We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My father and I have very different taste, so when he booked my room i was not expecting much. My room was on the back tower on the 8th floor, with a very nice view overlooking the property. The room was very clean, and extremely comfortable with a very efficient layout. On a sunny day the pool area and the gardens are very tranquil and perfect for a calm breakfast and a book. Staff were extra friendly, helpful, and always with a big smile. Behind the tower there is a huge parking area where you will always find a spot and by crossing a small wooden bridge (less than 2 min walk) you can access the trolly station or continue to the Fashion Vally Mall for great shopping and quick lunch. Being so close to the Mall and the trolly station is very helpful when you have a lot to carry or quickly need to get to your room. If you had a long day and just need to rest in your room call the room survice and i really recommend the Atlas burger for dinner its just perfect. Kelly's restaurant and bar has a very tasty grill and a sing along piano which is a lot of fun. My stay was perfect in every way and i really look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Back tower rooms have an amazing view and really quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments all the way from Egypt – and thanks to your father for booking your stay with us! We so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and especially appreciate your comments on our “extra friendly, helpful, smiling” staff. It sounds as though you will be traveling again and we look forward to welcoming you back again – your Atlas burger awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    891
    740
    492
    468
See reviews for
689
414
183
1,740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved my room on the 6th floor back tower! I found staying in the back tower made for a very quiet experience even though a high school prom was being held on the ground floor. This back tower also had its own parking 3 floor facility. The decor was very ornate and lots of attention to detail. The curtains were super fancy. There were multiple stacks of towels in all sizes.
I ended up staying an extra hour to take a stroll throughout the beautiful facility and enjoyed taking it all in with the sound of singing birds from the nicely kept landscape.
The only complaint I had was that a very nice housekeeping staff lady knocked on my door at 8:30AM(woke me up) to check if I was ready to leave (part of customer service and charm?) When I checked out the nice front desk lady said I was supposed to leave a do not disturb(which they provide) card in the door slot. I suggested they should inform their guests about their policy of door knocking that early on a Sunday morning!! She agreed and waved my parking fee and even offer to have their driver take me to get coffee in their cafe/bakery...this place has its own baker!! and 4 or 5 restaurants/cafeterias...I would go back anytime!

Room Tip: I like the ones in the back tower and it is also closer to the Fashion Mall next door, which is kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyapango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We thank you for all our wonderful comments and are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the city of San Diego. We definitely look forward to having you back with us again since you're from our neighboring city, Los Angeles. Thank you for your suggestion to pass the word to our guests about our “Do Not Disturb” signs. We apologize for awakening you. Again, we can't wait to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just stayed here for a conference and we really liked the place during this stay. We stayed in the Royal Palm Tower, 10th floor. The room was updated, very clean, and most importantly quiet. This place is ideal for conferences. What my wife liked was its pool, hot tub and location that was close to a mall and the SD trolley, The on site restaurants are reasonable based on the area, we frequented several of them and were pleased with the food and service. The staff is very friendly and do their best to make you stay pleasant. I would definitely stay there again, even if not in the area for business.

Room Tip: We like staying in the Royal Palm Tower Rooms. Our room there on the 10th floor was renovated and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your conference. It was our pleasure to have you and we're so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again, whether it be for business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds Wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our reservations got mixed up and we arrived one day earlier than they expected. However, with 1,000 rooms they were able to accomodate us. Our first room, on the first floor near the ice machine and two roads was noisy, outdated and needed remodeling. We requested a newer room the next morning and were immediately accomodated and placed in a large remodeled room that was comfortable and clean, This resort is right next to an exclusive shopping center and the trolley downtown which makes it somewhat convenient for getting around. If you don't go to the shopping center to eat (cheaper) you are limited to only the restaurants on the very large, complex campus that comprises the hotel. You will need the map they give you at check in!

Grounds are lovely and well kept.

I was impressed with the assistance of the bell desk. One excellent suggestion was that if we went to Kelly's Restaurant we could easily split a meal if we were not too hungry and there was no charge for extra plating. Great idea as the portions were quite large.

I wasn't impressed with the amenities in the room. We were provided with coffee but no tea and only one serving for sugar/creamer. If you have more than one person having coffee or if you like your coffee light it would be helpful to have more sugar and creamer. It isn't that expensive and for the price of the hotel they can certainly afford to be more generous in this regard.

For those who go - there is free coffee in the reception area in the morning as well as newspapers. It took me a few days before I discovered this.

Room Tip: Request a quiet remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It’s a great idea to hang on to the property map that is handed out at check in to assist in getting around. It also has great information on the restaurants we have on property. I regret that you were unhappy with the first room you were assigned, but pleased we were able to move you so you felt more comfortable. We will share all your comments with staff and do appreciate your letting us know of a few things we will work to improve on for future guests. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
566 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice room in good shape. But some weirdnesses. Coffee maker with no coffee. Mirror perched high on the wall above the headboard of the four-poster bed. Completely unusable. Doors to the very nice TV cabinet wouldn't stay open. Variety of problems getting on the internet. Free, but the front desk had a great deal of difficulty explaining how to get on and the codes to do so. NOTHING in the nice room book on the subject.

Could not determine if there was an additional charge for the gym, located in their Spa.

Poorly draining tub.

Diffident and somewhat inefficient desk staffers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and we do apologize for the lack of coffee in your room, the problem with the cabinet door and the slow draining tub. We do hope that you brought these items to our attention while you were still with us so we could fix them prior to your departure. Regarding the internet, the front desk does have all the codes, and there is an 8-sided table piece that has the internet information, as well as fitness center and restaurant information. There is a fee for the gym of $5/day. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved the rooms in this hotel. Very nice! We did wish that there was wifi and some kind of breakfast included. We found ourselves having to leave the property to go find food. Charlie's restaurant was good but understaffed and food was slow. The wait staff were so nice though! It is very confusing to find your way around. More signs would be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHgymteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We’re so pleased you loved our rooms and the food and staff at Charlie’s. We do have 4 other restaurants on property, so I don’t understand why you needed to leave the property for other options. We also very recently have put up a lot of new signage around the hotel to help guests find their way around and have hundreds of employees that would be more than happy to assist you. Regarding the internet and breakfast charges, we do offer a bundle package that makes this more affordable for our guests. We thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had to add additional room the night before attending this big conference. While struggling to get through the line and find someone to help, Josie happened to be the supervisor when we request to talk to. She was soooooo helpful to find additional room for us to be right next to each other, and blocked an easy location to make our stay convenient and comfortable. She is our angel! I wished that everyone is like her to provide services!!~

Room Tip: the tower is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthlovewithhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for attending the conference here at the Town and Country! We’re so pleased that Josie was able to secure a second room for you right next to the one you had blocked earlier, making your stay with us much for convenient and comfortable. We agree that she is an asset to our front desk team. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future, whether it be for another conference or for pleasure. Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#98 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#141 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing