Sunday's" on the receipt) though Imig's only needs a boost, while Red Fox needs to be leveled and rebuilt.
Will the hotel rooms be upgraded and brought into the 1990s with small fridges and decent wireless? That remains to be seen. If either of those matter, call and ask before you book. If I had known in advance, I wouldn't have completed the reservation. The place was once tres cool, and has plenty of potential. It just needs a steadier hand on the helm and a bit of forethought and initiative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The Lafayette has met with my approval. We stayed in the 'family' section Suze suites and it was spot on for us, with two bedrooms, one kingsize and the other bunk beds (single on top and double underneath), and two bathrooms both with shower over bathtub.
The place itself has a wonderful sense of a history of grandeur; but also a slight shadow of a period spent in the wilderness - I can imagine it was a bit shabby pre-refit. The refurbishment however has been done sympathetically and currently the whole place has the kind of super-cleanliness that only comes with a recent coat of paint.
The pool is 25 yds (not 'Olympic' size but big enough) and heated to swimmable in January if you're hardy. It's a pool for swimming rather than bathing in.
The hotel has lost stars in my review for not quite hitting the spot on occasion - for example coffee-making facilities in the suite only extended to decaf (what's the point?!).
The location, whilst not exactly a desirable destination in itself, is handy for the zoo, and not at all far from downtown in one direction or sea world and beaches in the other.
In short, distinctive and above average. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lodge, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at The Lafeyette for the past 4 years. Since the remodel/renifation - My stay has improved 100%
The rooms are great,roomy and clean. The staff are there to serve! Even the Security staff are friendly ! Now the best part !!! The food is THE BEST I HAVE EVER TASTED !!!! The deserts are so delicious it was hard to choose - so I had some of each! The steaks melted in your mouth and the dipping sauses for the snacks were the best. The Bar staff are friendly and know what they are doing. Even tho I do not drink alcohol they made me what ever I asked for - minus the booze. The weather was beautiful this year and my stay was great - even tho it was a work related trip. Looking forward to next year. Thanks John Grady !!! Nanci Faught, Deer Lodge,Montana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#61 of 279 in San Diego
1,584 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing