We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - You'll Love It.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #63 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - You'll Love It.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Lafayette is in a class of it's own. It's a beautiful, classic, hotel, with an interesting history and friendly staff. A wonderful place for both family and business travelers. We stayed in a two room, two bath Suze suite and loved it. The Olympic size pool is outstanding. Location is terrific. Very nice neighborhood,with good restaurants and only about 5 minutes by car to the Maritime Museum, Balboa Park, Zoo, Old Town and airport, 10 minutes to Coronado Is., Mission Beach and Convention Center. Forget the run of the mill hotels and stay at a place you'll always remember. As a world business traveler I have stayed at some of the most expensive hotels, and I must say that this is on the top of my list. On our next trip to San Diego, we'll be staying at the Lafayette !!.

Kurt B - Flagstaff, AZ

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Suze Suite for families. For business travelers or couples, the rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otherbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    394
    123
    64
    42
See reviews for
445
317
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family and I choose San Diego for our summer vaca. We rented the suite with bunk beds for our daugther (too cute!). There isnt a concierge but the front desk agent was sooo helpful. I loved the charming hotel lobby. We stood for 4 nights- housekeeping did a wonderful job. The pictures do not do justice for this hotel. Next time were thinking of renting one of the bungalow's that have a kitchen to save us money on eating out. Defin recommend to family's looking for a great hotel to stay at. Loved the pool. :)

Room Tip: Suite with BunkBeds are good it it's a short period stay. Fr longer stays look into the bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel a lot for business and I have had my share of bad experiences. I usually find myself going to my meeting and coming back to the hotel room to sleep without using any of amenities. However this time upon check in I heard the front desk talking to other guests about what the hotel has to offer. Front desk was nice enough to give me a breif history of the hotel and told me I should really go take a look at the hotel. I was so suprised how big and clean the rooms were. After getting settled in I decided to take a tour around the hotel and I was really fasinated with the history and detail in this hotel. I had no trouble getting internet access and this is a huge plus when I work from my laptop. Hopefully I get sent back to San Diego soon..

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My visit to San Diego was enhanced by the Lafayette Hotel. The accomadations were great and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms and lobby bring back the hotel's history and charm having been a popular resort for Hollywood personalities and wealthy Americans during the 20's and 30's. The pool is spectacular. Large and a challenging lap pool for those who want to really get some exercise. You can imagine the rich and famous lounging by the pool with Mai Tai's and Martini's.
Transportation is very easy as the location is simply a taxi or short bus ride to downtown San Diego, Balboa Park and the Airport.
I will visit again and enjoy the stay...I hope you do too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My brother and I came to San Diego due to our Moms illness, So coming from Boston, there was a lot of stress involved. By chance I found this hotel on line..so happy I did! I looked forward to going back at the end of a very emotional day to TTF this great hotel..the rooms were Beautiful..clean and comfy! The staff was terrific! And the price was good, if you complained about this place...you must find something to complain about with everything!! Going back to see my mom in January and I am definitely staying there again!!

Room Tip: I moved to a balcony pool side room! So quiet and relaxing to sit out there at note and the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamck555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Would recommend this place in a heartbeat! My sister and I drive to San Diego for a last minute weekend trip to see the zoo! The hotel staff were wonderful, the hotel was clean and full of Style and atmosphere. There was underground parking included, free wifi and a list of addresses to local beaches, restaurants and grocery stores. The location was great and everyone was accommodated. The rooms were recently remodeled and roomy and CLEAN! The morning we went to the zoo we caught brunch in Imig's, the diner downstairs, and the staff and food were awesome! It was a great relaxing stay for a quick getaway! The price was AWESOME too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday and it was a lovely hotel. It had been renovated and the rooms are huge and ours was just a regular room so the suites are probably really nice! First of all, very nice parking lot below and no charge for guests. Walking into the hotel lobby, you feel like you have gone back to old Hollywood 75+ years ago but of course it is completely updated, smells nice, lots of seating in lobby and the guest check-in was quick. Each of the rooms have a name of them of an actress or actor. They say Bob Hope was the very first person to sign the register when they opened in the 40's. One think I liked was they had a large screen tv in the room and it was during the Olympics in England so it was nice to come back and watch them in full vivid color. I would recommend this hotel and if we had time, we would have gone swimming as it is out of the 40's with cabanas, live music and wood chaise lounges. Just a great experience and we found a 2 day package on-line for half price. Convenient to go to the SD Zoo and Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. This warms our heart - especially after our recent makeover of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,122 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#60 of 278 in San Diego
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 278 in San Diego
971 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing