We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Meetings and Business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town and Country San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #203 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great for Meetings and Business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed at the Town and Country three times, and it's been a very good experience each time. The rooms are nice, and there's a good gym and spa. It's centrally located - close the Balboa Park, with very easy access to local freeways. The proximity to Fashion Valley Mall was convenient for some last minute holiday shopping. There are several good local restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive to San Diego's North Park and South Park neighborhoods. Very good value overall.

Room Tip: If you're in the tower, ask for a room facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your last three visits to San Diego. We appreciate your patronage and appreciate also your mention of the various places in our beautiful city to visit that are nearby. We’ll see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    875
    733
    488
    466
See reviews for
680
411
182
1,718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel but everything had a cost to it. Breakfast,lunch and dinner costed too much money. Easier to go to the mall beside it and eat out for cheaper. Overall nice place to relax

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We’re so pleased that you really loved our location in beautiful San Diego and our close proximity to the mall so you had access to their food court. I do regret that you felt our restaurants were too expensive so were not able to enjoy them. We thank you for your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently attended a week long conference at the Town and Country Resort Hotel and was amazed at the service provided by the staff. My young daughter had a cold and ear infection and the housekeeper Clementina was amazing with keeping our room well stocked with kleenex and other amenities to make our stay easier despite illness. The accomodations were lovely and it truely felt like home despite being away. Clementina made sure our room was neat every day despite having two active children playing "fort" with all the pillows and bedding. After checking out, I realized my older daughter left her treasured doll in the hotel room. When I called on the weekend, Josie Rogers at the front desk took it upon herself to find the doll and return it to our family. Josie knew my daughter was crying after forgetting her doll, so she tracked it down, called me back to formally make sure it was ours, and further let me know when it was shipped out. Her service and attention to detail was beyond compare and I am eternally grateful. The customer service during our stay by Clementina from Housekeeping and Josie Rogers from Registration/Front Desk was the best I have ever received from any hotel facility. This is my favorite hotel to visit while in San Diego due to the warm and friendly assistance of the staff above. They have made my family's stay the best ever. I will always return!!!!

Room Tip: We loved the tower view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I do hope that your daughter is feeling better following her cold and ear infection. Not only feeling bad, but then not having her favorite doll must have been very hard on her, and you, traveling back to Wisconsin. We appreciate your letting us know how well taken care of you were by both Clementina and Josie. We have relayed your comments and do appreciate your taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My stay at the Town and County Resort Hotel was a beautiful experience and I will never forget how kind and accommodating the staff were. Our special thanks to Pisey Oum. She really made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite on the 7th floor of one of the Towers. It was beautiful and we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvsior about your “beautiful experience” at the Town and Country. We appreciate also your wonderful comments about our staff, most especially Pisey in our reservations department. We will be sure to pass along your remarks and appreciate your bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My Friend and I decided at the last minuite to go to Sandiego for a Cheer competion. Neither of us could drive in the traffic there. We went online to find a reasonably priced place to stay that was close to transportaion. We booked the Town and County hoping for the best. Well the best is what we got. The room was clean, and quite even with 600 other guests checking the same day as us, we heard no noise. The staff went beyond and above helping us to get the most out of our trip for the 3 days we were there. They told us about the city trolley tour which showed us all of Sandiego in one day. They taught us how to use the public trolley (which is more like train) system to get to our event. We had room service for breakfast each day which was very inexpensive for a large amount of great food, and was delivered to the minute we requested it. The shuttle to the airport arrived at the front door, and on time. If we had planed this trip for months it would not have turned out better, Thanks to the Town and Country Resort staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
How wonderful that everything ran so smoothly for your trip to San Diego and the Town and Country. We do have very convenient transportation and the trolley is within walking distance of the hotel so that makes it even more convenient. I hope your team did well in the competition and we thank you for mentioning how our staff “went beyond and above helping” you during your 3 day trip. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have attended a conference and have noticed an outstanding service in any aspect such as caring for the needs of the conference, room service, servers at restaurants, and reception staff. Exceptional also is the garden area around the rooms. I got used to the other hotels surrounded by parking lots with no possibility to stay outside but remain trapped in the room. Here at Town and Country Resort, however, I could stay outside at any free moment and enjoyed the beauty of the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for posting your comment online about our service and our beautiful grounds. We appreciate that you were able to go outside to enjoy not only our wonderful weather, but the beauty of our gardens as well, and love that our employees all provided you with “outstanding service”. Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
423 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I attended a small group (10) business meeting at this "resort" property geared toward lost of meetings and conferences. It's close to the airport and a large shopping mall, as well as a transportation link into the down town area. This venue hosts lots of meetings and conferences and has lots of very good meeting space on the campus.

The "resort" aspect is an overstatement. It's big spread out property along the highway, next to a golf course, but it's more akin to fancy motel quality. My non-smoking room was in a one-story structure of attached rooms. It was a smallish room with a 4-post king sized bed and okay mattress. The room was reasonably clean, but there was no desk. Three electrical outlets at the nightstand did allow for connection of laptop and other devices, but working in the room was uncomfortable. The bathroom was also small, but clean with few amenities, but for a $109 convention rate it was a good deal.I

The staff were all cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: The WiFi worked well, but I did pay for one day before discovering a free pass coat taped to the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate that you felt our hotel was a good place to host your business meeting and that you appreciated the cheerful and efficient staff. We do have a few different types of rooms on property so if you didn’t feel comfortable in our garden rooms; we do also have two towers. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#95 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#150 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a spa, fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing