We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #182 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved the rooms in this hotel. Very nice! We did wish that there was wifi and some kind of breakfast included. We found ourselves having to leave the property to go find food. Charlie's restaurant was good but understaffed and food was slow. The wait staff were so nice though! It is very confusing to find your way around. More signs would be helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHgymteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We’re so pleased you loved our rooms and the food and staff at Charlie’s. We do have 4 other restaurants on property, so I don’t understand why you needed to leave the property for other options. We also very recently have put up a lot of new signage around the hotel to help guests find their way around and have hundreds of employees that would be more than happy to assist you. Regarding the internet and breakfast charges, we do offer a bundle package that makes this more affordable for our guests. We thank you for your review and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,680)
There are newer reviews for Town and Country San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had to add additional room the night before attending this big conference. While struggling to get through the line and find someone to help, Josie happened to be the supervisor when we request to talk to. She was soooooo helpful to find additional room for us to be right next to each other, and blocked an easy location to make our stay convenient and comfortable. She is our angel! I wished that everyone is like her to provide services!!~

Room Tip: the tower is nice!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthlovewithhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for attending the conference here at the Town and Country! We’re so pleased that Josie was able to secure a second room for you right next to the one you had blocked earlier, making your stay with us much for convenient and comfortable. We agree that she is an asset to our front desk team. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future, whether it be for another conference or for pleasure. Again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the town and country several times. The hotel is centrally located and the trolley is right behind the resort. There is a beautiful upscale mall walking distance from the resort. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you get an older room, they change you to a renovated room.

I do not know why people complain so much about a 3 star hotel. There are 4 - 5 star hotels in the area that cost twice as much. Who stays inside there room all day anyway? San Diego is a beautiful place and you are out all the time anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel. We are centrally located in San Diego, with the trolley, shopping center and golf all next door, not to mention everything right here on our 32 acres, including 3 pools, 2 gift shops, 5 restaurants, a spa and fitness center and, of course, the hotel and meeting space, just to mention a few. We do try to upgrade all our guests to renovated rooms and we are getting them all done just as quickly as we possibly can! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was there with group of people for a meeting and we had Excelleny rooms and service. The girls in the group kept bragging as they enjoyed the rooms as they have plenty of mirrors in the room and all over the convention center. The rooms have great views.

Great place for all kind of travelers

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We thank you and the others in your group for staying with us. We appreciate your remarks on the rooms and the view you had, and, for the girls, the mirrors in various parts of the property. We thank you for taking the time to post your review and hope to be of service to you and the others again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here my last night in San Diego just to get away from everyone and spend the night together. As soon as we pulled up, the place was so cozy and cute. I liked it right off the bat.

Once we got to our room, we liked it even more. The King bed was HUGE, canopy style with a million pillows and very comfortable for a hotel bed. Also, the room had a back door, which led to a little patio, which I thought was great as well. I slept very great. Also, I loved how the hotel's hair dryer wasn't a piece of junk like many others. It even had attachments. The room was great and the hotel was really cute. I just wish we would have had more time to explore the resort and enjoy the place, as we arrived after midnight and left before 9 am. Still, I enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _jenniferguson_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your short overnight visit with us. Perhaps on your next trip through San Diego you can stay a bit longer and enjoy more than just the room on our vast property. We look forward to having you again and do thank you for taking the time to post your online review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a conference here so I stayed here for several days. Old, very outdated, just generally depressing. San Diego is so beautiful, but you would never know it if this is all you saw. The only positive is the staff all seem to really try to help you make the best of it. Beware...if they tell you your room has an obstructed view, they mean obstructed! Ours had a full block wall in front of the entire balcony! Had to switch, otherwise we would have never seen the sun. Also, they make you pay for everything. WiFi, fitness center, parking, etc...nothing is included. Room service menu is limited and unhealthy. No in room safe, refrigerator by request only, no microwave, tiny coffee maker as old as the hotel. This place is run down and worn out. The one nice area is the day spa, but the fitness center is as antiquated as the rest of the place. I feel bad for the staff, as they probably get so many complaints. But it's beyond their control, yet most remain friendly and keep smiling. However, I will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJG9486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us for your conference. We are in the process of a major refreshing of the hotel so a lot of what you mention in your review is currently being addressed and we do appreciate your input. Microwaves are also available upon request and safes are available at the front desk for guest usage. Thank you so much for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I attended the Fair Housing Convention February 15 and February 16, 2013 at the Town and Country Resort. It was a great experience! The room was excellent, the hotel staff very friendly and the hotel amazing. It is huge with more than one pool and excellent restaurants. I raved about the hotel so much that my husband came down and joined me during the convention. It made our Valentine's Day very special!
We both lan on returning soon.

Room Tip: If you're attending a convention, pick a room in the hotel towers close to the convention center...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We enjoyed having the Fair Housing Convention here last month so we’re very happy that you also enjoyed the experience. We appreciate your comments on our staff, the room and our restaurants and what a wonderful treat having your husband join you for a special Valentine’s getaway. You’ll have to try to make a make a trip to San Diego an annual event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
1,562 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#134 of 278 in San Diego
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#164 of 278 in San Diego
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing