We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time - 90 year old mother had a great birthday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #182 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Returned to Las Vegas after great stay at Hotel. took 90 yr old mother for her birthday. She really enjoyed sitting on balcony in morning and evening. Very conveinient to get around town as entrance to I-8 close by. Shopping mall next door was enjoyed by mother and wife. Walking distance. Eat at steak house very good. Everyone smiling and cordial at the Hotel. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moncinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,183 - 3,189 of 3,693 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

Myself and a large group of colleagues were lucky enough to have Gonzo as our wait person. The food was good, but the experience was truly brought together by the presence of Gonzo! He helped point us in the right direction to best serve our group and wasn't shy about grabbing a camera and helping us capture the moment. The experience was truly a memorable one, all thanks to Gonzo. I hope you are lucky enough to have Gonzo as your server. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65,432,160,750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Antique room, toilet rocks, hard pillows, no refrigerator, mini tv, The room was clean and the grounds were very pretty. We arrived at the hotel intending to go to sleep early as we had an early day and a long drive tomorrow. At 7p.m. the wedding reception began. Loud band and smoking area right outside our door. When I called the front desk to find out how long the reception was going to last they said 12a.m. I couldn't believe they would put people staying at the hotel right outside the banquet room. The staff just said the hotel is also a banquet and conference center. I guess the people thinking a hotel was for sleeping had no rights. Don't come here unless you want to party 24/7. Nice big pools. When my husband went to the lobby (2 football fields away) to see if there was another room available, the rude manager told him it was 8 on a Sat. night and they were booked. This must be the same night manager others complained about. She looked again and found a room in a tower 1/4 mile away with no assistance for moving. Needless to say, we will not be recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrisSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

While the grounds are nice, that does not make up for all the faults of this so called resort. Think large scale motel 6 with flowers and restaruants. Lights in the room were not only dusty they had cobwebs on them. The bathroom floor towel/mat was so old it was thread bear had holes in it. I have seen plates in the hall of other hotels when people put them out after getting room service however they do not sit in the hallway for 5 days, Service in the restaraunts is terrible, ask for a refill on my drink 3 times no refill. After you get the food you are ignored. The food is subpar and expensive including the hotel catering. Internet bandwith is so bad it makes the internet useless and it will only cost you 10 bucks a day for that. The hotel must beleive in hiring people who will do the jobs americans won't do. So language could be an issue, if you ask an employee for directions or help. If you like sleeping on the concrete then you will love the hard beds
I would recommend you stay at another hotel and walk or take the trolley
if you have a confernce here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67vert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Positives:
Clean room, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, no "building noice" such as plumbing sounds, pretty good location.

Negatives:
The bed was hard as concrete which is the reason for the low sleep quality rating. The decor was 1980s. You pay extra for the well-maintained grounds. The biggest issue is the lack of security.

The complex has two large hotel buildings plus multiple smaller units. I stayed in the largest of the hotels. It had an open-air entrance so anyone could walk in. The registration desk is in another building on the opposite side of the complex.

In the large hotel building, you get off the elevator onto an open air walkway. The doors to the rooms are accessed from this walkway. It did not seem at all safe, Anyone could walk onto the grounds, walk into the hotel, and be hiding in the dimly lit open-air walkway. I did not see any security cameras or security guards.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sometimestravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed @Town & Country for the second time for a convention. The venue has a nice flair and its outdoor attractions are likable. The walking distance to the attractive shopping mall across the street is a value add.
The real drawback is the rooms' quality. Some very few are acceptable but most are begging for getting a complete overhaul. They are clean though but the corridors frequently smell badly and so do the elevators.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTraveller_EUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Down there for a week for a convention in late October, our days were quite full and we ran out of time for having lunch everyday... Fortunately, this hotel counts the best and richest breakfast I've ever eaten in California, healthy enough to survive in good shape until the dusk ! Teh very personable staff, and Pati Muklevicz is an excellent ambassador of them, makes the experience even greater and makes you eating like a king !
Alex, France

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexQT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#133 of 278 in San Diego
1,240 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
1,585 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing