We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #180 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife & I just returned from the Town & Country, in San Diego. Our week at the hotel was first class all the way. From the moment we were greeted at the check in desk to the check out our experience was worthy of a "10". The room was well appointed, on the fifth floor, overlooking the pool area. When we walked around the grounds we say roses galore. It felt like a tropical paradise. We had dinner at the "Trellises" Restaurant, which was serving a lobster tail dinner, which was specially priced. The pool was well heated, which is important in the cooler temperatures in San Diego. We felt very relaxed and at home during our seven day stay.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank desertrat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,265 - 3,271 of 3,710 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

I have enjoyed staying in San Diego for years but would never again stay at this place. It is a money-hungry, low quality resort. We have to walk miles to get anywhere. When we do come to our building, we have to walk down a passage through all the maintenance area and I don't even feel safe. There is no bell-hop service to be found. We bought a package that the front desk was inclusive of internet, fitness AND SPA and parking. Turns out the Spa was closed two out of the four days we paid for and the package didn't include the spa (at least according to the spa). Also when my husband and I went to the fitness center together, they told us that the package was for one person only. In short, this is one of the most disappointing hotel experiences I have ever had and we plan to check out early. I would rather just stay at a Red Roof Inn, where the expectations are low!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcataiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We just had a delightful lunch at Trellises Garden Grille at the Town and Country Hotel in San Diego. Wonderful food and great outdoor atmosphere in a garden setting. Flowers and plants everywhere. Our waitress was Pati Muklevicz, who tried to UNDERcharge us, but we caught the error and everyone ended up happy.

Try the Chocolate Macademia Nut Ice Cream Cake.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank nancyzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I first heard of the Town and Country via a friend whom I asked for an affordable hotel recommendation. Our friend recommended contacting Barbara Whitlock at T&C. Barbara was fantastic in booking our hotel room and was able to accommodate several room/date changes on our end. My girlfriend and I were in town for the San Diego Rock and Roll Marathon (She ran, I cheered). We had a great time in San Diego and a great experience at the Town and Country. Check-in was incredibly quick and easy (no line or wait). The rooms were simple yet very clean. For us, the best part of the hotel was the convenience (less than 5 minute walk) to the Trolley which provided us with easy access to Old Town, the Convention Center/Race Expo, and the Rock and Roll Finish Line. I would definitely stay at the T&C again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericjdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCountryTerry, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for mentioning the great customer service you received from one of our staff members. We appreciate it very much. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay but most important congratulations on running the Rock n Roll Marathon...what a great accomplishment. Hope you will run again next year and stay with us and yes we agree we have the best location in the city. As you mentioned you can access the downtown area in less that 15 minutes without the parking hassle. Look forward to your next stay with us.
Terry Sobkowiak
Director of E Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I went on a spur of the moment trip to San Diego. My sister reccomeded this place to me and I went sight unseen. It was a wonderful evening. I would plan on spending more time here next visit. The resort is centraly located and and nearby to so many great attractions. I have breakfast in the cafe and the buffet was delicious. The gounds are lovely and I enjoyed an evening stroll.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woolyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCountryTerry, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Dear woolyone;Thank you taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are very glad you decided to visit San Diego and chose to stay with us at the Town and Country Resort Hotel. We do indeed have very lovely grounds and they would be the perfect choice to have your evening stroll. We look forward to your return visit and please next time do stay longer and enjoy not only San Diego but all that the Town and Country has to offer.
Terry Sobkowiak
Director of E Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Where should I start dirty room I had a bug on my pillow. The maid service left my room door open not just cracked open but wide open. The room smelled like smoke I had a headache all night. I was in nonsmoking room. Terrible experience terrible hotel. Some people state great hotel but could be that they have never stayed in a good hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutierrezmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

I apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of your guest room or with the service levels of the hotel. We inspect our rooms on a daily basis and we will inspect your room to ensure it exceeds our normal high standards. Although the Town and Country is not a brand new hotel we are constantly updating and renovating our rooms on an ongoing basis. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for your hotel experience.

Terry Sobkowiak
Director of E Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I was here last year with my church group but I didn't get the same service that I got this time. When I check in at the desk I told Lisa I didn't get the room that I wanted last year, so she apologized to me and she went to get the manager Nancy to find me a nice room. It took Nancy almost 15mins to get the room that I want, I really appreciated. While I was waiting for my room, I found that the front desk people are very friendly and pleasant, they all try to ask me if I am waiting for help. Leah, Jamie and Donna, they all look so professional with their smile on their face. I had been to other hotel that charge me more but I never had this welcome feeling like in Town and country. Even my hotel room is quite far away but I don't mind to walk because every single corner I walk by, I see pretty flowers and friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dispensing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Dear dispensing,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive review on the Town and Country! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return stay. I have sent your review to our staff mentioned, thank you for pointing out our friendly staff. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#134 of 286 in San Diego
1,255 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#138 of 286 in San Diego
1,629 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#159 of 286 in San Diego
195 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#130 of 286 in San Diego
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing