We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #184 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location is excellent. Near the marina, two blocks from Little Italy and walking distance to the Gaslamp District. Free parking is a bonus! Older property but is very well maintained. I stayed on the 2nd story and the floor did creak so I don't know if the people staying below were disturbed or not. Refrigerators are only in some rooms so be sure to specify you need/want this when making your reservations. Staff was very accommodating. Reminds me of a sqeaky clean Super 8.

Room Tip: If you want a refrigerator in your room request this when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took out of your day to write this review.

Thank you for mentioning our great location. We are located in the heart of Downtown which has access to so many wonderful things. If you bring your kids they would love Sea World or the San Diego Zoo. If you are traveling by yourself we have so many wonderful restaurants near by, or if you are traveling with a group of friends there are so many bars and clubs to enjoy at our Gaslamp district.

We really appreciate your stay with us and your review. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Wonderful and relaxing place to get away for a few days. Staff was great, again. Room is comfortable, clean and surprisingly low noise level. Not much of a view to the back but the front window view is OK. Easy to get to waterfront & Little Italy. Price was very reasonable for being so close to the bay.

Room Tip: Parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear AS,

First, we would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to come to Trip Advisor and write a review about our Marina Inn and Suites location. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate that you recognize the hard work, effort and wonderful customer service that is provided by our staff.
We pride ourselves on providing the best care possible and providing our guests with everything they need to make their stay as easy as possible. Thank you so much for commenting on our location, we too feel that our beautiful area near the bay with easy access to exciting sites like Little Italy is a key factor in providing the best stay possible.
How nice is it get up, eat our complementary breakfast, spend the day at Sea World a short drive away, and then return to the hotel for maybe another dip in the pool or just to relax in our clean and quite rooms? Again, thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we always enjoy hearing about our guests experiences.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I booked a night because of the loction and proximity to Hornblower's Harbor cruise. Less than 5 minute walk. Also short walking distance to Little Italy and waterfront sites. Our room (216) was clean and fresh the bed was firm and to be honest the only thing I would say one could complain about was the shower stall was somewhat worn but definitely not unclean. The front desk staff was friendly and offered suggestions on local sites. For the price and location you can't find a better place to stay in San Diego. One drawback is limited parking. I'd suggest checking in as early as possible to get a parking spot

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Mr. MarkSolie,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about our Marina Inn and Suites hotel. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the effort you took in noticing how clean our housekeeping staff keep the rooms at all times and for noticing how friendly and informative our customer service is.
We are very proud of our location and the beautiful sites it has to offer as well as easy proximity to so many wonderful activities that San Diego provides: Hornblower’s Harbor Cruise, SeaWorld, tour the Star of India and much, much more.
We try our best to be fair with all of our guests but most of all we try to provide the best stay that we can. Again, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about our hotel and hope to have you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Horrible!!! I'd give it a negative 5 stars but this website made me put at least 1 star to be able to publish my comment. The place smelled awful (like someone died), linens were dirty and management refused to do anything to correct the problem, or to compensate me for not being able to stay in a room that smelled like a combo between death and sewage.

Yeah, I wasn't in the room for 5 minutes, asked to checkout and get a refund, and after 2 weeks of haggling with management (and not having calls returned) they inform me that the owner will not refund my money.

Would NOT recommend this chain to anyone, and OBTW, they're affiliated with Vagabond Inn in Hotel Circle so you may want to steer clear of that one too. The owner is a real tool!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Ms. Kathy H,

First of all we wish to thank you, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel. We welcome any and all feedback because it allows us to grow and evolve as a company and as a customer care provider.
One of our recent endeavors to grow was the remodeling and upgrade of about seven rooms at our Marina Inn and Suites property. At the time of your stay we were right in the midst of the construction which unfortunately resulted in our hotel not meeting our usual standards.
Also, during our effort to upgrade our facility and family style rooms we also: hired a housekeeping supervisor, had to replace our longtime manager, and instigated a bigger offering for our complementary breakfast.
These changes of staff, construction, and the expansion of breakfast were part of a transitional period for our hotel. This does not excuse linens being dirty but hopefully sheds some light on why our hotel was not at its best during this transformation period.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We ask that if you are ever in San Diego again that you reconsider our hotel and what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Never thought I'd a hotel so close and well priced for the location. Only stayed one night but would stay again. The only negative was the small parking but good thing I own a Prius C! Other than that the place was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msallig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. On a busy road but then many Hotels are. Across the road and at the waterfront. 5 mins walk to hop on/off trolley tours of the city and also the floating museum.

In the flight path of the incoming planes landing in San Diego but we found that very entertaining as one lands or departs every 90 seconds due to being a one runway airfield.

Was clean tidy, breakfast provided. Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed here two nights. Just drove in off the road and got the last room. was great middle of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Great location right along the harbor and only a few blocks from the USS Midway, Petco Park and other attractions like the Gaslamp District. Monica at the front desk was very kind and friendly! Rooms were comfy and clean.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cpmt3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 279 in San Diego
511 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#130 of 279 in San Diego
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#62 of 279 in San Diego
693 reviews
La Pensione
#133 of 279 in San Diego
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $76 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing