We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Chesterland, OH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost....”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

For the price...okay for any price, this place was just bad.

We asked for extra towels and hangers and it took them over two hours to get them to our room. Rooms were very 1983 in decor. Door between bathroom and room was a pocket door that constantly rattled. TV had the worst reception I have seen in a hotel in over 20 years.

You must pay to park and for internet. Driving around the facility nothing is clearly marketed and their staff could not direct us where to unload for the trade show. Even though you prepaid for the internet, the connection was poor and extremely slow.

Resturants were also poor. We ate at Kelly's and it smelled like a nursing home and the food was terrible.

Went to Charlies for drinks and was impossible to get service. Decor was also terrible.

Save the money and stay at another hotel nearby!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Judyi333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    891
    740
    491
    468
See reviews for
689
414
183
1,739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Kristen was very helpful setting up our stay and letting us know about all the amenities at the resort because the grounds are huge. The decor was very 1950's colonial and the surrounding ground is a tropical paradise, perfect for relaxing with a tropical drink. The rooms are good sized with a balcony that overlooked the pool but the rates are pretty economical. We are hoping to talk our family to coming to San Diego for our next reunion and this would be the perfect setting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I want to take this opportunity to say how much I enjoyed my stay at The Town and Country Resort in San Diego, CA. The tropical landscape and pools were well maintained and provided a comfortable and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaguilar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Left Chicago for sunny San Diego with my girlfriend for a valentine's to remember and could not have been more happy with our stay at the Town and Country. Check in took two minutes, check out took one. Our room had a gorgeous panoramic view of the pool and palm trees that line the resort, as well as the hills beyond. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the amenities couldn't be beat. Lunch outside Charlie's was great and dinner at Trellises was fantastic. All in all one of the best trips i've ever been on.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJFdpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed at the Town and Country when we went to San Diego to attend a business meeting and also to visit our daughter. We found it to be not only a great value but very nice and comfortable and up to date. Our room was great with a good view of the area. Each morning we had the buffet breakfast that was included and there was a good selection of all types of breakfast foods and we saved a lot by not having to go to a restaurant to eat. The pool area was also nice and we enjoyed the hot tub as well. For us the location was good because it was easy access to the city and not far from the beaches.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dna940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Loved the Town & Country Resort. Held a special event there.Staff is superb, amenities great. I highly recommend convention planners to strongly consider the Town & Country Resort & Conventin Center! No complaints, just compliments. Thank you Town & Country!

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank misskitty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We have been going to Town and Country Resort Hotel for several years to conduct training with our organizations supervisors from all over the country. We have noticed that the staff as well as our contact person, Ms. Erin O'Connor-Miller, has taken the time to learn the needs of our group and always improves and anticipates our needs. They always make sure that the items we need are convenient and available for our use. They treat all of our participants very well and we have never had any complaints from our supervisors about the accomidations or the service received from the hotel staff.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and a tremendous site for business conferences. The grounds have been in top condition during every one of our stays. I think the best part has to be the size of their property. It is big enough that you would never have to leave. There are several pools and several restraunts. If you do have to leave the property, the San Diego Metro Trolley System (SDMTS) has a stop directly behind the hotel. It is so convenient to get anywhere in the city. I strongly recommend you consider Town and Country for you next conference or visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadmoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#99 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#141 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing