We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #206 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Indio, California
1 review
“Close to downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Never thought I'd a hotel so close and well priced for the location. Only stayed one night but would stay again. The only negative was the small parking but good thing I own a Prius C! Other than that the place was decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msallig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    142
    77
    24
    48
See reviews for
64
132
45
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zeland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. On a busy road but then many Hotels are. Across the road and at the waterfront. 5 mins walk to hop on/off trolley tours of the city and also the floating museum.

In the flight path of the incoming planes landing in San Diego but we found that very entertaining as one lands or departs every 90 seconds due to being a one runway airfield.

Was clean tidy, breakfast provided. Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed here two nights. Just drove in off the road and got the last room. was great middle of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Great location right along the harbor and only a few blocks from the USS Midway, Petco Park and other attractions like the Gaslamp District. Monica at the front desk was very kind and friendly! Rooms were comfy and clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cpmt3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very nice hotel near all turistic places and with a good rate, the reception was very friendly and they provide alla necesary to get a good stay so sure when i come to San Diego i will come back to marina inn!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Location is excellent – walking distance to USS Midway, Little Italy, even Gaslamp District. Rooms are nice, free fridge, free parking. The only negative is no hairdryer. Each day I had to go or sent my husband to reception to borrow hairdryer. But beside this no major negatives. Really nice hotel for decent money. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The person who checked us in was alright but asked us to pay deposit even though we payed with our major credit card. (Maybe because we looked young) and looked at me and my fiance and asked her like "one room?"(Shocked)
Yes that's what we had reserved for.

Few problems:

There was no chair in the room. Fridge didn't work. AC vents kept falling down so we had to put toilet paper in the corner to keep them up. Toilet seat was broken, when we told them he was like "oh we did our inspection today and we know" well if you knew then why did you give us this room?

Parking is limited.

Few good things: close to downtown, little Italy and many bars and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Tutukaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I booked and paid for this on line via expedia. It was a reasonable price. When we arrived we were asked for a $50 room deposit. What I had not realised when booking was that the motel is on a busy corner with the trains running along behind it. The room was dingy and moderately clean. The shower base was stained and the bathroom was tiny, so small in fact that even though they had hung the smallest size door in the bathroom, they had cut a wedge out of the edge of the door so it would clear the toilet seat when it closed. When we awoke the next morning there was a police car in the parking lot with its lights flashing. Although I had booked for 2 nights this was not an establishment I felt safe or comfortable in. When I went to inform the man at the desk that we wished to cancel the 2nd night he said that because I had booked through expedia there was nothing he could do. I found that strange as I'm sure that expedia function as a broker and pay the hotel therefore it is up to the hotel to agree to a refund or not. He would not budge so we left and hence one of the very few negative reviews I have written over the year. Expedia are investigating.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms and no elevators so if you get an upstairs room you need to carry your case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailfish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#100 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing