We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #55 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Midland
1 review
“Stylish charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Would recommend this place in a heartbeat! My sister and I drive to San Diego for a last minute weekend trip to see the zoo! The hotel staff were wonderful, the hotel was clean and full of Style and atmosphere. There was underground parking included, free wifi and a list of addresses to local beaches, restaurants and grocery stores. The location was great and everyone was accommodated. The rooms were recently remodeled and roomy and CLEAN! The morning we went to the zoo we caught brunch in Imig's, the diner downstairs, and the staff and food were awesome! It was a great relaxing stay for a quick getaway! The price was AWESOME too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    373
    115
    62
    37
See reviews for
417
306
71
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday and it was a lovely hotel. It had been renovated and the rooms are huge and ours was just a regular room so the suites are probably really nice! First of all, very nice parking lot below and no charge for guests. Walking into the hotel lobby, you feel like you have gone back to old Hollywood 75+ years ago but of course it is completely updated, smells nice, lots of seating in lobby and the guest check-in was quick. Each of the rooms have a name of them of an actress or actor. They say Bob Hope was the very first person to sign the register when they opened in the 40's. One think I liked was they had a large screen tv in the room and it was during the Olympics in England so it was nice to come back and watch them in full vivid color. I would recommend this hotel and if we had time, we would have gone swimming as it is out of the 40's with cabanas, live music and wood chaise lounges. Just a great experience and we found a 2 day package on-line for half price. Convenient to go to the SD Zoo and Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. This warms our heart - especially after our recent makeover of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is a gem in the midst of motel sprawl. Hip and stylish with a sense of humor. The hotel maintains it's history with 1940's touches - deco lobby, b&w photos, even a Boom Boom Room! The front desk is uber friendly and efficient. This is a a cute boutique hotel with kitschy period decor . The beds are comfy with crisp white sheets , bathroom big and clean with good toiletries, free Internet and parking - hip neighborhood. The lobby is large, with a grand piano and speakeasy banquettes. There are surrounding courtyards, and a beautiful pool. This is the ONLY place to stay in San Diego. Love this place !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very friendly staff! Food was great! Really enjoy seeing an old Hotel being brought back to such a beautiful place! Sorry we missed the movie pool side, I was looking forward to that. The pictures and stories of the early years make the experience even more enjoyable. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCJ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had great hopes for the Lafayette based on TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed there two nights. The room was very large. The beds were pillowtops, but not very supportive. The bathroom was clean and large. The room was quiet. I did not appreciate that we came home from a day of sightseeing at 4pm to discover that no one cleaned our room. I called to the front desk and they sent someone up. However, by that time, I had to get ready for an event so she was only able to change the sheets. Upon checkout, I was asked how I liked my stay. When I mentioned this, they said that their staff had to turn over 100 rooms that day. This surprised me. Isn't this a hotel? Isn't this what they do every day? I did not try the pool, but it did look nice, as did the lobby area. There is no concierge and the front desk lady was unwilling to help us find restaurants. Instead, she handed us a preprinted sheet. I've had better experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is absolutly fabulous!! we enjoyed every day that we stayed there!
Its very clean and smells very good!
The housekeepers are very nice.
The meals are delicious. The waitresses are amazing!!
The location of this hotel is just perfect for guests, walking distance to restaurants.
Very close to shopping, like the mall and groceries and entertainment locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I needed a central location and a close restaurant (in house) for a business trip to San Diego. What I received in the Lafayette was a great deal, great restaurant, pool and atmosphere that helped my trip turn out relaxing and so incredibly enjoyable! The decor is classic old Hollywood and the rooms perfectly sized. The staff appeared so happy-smiling and greeting me always. I saw a ballroom-the Mississippi -downstairs and it is where I will be booking my company Christmas party. The whole place is full of little 'discoveries' to find..details..courtyards, giant chess set, pool, outdoor spots, indoor spots..little surprises that kept my stay delightful. I am completely in love with this place! What a great find indeed! Eat at the Imig's restaurant and you will never want to leave...comfort food with zing. It's crazy-good!

Room Tip: Get a pool-facing room if you want to really enjoy the atmosphere to the fullest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing