We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to sever Pati Muklevic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
LANGLEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kudos to sever Pati Muklevic”
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I had lunch at the resort and was very impressed with server Pati Muklevic. She showed just the right balance between paying attention and respect for privacy, was efficient and, throughout, worked with a good and helpful spirit.
John Graham

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director Of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, May 29, 2009
Thank you so much for submitting your outstanding review of the Town and Country Hotel. We appreciate your wonderful comments on Pati who has been on staff at the Town and Country for over 25 years. She is certainly an extremely important asset to our team of fine employees. We hope you again choose the Town and Country on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    891
    741
    494
    472
See reviews for
694
416
184
1,745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

The resort is a bit spread out, but the grounds are beautiful and it's conveniently located close to the mall and the trolley which can take you into San Diego easily. The staff in the different restaurants were very friendly and helpful --especially Mary at the Terrace Cafe, Karen at Kelly's Steak House, and Angelica at the poolside restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2rovers2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCountryTerry, Director of E-Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Thank you so much for the positive comments on our location, meeting space, rooms and grounds. We appreciate the wonderful comments and review. We are indeed an excellent choice for meetings, social events and leisure guests alike and we look forward to your next visit to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

good: the hotel is conveniently located off of I-8 near I-5 (PCH). It has a spectacular mall across a little foot-bridge from the parking lot; it has about every store you would want (it is called Fashion Mall), there are also plenty of restaurants there including a Cheesecake Factory! The restaurants on the resort property are very nice too; great wait staff, larger and great servings, lots of variety. Pools seem nice, but it was too cold to take advantage. The staff (everyone from check-in to grounds) were pleasant. Most of the conference/meeting rooms were nice.

Bad: there seemed to be a "musty/sewage" smell (I was fore-warned by someone else about this, but thought I would render my own opinion, and unfortunately I agree) in the floor above the ballroom. The bed in my room was very uncomfortable (and I am not picky about beds), it just made me feel like I was going to roll off, even when I was almost in the middle of the bed. The wall paper should be removed/replaced; the pattern makes it look like has water stains, and it is very out-dated. There was no free business center.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2009

A great hotel with a central location adjacent to an upscale mall. The rooms in the 10 floor tower have been remodeled. We are big fans of the Trellises Restaurant. We have been staying at the Town and Country every other year for thirty years and Trellises is our spot for breakfast each morning and many days for lunch and at least one dinner. Great food and great service. Ask to sit in Pati's section for unbelieveable service. We have been requesting Pati as our server for all of our thirty years. Pati is wonderful and she treats every one as a VIP.
.
We are not fans of the other breakfast and lunch spot which is the Terrace Cafe. Very noisy and we have never found the services as good as we do at Trellises. Also, try Kelly's Steak House which is also on the property.

Our only negative is in regards to their current internet service. It is not a consumer friendly process and often difficult to obtain a connection. One moment it works and the next moment it was down. This can be frustrating

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Although it is much more elegant and gracious, the prices in the Trellis resturant are comperable with those in the Terrace cafe. And the Trellis service staff (particularly Pati M.) make the meal more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSam_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I have actually stayed at T&C many times but this time was the best. Awesome room. The hotel grounds are beautiful. I can't speak more highly of the Hotel employees especially in Sales and Food and Beverage. If you ever think of having a meeting in beautiful San Diego, do it at Town and Country.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2009

If there were a zero, that would be my ranking. We stay at hotels around 75 days per year, for business and pleasure, and we have rarely if ever found a more customer not-friendly hotel outside of Russia.
What do you mean you cannot guarantee a certain room? You cannot guarantee a non-smoking room, even if I book 5 months in advance? What do you mean, Kinkos 5 miles away when there is a business center at the conference center on site? What do you mean, 'we are a conference center, we cannot guarantee that service?" Is there a single hotelier on staff? What do you mean, the Sea World rate is cheaper than the conference rate, and I cannot get the Sea World rate because you now know that I am at the conference?

I have never experienced a staff more trained at knowing nothing in all my travels. They were very well trained at being polite and not answering questions. While I am sure this is not their fault, who the heck is running this operation? Motel 6 is more customer friendly than this place, and less than half the price.

The location is nice, the rooms are fine, the property is impressaive in many ways, but the brain is missing.

I have already not recommended this hotel to several friends and business aquaintences.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserValleyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#105 of 279 in San Diego
1,199 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#139 of 279 in San Diego
1,473 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#171 of 279 in San Diego
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing