We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town and Country San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #203 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Gambier, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

While the grounds are beautiful with a lovely Rose Garden and numerous pools, the rooms themselves are mediocre, and there are clearly some management issues. We didn't have hot water the first night, complained the next morning and had a rapid response from maintenance even though it made us late for a morning meeting. We also told the maintenance guy of a leaky toilet that left the bathroom floor with a puddle of water. It was supposed to be fixed that night but it was still leaking the next day and it wasn't until our fourth night that the problem was fixed. The last morning, my roommate complained that the water didn't get hot again. The shower dripped the whole time. It was a lot of plumbing issues to deal with.

Other than that, we liked the balcony facing south and getting lots of sun, the parking and access was easy, the location easy to get to.

Breakfast in the Terrazzo restaurant was quite nice, not crowded, with seating on the patio and reasonably prices. The deli restaurant (closer to the ballrooms) was overcrowded and seemed challenged in dealing with the 200 individuals for our retreat plus another group the same weekend.

Housekeeping was prompt and quite accommodating, bringing a refrigerator when we needed it and an extra quilt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JsCcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds of the hotel, your balcony so you could enjoy our San Diego sunshine, the parking, accessibility, Trellises restaurant and your housekeeping service, however do want to apologize to you for the problems you encountered with the plumbing and the overcrowding you saw at the Terrace Café and Deli. These items have been referred to their respective departments for follow up and we thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    875
    733
    488
    466
See reviews for
680
411
182
1,718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for family Weekend at SDSU last month. It was a great location to get back and forth from the school to see our kids and then also to meet some friends for the football game, We spent some time at the mall while the kids were "busy" . Our room reservation was made by Terry Sobkowiski in the sales office and she got us a room close to the trolley stop in back, Hoping to come back in December for the football game.

Room Tip: Get a Tower Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We do have a longstanding relationship with SDSU and our hotel is very convenient to both the school and Qualcomm via the San Diego trolley stop right in our own backyard. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to having you back again in December. It’s a great time to come because you don’t have to brave the parking at the mall next door as you can walk over the footbridge we have between the two properties to accomplish your holiday shopping. Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I attended a covention the weekend of Oct. 19-21st and had the opportunity to stay at the Town & Country while there. This was my first experience with the place, although my wife had stayed there a while ago and enjoyed it.

The reception staff could not have been nicer and the maids were very, friendly when i would meet them in the hall. I had one problem with my room key, but it was quickly resolved within a few minutes, so I was not late for registration. My room was clean, the coffee machine worked and I had more than enough towels. That's pretty much all I want from a room it was available.

I also want to recommend Charlie's a beer & burger place on the premises, where friends and I ate several times. The staff there was also just great and the food quite good. A great selection of beers are available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for your convention last month. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Charlie’s restaurant and our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again the next time you have occasion to visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a Marine Corps reunion at the Town and Country and we highly recommend it for visitors to San Diego. The rooms are nice and very comfortable; some have been recently remodeled while others are in process. Most rooms have views. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The resort gave us a good price on the 400 room block for the reunion, and provided us with many meeting rooms for both large and small gatherings. The grounds are beautiful, too, with roses, vines, and shade trees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BineBine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your wonderful review and thank you for booking your reunion at our hotel. Hopefully we will be able to work with you again in the near future. We will pass along your comments and appreciate your recommending our hotel to others visiting San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is great. The Town and Country is close to the San Diego Trolley for those people who do not want to drive to all the attractions in the area. For those who drive all attractions are close by with easy access to the freeways. The gardens are beautiful and breakfast dining in the Trellis is a relaxing experience with views of the garden and outdoor dining available. Our waitress Pati Muklevicz provided great service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momakinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Town and Country and for informing everyone about our beautiful grounds, proximity to the trolley (right next door) and attractions in San Diego and your wonderful breakfast in Trellises with Pati’s great service. We have passed along your comments to her and appreciate your letting us know that she provided that extra service to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This venue is by far the best in town! The property and staff set the bar high for San Diego hotels. I just attended the SD Asian Film Festival Gala which had 720 people and it went so smoothly, reception area was fantastic and dinner was the bomb! The food was so delicious - i almost licked my plate but i was sitting with strangers so I held myself back!

I work with Rhianna and her staff twice a year with my program The Aaron Price Fellows so I know her talents and expertise already - but i still wanted to share my thoughts after this Saturday!
Congrats Town and Country, Rhianna and staff for a FANTABULOUS EVENT!

Theresa Battle

Room Tip: The room I had was very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttbattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It was our pleasure to host your Gala here at the Town and Country. Our catering team, including Rhianna, looks forward to making each and every event an affair to remember – and we obviously met that goal with your event this time, and in the past. We appreciate the time you took to post your review and can’t wait to be of service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here with our soccer team for a tournament in San Diego. We choose our hotels based on location, cost and room size in relation to beds. This hotel met all of the criteria. Close enough to the fields, $120 a night, 2 double beds and free breakfast. We were booked to stay for three nights. When we came to check in it was a 40 minute process and the line was very long. Our room never got cleaned the whole time we were there. Breakfast was good with the exception of the giant rats that were running around the entire property! Seriously, that was enough to ruin our appetite. The rooms and bathroom were very small and cramped with outdated furnishings and bedding. We were very disappointed for the amount of money we spent. We ended up checking out early and moving to a new hotel that was closer to the fields, cleaner and less money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in San Diego for your soccer tournament. I do regret that check in took awhile, however a lot of tournaments take place over holiday or busy weekends in the summer so this might have been the reason for the delay. I am quite surprised at the mention of a rodent sighting and hope that you brought this to the attention of the front desk while you were here so that we could immediately take action. This is unacceptable and we do apologize to you. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#95 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#150 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a spa, fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing