We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its gone down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Ranked #238 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its gone down hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Quick cheap golf trip to the San Diego area. I've stayed at this hotel in the past with good results. It seems ok but overall I think I would pick somewhere else. The rooms are tiny, (they are pretty clean) I didn't seen any creapy crawl'ies, but the rooms are old and tired. Even with the makeover they are just ok. I would not subject a family or couple to this place, its a solo hotel for one night.

It does have a HDTV to view which is a nice plus.

Oh and its under the flight path of the airport, so if you don't like planes don't stay here, oh and the trains are behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    58
    26
    32
See reviews for
31
29
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This property is ideally situated as its close to the airport and a few blocks from the waterfront. Unfortunately, the property is also situated directly beneath the landing flight path into San Diego airport so jet engine noise at possibly 500 feet is constant. Some rooms are renovated and others are undergoing renovation (October 2012). Hopefully the undercover police raid a few rooms down from my room was not a routine incident the night I stayed there. Ultimately, I would say that this is an acceptable overnight transient motel but I would not stay here for more than one night or with family.

Room Tip: Okay transient motel but I would not stay here more than one night or with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warstein, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here as arrived late. At first was shocked becaude of the loudness of planes coming in to the airport. However this stopped after 11 pm. Rooms were clean and ok for one night. Breakfast was nice at the Dennys which is about 200mm further south on Pacific.
Next time would probably look for another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael59-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Airplanes are landing and are at about 50 to 100 feet above the motel and there trains passing by at all hours. The pool is nasty looking and looks like it hasn't been cleaned in a few days. If you like the noise stay. But, if your not a noise person stay away. Pro is it's about 4 mi from sea world con noise

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbuzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Mcgaheysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were in San Diego for a day and a half of sightseeing. It turned out to be a great jumping off point- walking distance to the harbor, Little Italy, and a very convenient drive to Balboa Park and Sea World.

Our room had the potential to be charming, but somehow fell short into shabby. It was very big, and had a nice sized balcony and a refrigerator. Bathroom was clean and minimally furnished with towels and toiletries.

The motel is so close to the airport that the incoming planes are almost touching the roof. It is noisy, of course, and somewhat un-nerving, but then just becomes background noise. Oh yea, and the train tracks are RIGHT behind the hotel.

Office staff were pleasant and accommodating, and there is good tasting coffee in the lobby.

This is a convenient, clean place to stay. Period. It's noisy, and it's not appealing. You won't hang out here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homebydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My boss booked this room for a conference I attended, and I thought it was going to be awful, but it was good. Clean and simple, and the pool wasn't too bad either. Great if you are looking for a cheap place in the downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice staff. Early check in. Cannot believe I paid $70 total for one night in a place with such poor quality rooms. OK, the bed, sink, toilet, tub were clean, but nothing else was. Very old and very ratty condition. Nothing around you except a strip club, car rentals, and a joke of a Shell Food Mart. HOWEVER, this place is so centrally located for doing so many things in San Diego it might be worth the price. Also, according to signs, this whole motel is soon getting a face lift and remodeling.

Even with hearing aids OUT, the airplane noise is very bothersome. This place way overcharges for what you get. I would NOT wander the are at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#174 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayside
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Address: 2353 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-1746 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor Hotel San Diego
Econo Lodge San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing