We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bait and switch”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Booked a "garden room with patio or balcony" a couple months in advance.
Given a 1970's motel room with a view of a wall. The wall did have some ivy growing on it.
Nickel and dimed every time you turned around.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    891
    741
    494
    472
See reviews for
695
416
184
1,745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel because my company made arrangements for an excellent conference. I enjoyed my stay very much. I stayed in the Royal Palm Tower. It was a spacious room with a very comfortable king size poster bed. The bathroom was ample but had an extra sink and vanity area to dress after bathing. Tile/wood/carpet flooring No stains. No odors. Very clean. Housekeeping very polite and clean the room perfectly. I had a beautiful view of the pool and jacuzzi area. Lighting on the buildings and the beautiful roses, flowers, palms,and landscaping made my balcony view breathtaking.

Meals at Trellises were wonderful. I ate there almost everyday for under $13.00. Excellent service. Angelica and Patricia were especially nice waitresses at the restaurant. I hope Town and Country is aware how these two ladies bring enjoyment to the dining experience. I can not say enough kind words about these two people. "Bless both of you"

The shops on the hotel site are nice. A bit pricey. Personel staffing shop were terrific too.

Conference room was good. Good lighting. Audio and slides were effective and conducive to learning. Snacks and beverages were delicious. Staff was very quiet setting up the tables. No distractions from staff while listening to speakers or lectures etc..

Only disappointment was arriving the night before conference on Sunday, June 5th, 2011 was the young man at the front desk. There was a mix up with billing and he basically told us we had to do what he said or find elsewhere to stay. He also stated we were taking too much time and needed to hurry up. We were an inconvenience to him. VERY RUDE FRONT DESK CLERK!! The Manager stood at far end of desk and did not assist us and allowed this young man to speak to us in a very inappropriate way.Needless to say, our company sorted all the discrepancies and I never had to interact with that young man again. Check out was fine Staff polite and professional.

I would stay again and perhaps might do so this summer for leisure. Hotel close to local transportation, high end mall, and nice eateries outside hotel resort .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSmitthRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of ECommerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
DearCSSmitthRN, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please let me take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your experience at check-in. We are looking into the matter at this time. I am so glad to hear that you did enjoy the rest of your stay. I have sent your positive comments on our employees to them and their managers. You will not be surprised to learn we receive many excellent comments not only on the employees you mentioned but on many of out staff members. I am so glad to hear that on your return visit to San Diego you would choose to stay at the Town and Country. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I imagine in 1965 this was the place to stay, but in 2011 not so much. There is a multi-story building and also many bungalows. We were there for a convention and the first night we stayed in the multi-story building. While they claimed it was newly remodeled it didn't look it. The carpet was 80's Dodger blue with blue floral bedspreads on a low, very flat mattress. It was pretty clean except for the random hairs on the bathroom floor. The biggest problem is the old sliding glass doors that would not close completely. This allowed for noise and cigarette smoke to come into our room. Not at all pleasant. After an uncomfortable first night we moved our room to the bungalows which were a big improvement. The room, although still had the ugly blue carpet, it did have a better bed and more attractive furnishings. The grounds are also nicer and most importantly, quieter.

Room Tip: Only stay in the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldtress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Goldtress, Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor. While we strive for complete guest satisfaction we sometimes miss. We are very sorry that we at the Town and Country did not meet or exceed your expectations. Please do give us another try on your return visit to San Diego.
Terry Sobkowiak
Director of E Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Came to this hotel for a business conference, as I guess do 90% of other visitors. As the other reviews show it is firmly stuck in 1981. The grounds are very pleasant, and it not a bad place to spend an afternoon in the sun. Bars and food on site are pretty average, and that being generous. The room was pretty substandard. Had a ground floor room in one of the blocks of rooms, and there was a pretty nasty smell the whole time. Water backed up in the bath, and the WC flushed only occasionally. Asked for maintenance, who did visit, but didn't make the situation much better, Since I was only here for three days, couldn't be bothered to repack and move rooms.
Not that I'm a shopper, but the place is very conveniently located for a big mall opposite, that you can safely walk to (footpath via the back of the hotel).

Overall, I can't imagine anyone coming here of their own free will!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acl1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for a convention and it was very comfortable. Located in Hotel Circle, there are two types of accommodations: those rooms whose door face the hallway and one that face the street (like a standard motel). I stayed at the latter type of room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were kept clean. There are rooms that are suites, but when I stayed there, our business used these suites as meeting rooms.

There are several places to eat on the property. I tried the steak house and it was very good. Overall, this was a good hotel to stay at. The staff was very friendly and it's good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I recently returned from a weekend trip to the T&C, and like usual everything was great. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly front desk agent. We were quickly checked in and while we were checking in I had some questions about the San Diego marathon, they were more than willing to assist us with every question we had. The grounds were awesome, we would spend our mornings and nights lounging in the pool or in the courtyard relaxing to the sounds and smells you experience here. We ate at the steakhouse, the service and food was good. I spent a couple of nights in the sports bar, cold beer and the bartendar and chicken wings were great. The location was perfect, we utilized the trolley, as well as the easy access via highway to beaches and downtown. Everynight was a great nights sleep, the rooms were nice. Anytime I am in SD I stay at the T&C.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPE317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of ECommerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
DearKPE317, First all congratulations if you ran the Rock n Roll Marathon! Thank you also for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it very much. We are so glad that we could offer to you such a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Town and Country and that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities on property. We thank you again and look forward to your return to San Diego and the Town and Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Rude people in every department from sales (promised things he didnt deiver) to Trellises manager. Ghetto. Disgusting filthy rooms (roaches), tasteless food, outdated decor, uncomfortable beds with scratchy bedspreads, ugly flowered patterns everywhere you turn, musty smell, loud noise outside and paper thin walls. Should I go on? Overpriced rooms, charges for net, gym, fridge, food should be free for the horrible quality. Seriously would rather sleep on the street than stay here again. This place will not survive much longer without a few million to tear it down and rebuild. Oh and, dont let them fool you into thinking you will get a flat screen tv in your room. They are very deceptive.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welltraveledgirlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHotel, Director of E Commerce at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear welltraveler, Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor. We'd like to get some more information from you so we can address your stay. Please contact our Guest Relations Manager, Susana Weber at 619.291-2232 ext.7272. We look forward to hearing from you.
Terry Sobkowiak
Director of ECommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#106 of 279 in San Diego
1,199 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#140 of 279 in San Diego
1,474 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#172 of 279 in San Diego
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing