We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I payed 170$ for a hotel right in El cajon which is not the best and safest area. Over priced I believed. Overall though I must say the entire experience was great and rooms are very clean. Staff was great and I liked how there was security that was easily found.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara9200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

I came into the hotel with a deadline problem I came in contact with during my stay at the Lafayette hotel. I immediately went to the front counter in the lobby and asked the hotel staff at the moment whose name was Melissa if should could assisit me with my problem. With a smile she did'nt hesitate to say she had the tools needed to help me and within a few minutes my problem was resolved. Even though it could be looked at as a simple task Melissa professionalism was very impressive. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Lafayette hotel just base on her service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TMoody_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa F, Director of Sales at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so glad we were able to assist you with your needs. I will be sure to pass your positive comments along to Melissa, as I know she will appreciate them. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Lafayette 4 to 18 July, whilst visiting my son who was on a placement in San Diego. I found the hotel on the internet and did had mixed views after booking due to some of the reviews. However, the hotel was a fantastic place to stay and such a sense of history. We stayed in room 519 at the poolside and it was spacious and well furnished and the housekeeper kept it spotlessly clean. The public areas of the main building were spacious with lovely seating areas. There was a PC in the lobby for public use and giant draughts and chess boards outside. The poolside restaurant served fabulous meals - we had breakfast there on a number of days and Adam was the perfect waiter and looked after us well. It was also great to be able to sit on the balcony and eat whilst overlooking the pool. The pool is magnificent and was designed by Johnnie Weismuller and I was able to swim 70 lengths in it each day, often early in the morning so the pool parties did not affect me. The parties finished by 6pm each day (usually held over the weekends) and didn't affect us as we went out most days. The hotel provided complimentary tea and coffee all day long (until 10pm in the evening) and iced water was available at the poolside. The hotel was in a great location although not too many tourist attractions close by; however, this did not detract from its appeal and it was easy to get to all the attractions in San Diego (we hired a car). The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful and I will definitely say there again when visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are well furnished and spacious
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Lafayette Hotel. My daughter and I stayed there while we spent a couple days enjoying the San Diego amusement parks. It's a short drive to Sea World and extremely close to the zoo, and about a 40 minute drive to the Safari Park. The lobby of the hotel is comfy and inviting with lots of seating, fun decor and an enticing aroma of lemon and sage (I think). The pool (designed by Johnny Weismuller) is located just beyond the lobby and is furnished with plenty of lounge chairs. You can also sit on the deck of the bar/restaurant and enjoy a drink or snack while taking in the view of the pool. We stayed in the middle of the week and didn't have any issues with noise or pool parties, though there were lots of families staying there. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant. I highly recommend the huevos rancheros which came with pork and chile verde, eggs sunny side up, sitting on a crispy corn tortilla stuffed with melted Oaxacan cheese, served with delicious chorizo infused beans. My daughter loved the Grandmar's french toast made with brioche bread, grand mariner, cinnamon, maple butter and served with a boysenberry sauce. If I lived in the San Diego area I would definitely make a point to come here for breakfast on a regular basis. The only downside of the restaurant was that they seemed to be understaffed when we were there, thus the service was slow, though very friendly. The room we stayed in was perfect for the two of us. The beds were comfy and clean and were great for a good night's sleep. The bathroom was on the small side but clean, and the towels were thick and plentiful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a day-time napper I would recommend asking for a room that does not face the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Lafayette in San Diego because it was listed in SunSet Magazine as a great place. It was a nightmare. You could not use the pool from 1:00- 5:00 p.m. because they had open pool parties to the public. All the young families with children staying there and my grandchildren had to get out of the pool because of all the party people and drinking and loud D.J. music . Also the totally inappropriate behaveior of the party people bumping an grinding on each other in front of the children and the make-out scences going on in the chaise lounges. We paid to be there and to use the pool but could never use it because of the open pool party!! Also, I was charged for two rooms when we only had one and it took me a week of talking to 5 different people to convinence them we only had one room!!. Then almost a month later I see a credit card bill from the hotel and called my bank for fraud and the hotel said I upgraded my room and they were charging me for an upgrade I never had a month later!!! The elevators never worked and when they did you were forced to wait everytime the maid had her cart, the maid would tell us wait for the next one and move her cart in front of us and take it. We also had the fire alarm go off and on one night 4 times. It was the worst stay of our week vacation!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami001, General Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

I sincerely apologize for our shortcomings during your recent stay at the Lafayette Hotel Swim Club and Bungalows. We respectfully submit the following to you and other prospective guests: 1) We adhere to strict industry best practices for credit card billing procedures. Incidents are rare. 2) It has been a long standing tradition for San Diegans to visit the Weissmuller Pool. We continue this tradition by sharing our pool with well-behaved local patrons from 1:00-5:30 each day. We are popular on some days, others not so much. We invite hotel guests to take advantage of our reserved chaise lounge chairs during these hours. Warning: while public displays of affection are strictly policed, some parents may not be comfortable with the drinking during this time frame. For those, we encourage you to take advantage of our family swim hours before noon and after 5:30pm each day. 3) Yes our lone vintage elevator does require some patience….and for that we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Safe and comfortable: A warm staff who ensured we felt welcome. The weekend 12- 6 ish is crazy if you are looking to hang around a quiet pool forget it. We were able to venture out while the kids of San Diego took over the pool area. Upon our return it was if they were never there. For the money it was a homerun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
1  Thank ravellim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I booked a room for the weekend here for my boyfriend's birthday. We invited about 20 friends to come down and hang out at the pool with us on Saturday. After I booked the room, the hotel booked an event at the pool for that Saturday; the admission was $10/person. We didn't find out about the admission until that Saturday when our friends started showing up telling us that they were charged to enter.
Katlin, who was in charge of the event, was the best! She came over, talked to us, apologized for any inconvenience, gave us free wristbands for our guests and the day was awesome!
Melissa at the front desk was super helpful and great! We loved our visit and would definitely go again! Thank you to the Staff of The Lafayette!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,225 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#66 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing