We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #182 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The management and staff at the Town and Country resort work very hard to keep this huge complex of buildings and gardens in tip top condition. My room was very comfortable and cosy, and included coffee-making facilities. Room service was a convenient and affordable option. I received complimenatry WiFi, and everybody went out of their way to make me feel welcome and cared for - quite an accomplishment in such a large hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAL466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, and for letting us know you were both comfortable and cozy during your stay with us. We strive to make everyone feel welcome and cared for and appreciate your letting us know we succeeded with you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 3,694 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel many times. The rose gardens are lovely, and the staff are typically attentive. On this occasion, however, the room seemed especially run-down. When I called the desk to report that there were bugs and hair in the shower, and a bug had gotten into my freshly brewed in-room coffee, I was asked if I would like to speak to someone in housekeeping to "point out the deficiencies." Not really. I needed to go out for some coffee, not wait around for housekeeping. The staff at Trellises restaurant was inattentive, and when I asked about options for my five-year-old, I was directed toward an $11 meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for staying with us this trip and for past family visits. We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, but upset that you had problems with cleanliness in your guestroom and an inattentive staff in the restaurant. Our sincere apologies. Please provide us another chance to make things right for you. We will take care of you in the manner in which our guests should be. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent Service, Food. Always a pleasure to have our Holiday Party at the Town & Country !!! Our Kennel Club Holiday Party always has a great turn out because of excellent service, food and the Holiday theme Tiki Terrace Pavilion ! Always starts the Holidays Season for our Club members and guests !

Jan H.
Lakeside, Ca.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We’re so pleased you had your holiday party with us once again. We have passed along your comments to the banquet and kitchen staff for their service and food at your event. We’ll see you again later in the year! Thanks for taking the time to post your review online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Town & Country is a great place to stay. It made for the perfect place to celebrate our 31st wedding aniversary. Our room by the Trelisses pool was very cozy. Our king size bed is the most comfortable bed I have slept in. We had a great dinner at Trellises and ejoyed the music and dancing. Our bartender Chuck was very pleasant and accomidatinig. We hope to do it again next year. Thanks for a great experience.
Lisa U.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Congratulations on your 31st wedding anniversary. How wonderful for you and your husband to celebrate so many beautiful years together. We're happy the hotel and Trellises staff took care of you both and will pass on your comments to Chuck for being especially pleasant and accommodating. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent location. Close to theme parks, beaches, restaurants and attractions. The service was very good & my room was clean and just right for me. The value is just right. Definitely recommend. Stayed here for a New Year's Eve dinner/dance. Appetizer was excellent. Decorations were perfect for the occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thelma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Town and Country for your New Year's Eve dinner/dance. We appreciate your very nice comments and your recommendation to others. We will pass along your comments to our staff on the appetizers and decorations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay! It was my birthday weekend and some how they found out and went above and beyond, I was upgraded at check in, they had given me two drink vouchers to Trellises Garden Grille which was much appreciated
We took the trolley that is behind the hotel to downtown this saved us time/money and perhaps a ticket on my birthday :)
Thank you for making my birthday a great one!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Happy belated birthday! How great that you had a wonderful time here and downtown. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Town & Country is a very comfortable and fun place to stay. We stayed there to go to a San Diego Chargers game. The stadium is only a few trolley stops away so we didn't have to worry about parking and it was an easy and quick ride. The hotel accommodations are comfortable and clean. Plenty of room to spread out and the king sized bed is wonderful and so relaxing. The food at Charlie's was delicious. We also walked to the mall for dinner one night. Could not have been easier. The decor is dated but it seems like they are slowly modernizing things. The hot tub is a delight even though we visited it on one of the coldest nights of the year! This was our second stay and both times we really enjoyed it. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us again for your second trip. How exciting going to the Chargers game, wish they could have gone farther in the play-offs! As you mentioned, the trolley ride is very easy and affordable and the mall is right next door. We'll see you your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#137 of 278 in San Diego
1,240 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,586 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing